Bhatti Bhupinder Singh v Hospital Authority
原訟法庭
高院雜項案件 2019 年第 334 號
原訟法庭暫委法官梁俊文內庭聆訊
2019 年 8 月 29 日、2020 年 4 月 2 日

精神健康—強制羈留在醫院—提出訴訟,指稱被強制羈留因而蒙受人身傷害—根據第69(2)條提出展開訴訟程序的許可申請—沒有合理地可爭辯的理據證明醫院在羈留一事上不真誠地行事或行事時缺乏合理程度的謹慎—申請被駁回—《精神健康條例》(第136章)第69條、第69(2)條

侵權—疏忽—醫療失誤—斷錯症—以《精神健康條例》(第136章)第31條、第32條為背景,就斷錯症索償—伯勒姆驗證標準適用

X投訴他樓上的單位(「樓上單位」)自2013年開始不斷發出敲擊聲。2015年10月,X到屋苑管理處去,與管理處職員發生爭執。警員奉召到場,其後護送X到屯門醫院,在那裡,他接受精神科諮詢會診服務團隊一名護士評估情況。護士建議由精神科醫生考慮X是否需要入院接受治療,以免冒上X傷害他人的潛在風險,安全為上。次日,強制羈留X的申請根據《精神健康條例》(第136章)(「《條例》」)第35A(1)條及第31(1)條提出,申請書提到X表現得情緒不穩,述明找不到證據支持X指稱有噪音的投訴,因而懷疑他有精神病症狀。該申請得到醫生證明書支持,醫生推定診斷X有精神病。根據批出的申請,X被移送青山醫院羈留,接受觀察不多於七天。其後他的家人給聯絡上,證實X指稱樓上單位傳出噪音之說。之後X接受兩名醫生檢查,他們均認為X患上妄想症,建議延長羈留期21天,目的在於根據《條例》第32條觀察、調查和治療X;法官按醫生建議頒布羈留令。X最後在2015年11月6日獲准出院,出院後須按建議繼續接受輔導,學習應付壓力和處理憤怒情緒的技巧。X出院後,青山醫院社區精神服務的職員到他家進行家訪,在他家聽到樓上單位發出噪音。2018年,X在區域法院針對醫院管理局(「醫管局」)展開訴訟,指稱屯門醫院斷錯誤導致他被強制羈留,以及此事促致他和他的家人承受痛苦和痛楚(「區院訴訟」)。區院訴訟暫時擱置,以等待X現在根據《條例》第69(2)條申請原訟法庭的追溯
許可。

裁決—駁回申請:

1.   《條例》第69條旨在保障人,尤其是醫療人員和醫院,免遭肆意申索;他們已做的事與作出及執行以《條例》為依據的移送令或羈留令有關。第69條的範圍廣濶,涵蓋醫院職員每日履行職責控制病人時所做的事。批出許可的驗證標準是,提出的理由必須是「合理地可爭辯」的,而不是第69(2)條所說的「實質」的。「可辯證性」(arguability)的驗證標準不是潛在的「可辯證性」,因此,只有實在有勝訴機會的申索會被認為有合理地可爭辯的理據,也只有這樣才會獲批許可。這宗案的問題是X是否證明得到而且令原訟法庭信納,他在區院訴訟有合理地可爭辯的理據證明醫管局以《條例》為依據羈留和診治他之時,曾不真誠地行事或行事時缺乏合理程度的謹慎(引用Peter Po Fun Chan v Winnie Cheung (2007) 10 HKCFAR 676、陳碩謙v醫院管理局(CACV 189/2012,[2014] CHKEC 980))。(見第6−10段)

2.   雖然在《條例》第31條和第32條的文意中,斷錯症的申索無異於醫療失誤的申索。法律有個老規定:為了提起這樣的申索,原告人必須援引醫學專家證據,提出證據證明所指稱的違責,而所指稱的違責造成所指稱的傷害—即所謂的伯勒姆驗證標準(Bolam test)。在Montgomery v Lanarkshire Health Board案,英國最高法院不是取代伯勒姆驗證標準,只是把它區別為不適用於該宗案的案情;在Montgomery案,一名精神健全的成年病人有權決定進行哪一種可選的治療方式(如有可選的方式),而她的同意必須在事前取得。在這種情況下,忠告病人某種治療的重大風險是醫生取得病人知情同意之前當履行的合理責任(引用Bolam v Friern Hospital Management Committee [1957] 1 WLR 582;區別Montgomery v Lanarkshire Health Board [2015] 2 WLR 768)。(見第35、43−45段)

3.   X沒有證明過他有合理地可爭辯的理據支持自己的說話,即護士或醫生,連帶醫管局,在執行以《條例》為依據羈留他所相關的事宜之時,曾不真誠地行事或行事時缺乏合理程度的謹慎。護士和醫生以他們自己對X狀況的觀察和可得的資料(包括樓上單位有噪音的矛盾版本和證據)為依據,作出專業判斷。(見第29、31−32、34段)

4.   X出院之前還未有青山醫院社區精神服務關於樓上單位噪音的資料可用。這不可能令專家的評估變得不可信或被削弱,因為評估所根據的是關鍵時間可得的資料。醫生評估X應付指稱的噪音時的狀況;根據醫生的專業評估,X需要接受觀察和治療;(在X的家人證實樓上單位有噪音傳出之後提出)延長X的羈留期的申請是考慮到X的需要而提出。(見第33−34段)

5.   至於X出示的醫生證明書,除了可接納性是問題之外,它還缺乏相關性。為第31條和第32條的施行,護士和醫生在關鍵時間給X做評估和診斷,但醫生證明書不包含任何關於評估和診斷的意見,不包含任何關於X在羈留期間接受的臨床診治的意見,相應地也不包含任何關於護士或醫生在關鍵時間所做之事的意見,不評論那些事是否達不到人們的合理期望或是否引致X受傷害。醫生證明書上的意見與X的現況有關,是根據X的投訴及他出院後可得的資料和檢查提出的。它不可用作為X所指稱的在關鍵時間被斷錯症的證據。(見第36−42段)

申請追溯許可

這是一宗申請追溯許可的案件。此前,申請人被強制羈留在醫院,現根據《精神健康條例》(第136章)第69(2)條申請追溯許可,以就蒙受的人身傷害展開訴訟。案情已在判決書詳細列出。

Jurisdictions:

Bhatti Bhupinder Singh v Hospital Authority
Court of First Instance
Miscellaneous Proceedings No 334 of 2019
Deputy Judge Simon Leung in Chambers
29 August 2019, 2 April 2020

Mental health — compulsory detention at hospital — action for alleged personal injury arising out of compulsory detention — application for leave to commence proceedings under s. 69(2) — reasonably arguable case that hospital acted in bad faith or without reasonable care in respect of detention not established — application dismissed — Mental Health Ordinance (Cap.136) s.69, 69(2)

Tort — negligence — medical negligence — wrongful diagnosis — claim for wrongful diagnosis in context of Mental Health Ordinance (Cap. 136) ss. 31, 32 — Bolam test applicable 

X had complained about a repeated tapping noise from the unit above his (the “upstairs unit”) since 2013. In October 2015, X attended the management office of his estate and had a conflict with the staff. Police were summoned and escorted X to Tuen Mun Hospital, where he was assessed by a nurse of the consultation-liaison psychiatric team. The nurse recommended consideration by a psychiatrist of whether psychiatric inpatient treatment would be needed to prevent the potential risk of X harming others and to ensure safety. On the next day, an application for the compulsory detention of X was made pursuant to ss. 35A(1) and 31(1) of the Mental Health Ordinance (Cap. 136) (the “MHO”) referring to X’s display of unstable emotion and stating that, as no evidence was found to support X’s complaint of the alleged noises, he was suspected to have psychotic symptoms. The application was supported by a doctor’s certificate containing a presumptive diagnosis of psychosis. Upon the application being granted, X was removed to Castle Peak Hospital (“CPH”) for detention and observation for not more than seven days. His family members were then contacted and confirmed his version of noises from the upstairs unit. X was subsequently examined by two doctors who both considered that X suffered from delusional disorder. An order was made in terms of the doctors’ recommendation for a further detention period of 21 days for the purpose of observation, investigation and treatment pursuant to s. 32 of the MHO. X was eventually discharged on 6 November 2015 with further stress-coping and anger management skills counselling recommended. After X’s discharge, staff of CPH’s community psychiatric service visited his home and heard noises from the upstairs unit. In 2018, X commenced an action in the District Court against the Hospital Authority (the “HA”), alleging that Tuen Mun Hospital’s wrongful diagnosis led to his compulsory detention, as well as pain and suffering being caused to him and his family (the “DC Action”). The DC Action was stayed pending X’s present application under s. 69(2) of the MHO for retrospective leave in the Court of First Instance.

Held, dismissing the application, that:

1.   Section 69 of the MHO was for the protection of the persons, medical staff and hospitals in particular, who had done things in connection with the making and the carrying out of the removal or detention order pursuant to the MHO from unreasonable and groundless claims. The scope was wide and covered acts done by the staff of hospitals in discharge of their day to day duties in control of the patients. The test for granting leave was that such ground must be “reasonably arguable” instead of “substantial” as worded in s. 69(2). The test of arguability was not potential arguability, and therefore only a claim that enjoyed a realistic prospect of success would be considered as reasonably arguable for leave to be given. Here, the question was whether X managed to demonstrate to the satisfaction of the Court that he had in the DC Action a reasonably arguable case that the HA had acted in bad faith or without reasonable care in his detention and management pursuant to the MHO (Peter Po Fun Chan v Winnie Cheung (2007) 10 HKCFAR 676, 陳碩謙 v 醫院管理局 (CACV 189/2012, [2014] CHKEC 980) applied). (See paras. 6–10.)

2.   The claim of wrongful diagnosis, albeit in the context of ss. 31 and 32 of the MHO, was no different from that of medical negligence. The law was trite that in order to bring such claim the plaintiff must adduce medical expert evidence to substantiate the alleged breach of duty and that such alleged breach caused the alleged injury – the so called Bolam test. The case of Montgomery v Lanarkshire Health Board did not replace but merely distinguished the Bolam test as being inapplicable in the context of that case, in that an adult patient of sound mind was entitled to decide which, if any, of the available forms of medical treatment to undergo, and her consent had to be obtained beforehand. In such context, it was the reasonable duty of a medical practitioner to advise the patient of the material risks of a particular treatment in order to obtain the latter’s informed consent (Bolam v Friern Hospital Management Committee [1957] 1 WLR 582 applied; Montgomery v Lanarkshire Health Board [2015] 2 WLR 768 distinguished). (See paras. 35, 43–45.)

3.   X had not established that he had reasonably arguable grounds for saying that the nurse or the doctors, and thus the HA, had acted in bad faith or without reasonable care in carrying out the matters in connection with his detention pursuant to the MHO. The nurse and the doctors exercised professional judgment on the basis of their own observations of X’s state and the information available (including conflicting versions and evidence as to the existence of noises from the upstairs unit). (See paras. 29, 31–32, 34.)

4.   The information about noises from the upstairs unit from CPH’s community psychiatric service was not available prior to X’s discharge. It could not discredit or undermine the professional assessment made based on information available at the material time. The application for extension of X’s detention (after his family confirmed the existence of noises from the upstairs unit) was made in view of X’s need for observation and treatment based on the doctor’s professional assessment of X’s condition in coping with the alleged noises. (See paras. 33–34.)

5.   As for the medical certificate produced by X, in addition to its admissibility being an issue, it lacked relevance. The medical certificate contained no opinion on the assessment and diagnosis by nurse and doctors at the material times for the purposes of ss. 31 and 32 of the MHO, the clinical management of X during his detention or consequentially whether what the nurse or the doctors did at the material times fell short of what was reasonably expected of them or whether the same caused X damage. The opinion therein related to X’s current condition on the basis of his complaint as well as information and examination available after X’s discharge. It could not serve as evidence of wrongful diagnosis at the material times as alleged by X. (See paras. 36–42.)

Application 

This was an application for retrospective leave for the applicant to commence his personal injury action arising out of his compulsory detention at a hospital pursuant to s. 69(2) of the Mental Health Ordinance (Cap. 136). The facts are set out in the judgment.

Jurisdictions: