Cheung Tak Wing v Communications Authority
原訟法庭
憲法及行政訴訟2015年第60號
區慶祥法官
2016年11月7日、2018年11月9日

行政法-通訊事務管理局-政府新聞處處長-指示電視及電台持牌人播放政府的選舉改革廣告-該決定是否不合法-禁止電視及電台持牌人播放政治廣告的規定不適用於「政府所提供的材料」-有關豁免是否違憲

字詞及語句-「政府宣傳片」

電視及電台廣播服務分別受《廣播條例》(第562章)及《電訊條例》(第106章)規管。電視或電台牌照中的一項標準條件,是持牌人須免費廣播包括「政府宣傳片」在內的材料。《廣播條例》附表4第12條規則規定,持牌人不得播放任何「政治性質」廣告(有關禁止),但第23(3)條規定,該項禁止並不適用於「政府所提供的材料」(有關豁免)。通訊事務管理局(第一答辯人)制訂的《電台業務守則》第28段規定:除非得到事先批准,否則不得播放「有政治色彩的廣告」;但第5(b)(ii)條亦規定,該項禁止不適用於政府宣傳片。在2017年的行政長官選舉之前,第一答辯人及政府新聞處處長(第二答辯人)指示電視及電台持牌人播放政府廣告(稱為政府宣傳片),以推廣選舉改革放案(改革方案),當中並包含一套從2015年4月22日起播放,稱為「2017:一定要得!」的宣傳片(受質疑宣傳片)(有關決定)。一名香港永久居民兼合資格選民X,就該等決定提出司法覆核申請,指各名答辯人不合法地行事。但在進行有關聆訊前,就該項改革方案而提出的動議被立法會否決,而受質疑的宣傳片亦停止播放。

裁決-駁回申請,理由如下:

  • 儘管X所提出的申請已成為學術性討論,但法庭仍須對其作出處理,理由是(除其他外):仍有人對現行立法機制,以及各答辯人的職能和有關政策的合法性與合憲性提出質疑;播放政府材料的爭議有可能再度出現;未來或許會展開另一輪的憲制改革和宣傳;所涉及的是實際情況,而非假想情況(援引Chit Fai Motors v Commissioner for Transport [2004] 1 HKC 465 一案)。(見第59段)
  • 「政府宣傳片」指符合以下三項準則其中一項的宣傳片,即是:(a)有關廣播符合公眾利益;(b)與公眾關注的事宜有關,例如:健康、安全、社會福利、法律責任、公共資源提供,以及會對交通或其他環境因素構成影響的變動;或(c)與政府政策或可實施的目標直接相關(準則三)。(見第75、78、91段)
  • •政府政策包含其所訂立的一般原則或目標,以作為在公共事務管理或某一特定範疇行使權力時的指引。原則上,政府政策的含義不能局限於只包含該等能成功執行的政策(不論是否獲立法會同意)(考慮Leung Kwok Hung v President of the Legislative Council [2007] 1 HKLRD 387 一案)。(見第97–101段)
  • •香港在行政長官選舉方面的憲制發展,連同行政長官的憲制責任和職能,以及政府在修訂選舉方法上所扮演的角色,共同構成相關的「政府政策或可實施目標」。該受質疑的宣傳片旨在推廣改革方案和爭取公眾支持,與該政策及可實施的目標直接相關,因此符合在準則三下的政府宣傳片含義。(見第102段)
  • •第一答辯人並無明確法定責任,須審查政府提供的材料是否屬於政府宣傳片,而基於良好政策及可行理由,它亦不必承擔任何隱含的審查前責任。首先(除其他情況外),現行監管機制是以播放之後及以投訴為本。第二,進行事先審查,會形成妨礙編輯自主和言論自由的風險,而每日需要播放的材料數量龐大,因此亦會給第一答辯人施加無法履行的責任。第三,第一答辯人有法定責任,須將與「政府提供及由持牌人廣播的材料」有關的投訴交給政府處理。第四,第一答辯人在政府提交的材料方面所扮演的角色,於任何情況下都是屬於行政和促進性質,而有關的立法歷程亦支持這一結論(援引T v Commissioner of Police (2014) 17 HKCFAR 593, R (Edison First Power Ltd) v Central Valuation Officer [2003] 4 All ER 209 等案件)。(見第109、119–134段)
  • 此外,有關豁免是相稱性地合理,並無因侵犯相同對待權利和言論自由而違憲。由於有關禁止並無侵犯言論自由,因此指有關豁免可能會限制和侵犯該項權利,這一說法是於理不合(援引Animal Defenders International v Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport [2008] 1 AC 1312, Animal Defenders International v United Kingdom (2013) 57 EHRR 21 等案件)。(參見第140–143段)
  • •本案並無涉及X的相同對待權利,因他並未要求以及並未被禁止播放其政治廣告。所以,他不能以歧視為由,對有關豁免提出憲法挑戰。(見第150–151段)
  • •不論如何,有關豁免並未構成《基本法》第25條及《香港人權法案》第22條所禁止的歧視行為。就政治廣告而言,政府是處於一個獨特的,與香港居民所處的不盡相同的位置,故根據有關豁免作出區別對待是合理的做法。政府不可有任何偏重。在推廣和教育公眾關於其政策、立法建議、一個開放和透明的政府方面,電視及電台廣播是最有效的途徑。此外,有關禁止並不妨礙任何個人或政黨運用任何形式的媒體(援引Fok Chun Wa v Hospital Authority (2012) 15 HKCFAR 409 一案)。(見第152–159段)

適用

這是一宗涉及第一及第二答辯人決定批准政府,就與選舉行政長官有關的選舉改革方案,在電視及電台播放廣告而提出的司法覆核申請。案情見相關判決書。

Jurisdictions: 

Thomson Reuters – Sweet & Maxwell are the publishers of the Authorised Hong Kong Law Reports & Digest ("HKLRD") and the Authorised Hong Kong Court of Final Appeal Reports ("HKCFAR"), and providers of Westlaw HK (www.sweetandmaxwell.com.hk / www.westlaw.com.hk).

Cheung Tak Wing v Communications Authority
Court of First Instance
Constitutional and Administrative Law List No 60 of 2015
Thomas Au J
9 November 2018

Administrative law - Communications Authority - Director of Information Services Department - decisions directing TV and radio licensees to broadcast Government advertisements on electoral reform - whether unlawful - ban on broadcasting political advertisements by TV and radio licensees not applicable to "material supplied by Government" - whether exemption unconstitutional

Words and phrases - "announcements in the public interest"

Television (TV) and radio broadcasting services were respectively regulated under the Broadcasting Ordinance (Cap.562) (the BO) and the Telecommunications Ordinance (Cap.106). It was a standard condition of a TV or radio licence that the licensee shall broadcast materials, including "announcements in the public interest" (API), free of charge. Under r.12 of Sch.4 of the BO, a licensee shall not broadcast any advertisement of a "political nature", but under s.23(3), this prohibition did not apply to "material supplied by the Government" (the Exemption). Paragraph 28 of the Radio Code, published by the Communications Authority (R1), stated that "no advertisement of a political nature" shall be broadcast except with prior approval, but under para.5(b)(ii), the prohibition did not apply to API. Ahead of the selection of the Chief Executive (CE) in 2017, R1 and the Director of Information Services (R2) directed television and radio licensees to air Government advertisements, purportedly as API, promoting its electoral reform proposals (the Reform Proposals), including ones entitled "2017, Make it happen!" (the Impugned Announcements) from 22 April 2015 (the Decisions). X, a Hong Kong permanent resident and eligible voter, applied for judicial review of the Decisions, arguing that Rs had acted unlawfully. By the time of the hearing, the Legislative Council (LegCo) had rejected the motion presenting the Reform Proposals and broadcasting of the Impugned Announcements had ceased.

Held, dismissing the application, that:

  • Although X's application had become academic, the Court would still entertain it, given the challenges related to the legality and constitutionality of the current legislative scheme and Rs' duties and policies; the controversy over the broadcast of Government material might arise again; there might be another round of constitutional reforms, and advertisements, in future; and it concerned actual and not hypothetical facts (Chit Fai Motors v Commissioner for Transport [2004] 1 HKC 465 applied). (See para.59.)
  • The term "Announcements in the Public Interest" referred to announcements which satisfied one of three criteria, namely that they were: (a) in the public's interest to broadcast; or (b) related to such issues of public concern as health, safety, social welfare, legal obligations, availability of public resources and changes affecting traffic or other environmental factors; or (c) directly related to a government policy or operational objective (Criterion 3). (See paras.75, 78, 91.)
  • A Government policy embodied the general principles or objectives the Government had set to guide its administration of public affairs or its exercise of power in a specified area. There was no reason in principle to limit the meaning of government policy to only that which could be successfully implemented, whether or not with LegCo's endorsement (Leung Kwok Hung v President of the Legislative Council [2007] 1 HKLRD 387 considered). (See paras.97-101.)
  • The advancement of Hong Kong's constitutional development in the selection of the CE, together with the CE's constitutional duties and functions and the Government's role in amending the selection method constituted the relevant "government policy or operative objective". The Impugned Announcements in seeking to promote the Reform Proposals and the public's support were directly related to that policy and operational objectives. As such, they fell within the meaning of API under Criterion 3. (See para.102.)
  • There was no express statutory duty on R1 to vet whether materials supplied by the Government were API. Nor was there any implied pre-vetting duty for good policy and practical reasons. First, inter alia, the present regulatory regime was post-broadcast and complaints-driven. Second, a pre-censorship duty would risk stifling editorial independence and free expression and also impose an unworkable burden on R1 given the immense volume of materials broadcast daily. Third, R1 had a statutory duty to refer complaints concerning "material supplied for broadcasting by the Government and broadcast by a licensee" to the Government for handling. Fourth, and in any event, R1's role vis-à-vis Government supplied materials was only administrative and facilitative. This conclusion was supported by the relevant legislative history (T v Commissioner of Police (2014) 17 HKCFAR 593, R (Edison First Power Ltd) v Central Valuation Officer [2003] 4 All ER 209 applied). (See paras.109, 119-134.)
  • The Exemption was proportionally justified and not unconstitutional for breach of the right to equal treatment and freedom of expression. Given that the ban on political advertising on TV and radio was not an infringement of the right to freedom of expression, it was illogical that the Exemption could be a restriction and violation of that right (R (Animal Defenders International) v Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport [2008] 1 AC 1312, Animal Defenders International v United Kingdom (2013) 57 EHRR 21 applied). (See paras.140-143.)
  • X's right to equal treatment was not engaged since he was not seeking to air political advertisements but found himself banned from doing so. There was no basis to a constitutional challenge to the Exemption based on discrimination. (See paras.150-151.)
  • The Exemption did not constitute discrimination prohibited by art.25 of the Basic Law or art.22 of the Hong Kong Bills of Rights. The Government stood in a unique position relevantly different from Hong Kong residents so far as political advertising was concerned and this justified the differential treatment under the Exemption. The Government was non-partisan. TV and radio broadcasts were the most effective means of promoting and educating the public about its policies and legislative proposals and a facet of open and transparent government. Further, the prohibition did not prevent individuals and political parties from making use of other forms of media (Fok Chun Wa v Hospital Authority (2012) 15 HKCFAR 409 applied). (See paras.152-159.)

Application

This was an application for judicial review of the decisions of the first and second respondents to allow the government to broadcast television and radio advertisements relating to its electoral reform proposals for the selection of the Chief Executive. The facts are set out in the judgment.

Jurisdictions: 

Thomson Reuters – Sweet & Maxwell are the publishers of the Authorised Hong Kong Law Reports & Digest ("HKLRD") and the Authorised Hong Kong Court of Final Appeal Reports ("HKCFAR"), and providers of Westlaw HK (www.sweetandmaxwell.com.hk / www.westlaw.com.hk).