Changfeng Shipping Holdings Ltd v Sinoriches Enterprises Co. Ltd.
暫委法官杜溎峰內庭聆訊
2020年12月1日

背景資料

答辯人是一家有三名董事的香港註冊公司、一家英屬處女群島公司及兩名自然人,即Ms Wang及Ms Yang。 兩名董事Ms Wang及Ms Yang似乎是中國大陸大連的居民(下稱「董事」)。

雖然答辯人在香港設有辦事處,但其業務主要在中國內地進行。答辯人在爭議的租船合約中所述的地址是在大連。

2019年10月31日,申請人獲得許可,將倫敦仲裁裁決中與租船合約糾紛有關的100多萬美元加利息及費用作為在香港判決,對答辯人作出執行。

申請人隨後根據《高等法院規則》(第4A章)第48號命令第1條規則提出單方申請,要求對董事進行口頭訊問,並根據第11號命令第9(4)條規則提出許可將口頭訊問令從香港送達董事。

聆案官雖然批出口頭訊問令,但却拒絕准許在香港以外的地方送達上述命令。 申請人其後就聆案官的判決提出上訴。

爭論點

在提出上訴時,法院考慮了以下兩爭論點:

1. 法院是否有司法管轄權,根據第48號命令第1條規則,對居於香港以外的法團「判定債務人」的職位擔當人發出訊問令,而該職位擔當人並非引起該筆債項的訴訟的一方;及
2. 若然,如何行使第 11 號命令第 9(4)條 規則所賦予的酌情權,准許在司法管轄區以外送達該命令。

判決

爭論點(1):第48號命令第1條規則是否具有域外效力?

香港法院已接受第48號命令具有域外效力(見Navig8 Chemical Pools Inc v Inder Sharma HCMP 2885/2016,(未經彙報)2017年2月14日)。 第48號命令的措辭並沒有表明其只適用於司法管轄區內的職位擔當人。

第48號 命令之目的是讓「判定債權人」取得「判定債務人」的財務資料。只有將該規則的適用範圍擴大至司法管轄區內及司法管轄區外的職位擔當人的情況,才可針對法團「判定債務人」達到此目的。

香港有很多在香港經營業務的外國或國際法 團,其職位擔當人居住在香港境外。該規則之基本目的,以及香港作為國際商業中心的背景,足以排除反對域外效力的推定。

經考慮香港的情況,並應用公平、廣泛及自由的解釋及詮釋,法官信納,如將該規則解釋為具有域外效力,並適用於居於香港及香港以外地方的法團債務人的職位擔當人,將最能達致該規則之目的。

爭論點(2):應否准予在司法管轄權以外的地方進行送達

關於適用於向法團債務人的職位擔當人送達此類訊問令的原則,只有少量典據談及。

在Masri v Consolidated Contractors Int’l (UK) Ltd and others (No.4) [2010] 1 AC 90一案中,上議院裁定,在法團「判定債務人」的案件中,法院無權强制該法團位於海外的職位擔當人出席。鑒於英國《民事訴訟程序規則》第71.2條規則(CPR r.71.2)中的等同程序與適用於香港的《民事訴訟程序規則》之前(pre-CPR)的等同條款不同,法官認為Masri的結果與本案無關,但其對普通法的闡述卻是相關的。

另一方面,新加坡關於債務人訊問令及送達的法定制度與香港相似。 在Burgundy Global Exploration Corp v Transocean Offshore Int’l Ventures Ltd [2014] SGCA 24一案中,新加坡上訴法院對Masri案進行了區分,因為《民事訴訟程序規則》第71.2條下的制度與新加坡的制度不同,並認為第48號命令第1條規則具有域外效力。

批出許可送達訊問令的原則是:(a)外國職位擔當人是否與實質性申索關係密切,以至於新加坡法院有理由對其行使管轄權;(b)對於何時應批出許可,不應有嚴格或詳盡無遺的規則,但該職位擔當人對「判定債務人」財務的瞭解是基本的門檻;以及(c)應謹慎批出許可。

香港原則

判決書第35段對送達訊問令的適用原則進行了總結:

1. 根據第48號命令,法院有司法管轄權,可針對個別「判定債務人」及法團「判定債務人」的職位擔當人發出訊問令,以及在司法管轄權以外發出該等訊問令。
2. 該職位擔當人對法團債務人的財務情況的瞭解是允許外出送達的前提條件。
3. 如果該職位擔當人就產生「判定債務」的訴訟的行為與該訴訟之標的物有密切聯繫,以致不行使司法管轄權是不公正的,則可行使酌情決定權,命令進行外出送達。
4. 唯一或主要股東的行為產生了密切聯繫;唯一的董事或職位擔當人是法團債務人的「另一自我」或控制頭腦,或曾提出、控制或資助訴訟;及在引致「判定債權人」成功申索的事件中發揮了關鍵作用的職位擔當人,應被要求提供該等資料。
5. 過失、疏忽或應受指責與此無關。然而,如該名職位擔當人的行為有該等特點,則行使酌情權下令進行外出送達是較為恰當的做法。
6. 申請人須就密切聯繫及知情方面負上舉證責任。 由於是否存在密切聯繫及知情的情況,完全是法團債務人所知道的事項,「判定債權人」通常無法獲得直接證據。 在大多數情況下,法院必須根據實際情況作出相應的推斷。
7. 法院會採取 「一刀切」的做法,即除非該申請有嚴重或明顯的缺陷,否則會批出許可進行送達。如果不信納該職位擔當人對「判定債務人」的財務狀況有所瞭解,及符合密切聯繫的測試標準,那麽單方面的許可將被撤銷。

評論

第 48號 命令之目的,是讓「判定債權人」可向「判定債務人」索取所需資料,並確定「判定債務人」的資 產及負債,從而決定採取甚麽步驟强制執行判定。公平地說,來自中國其他地區或外國的人選擇成為香港公司的董事,他們應該期望在這方面受到香港法律及程序的約束。

香港是世界上一個實體上很小但經濟上很重要的司法管轄區。 鑒於香港及中國大陸作為同一個國家的兩個司法管轄區,在經濟上已經融合,許多香港公司的董事都在中國大陸。 正如法官所强調的那樣,過度限制的做法會阻撓國際商業界對香港作為國際商業中心的合理期望,並損害香港的形象。

Jurisdictions: 

法務總監,英國希德律師行香港辦公室

劉先生擁有英格蘭及威爾士和中國的律師執業資格。劉先生主要職業領域是商事與航運訴訟和仲裁業務。他在處理國際商業爭議方面具有豐富經驗,主要包括國際貨物買賣和貿易以及大宗商品、能源和離岸工程、股東及股權相關糾紛、國際投資(特別是涉及“一帶一路”項目)、商業欺詐、執行國際判決和仲裁裁決等領域。劉先生在眾多香港政府咨詢機構中擔任委員,包括仲裁推广咨詢委員會、調解督導委員會、航空發展及三跑道系統咨詢委員會、香港海運港口局,以及人事登記審裁處審裁員。他亦是國際航運公會中國辦事處首席代表。

英國希德律師行香港辦公室律師

李律師在為保險公司和受保險人處理保險索賠方面具有豐富的經驗,包括人身傷亡,雇員補償,交通事故和公共責任。她也代表傷者。在航運法領域,她代表保險公司及船東互保協會處理人身傷亡案件 , 及租船合同糾紛。李女士也有處理在欺詐及追蹤資產方面申請凍結令及披露命令 , 執行法院判決和仲裁裁決,對判定債務人進行訊問及公司清盤的經驗。

Changfeng Shipping Holdings Ltd v Sinoriches Enterprises Co. Ltd.
Deputy Judge Anthony To in Chambers
1 December 2020

Background

The respondent was a company incorporated in Hong Kong with three directors, one BVI company and two natural persons, namely Ms. Wang and Ms. Yang. The two directors, Ms. Wang and Ms. Yang, appeared to be residents in Dalian, Mainland China (“the Directors”).

While the respondent had an office address in Hong Kong, its business was mainly carried out in Mainland China. The respondent’s address stated in the charterparty at dispute was in Dalian.

On 31 October 2019, the applicant obtained leave to enforce a London arbitral award for more than USD1 million plus interest and costs against the respondent in connection to a charterparty dispute as judgment in Hong Kong.

The applicant then made an ex parte application for oral examination of the Directors under O.48, r.1, Rules of High Court (Cap.4A) and leave to serve the oral examination order out of Hong Kong on the Directors under O.11, r.9(4).

While the Master granted the oral examination order, leave was refused to serve the said order out of Hong Kong. The applicant then applied for an appeal against the Master’s decision.

Issues

Upon appeal, the court considered the following two issues:-

1. whether the court had jurisdiction to make examination orders under O.48 r.1 against officers of a corporate judgment debtor who was resident outside Hong Kong and was not a party to the action from which the debt arose; and
2. if so, how the discretion in granting leave to serve such an order out of the jurisdiction under O.11 r.9(4) was to be exercised.

Decision

Issue (1): Whether O.48 r.1 has extra-territorial effect

The Hong Kong courts have accepted that O.48 has an extra-territorial effect (see Navig8 Chemical Pools Inc v Inder Sharma HCMP 2885/2016, (unreported) 14 February 2017). There was nothing in the wording of O.48 to suggest that it was applicable only to officers within the jurisdiction.

The purpose of O.48 is to allow the judgment creditors to obtain information about a judgment debtor’s finances. This purpose could only be served against a corporate judgment debtor by extending the application of the rule to its officers within, as well as outside, the jurisdiction.

Hong Kong had many foreign or international corporations carrying on business in Hong Kong with officers resident outside Hong Kong. The underlying purpose of the rule and Hong Kong’s background as an international commercial centre were strong enough to displace the presumption against extra-territoriality.

Having regard to the circumstances in Hong Kong and applying the fair, large and liberal construction and interpretation, the judge was satisfied that the purpose of the rule would be best served if it is construed to have extra-territorial effect and applicable to officers of corporate debtors resident both inside and outside Hong Kong.

Issue (2): Whether service out of jurisdiction should be granted

There were few authorities on the principles applicable to service out of such examination orders on officers of corporate debtors.

In Masri v Consolidated Contractors Int’l (UK) Ltd and others (No.4) [2010] 1 AC 90, the House of Lords found that in the case of a corporate judgment debtor, the court did not have the power to compel the attendance of officers of that corporation who were located abroad. Given the equivalent procedure under the English CPR r.71.2 is different from the equivalent pre-CPR provisions applicable to Hong Kong, the judge considered that the result of Masri had no bearing to the present case, but its exposition of the common law was nevertheless relevant.

On the other hand, the Singaporean statutory regime regarding the debtor examination orders and service out was similar to that in Hong Kong. In Burgundy Global Exploration Corp v Transocean Offshore Int’l Ventures Ltd [2014] SGCA 24, the Singapore Court of Appeal distinguished Masri because the regime under CPR r.71.2 was different from the Singapore regime and held that O.48, r.1 had extra-territorial effect.

The principles on granting leave to serve examination order are (a) whether the foreign officer was so closely connected to the substantive claim that the Singapore court was justified in taking jurisdiction over him; (b) there should be no strict or exhaustive rule as to when leave should be granted but the officer’s knowledge of the finance of the judgment debtor was the basic threshold; and (c) leave should be granted sparingly.

Hong Kong principles

The applicable principles to service out of examination orders are summarised at paragraph 35 of the judgment:

1. The court had jurisdiction under O.48 to issue examination order against individual judgment debtors and officers of corporate judgment debtors, and to issue such examination order out of the jurisdiction.
2. The officer’s knowledge of the finance of the corporate debtor was a prerequisite for leave to serve out.
3. The discretion to order service out may be exercised if there is a close connection between the officer’s conduct in relation to the action from which the judgment debt arose and the subject matter of that action which makes it unjust not to exercise the jurisdiction.
4. A close connection was created by the conduct of the sole or substantial shareholder; the sole director or officer who was the alter ego or controlling mind of the corporate debtor or had instituted, controlled or financed the litigation; and officers who had played a key role in the events giving rise to the judgment creditor’s successful claim should be required to provide such information.
5. Fault, negligence or blameworthiness were not relevant. However, where there were such features in the officer’s conduct, it was more appropriate to exercise the discretion to order service out.
6. The burden of proof of close connection and knowledge was on the applicant. As the existence of a close connection and knowledge were matters solely within the knowledge of the corporate debtor, direct evidence is normally not available to the judgment creditor. In the majority of cases, the court had to draw inference with a sense of realism appropriate to the circumstances.
7. The court would take a broad brush approach and grant leave to serve out unless there was a serious or obvious flaw in the application. If not satisfied that the officer has knowledge of the finance of the judgment debtor and that the close connection test is met, then the ex parte leave will be set aside.

Comments

The purpose of O.48 is to enable the judgement creditor to obtain necessary information from the judgment debtor and ascertain the assets and liabilities of the judgment debtor so as to determine what steps to enforce the judgment. It is fair that persons from other parts of China or foreign countries chose to become directors of Hong Kong companies, they should expect to be subject to Hong Kong law and procedure in that regard.

Hong Kong is a physically small but economically important jurisdiction in the world. Given the economic integration of Hong Kong and Mainland China as two jurisdictions in the same country, many Hong Kong companies have directors in Mainland China. As the judge emphasised, an unduly restrictive approach would frustrate the reasonable expectation of the international commercial communities towards Hong Kong as an international commercial centre and damaging to Hong Kong’s image as such.

Jurisdictions: 

Legal Director, Hill Dickinson Hong Kong

Edward is qualified as a solicitor in England & Wales as well as a lawyer in P.R. China.  His main area of practice is in commercial and shipping litigation and arbitration. He is extensively experienced in advising and handling international commercial disputes covering areas such as sale of goods/trade and commodities, energy and offshore projects, shareholder and equity-related disputes, and international investment (particularly connected with Belt & Road projects), commercial fraud, worldwide enforcement of judgments and arbitration awards etc.  Edward has been appointed as members of a number of advisory bodies to the Hong Kong government, including Advisory Committee on Promotion of Arbitration, Steering Committee on Mediation, Aviation Development and Three-Runway Advisory Committee, Hong Kong Maritime and Port Board, and an adjudicator of the Registration of Persons Tribunal.  He is also the principal representative of the International Chamber of Shipping (China) Liaison Office.

Associate, Hill Dickinson Hong Kong

Maggie is experienced in handling insurance claims for the insurance companies and the insured, including personal injury, employees’ compensation, traf c accident and public liability claims. She also acts for the injured persons. For shipping matters, she has been involved in crew personal injury claims for insurers and P&I clubs and charterparty disputes. Maggie also has experience in the applications for injunctions and disclosure orders in the context of fraud and asset-tracing matters, enforcement of judgements and arbitral awards, oral examination of judgment debtor, as well as winding up proceedings.