Cheung Tak Wing v Director of Administration
上訴法庭
民事上訴案件 2018 年第 577 號
高等法院首席法官潘兆初, 上訴法庭副庭長林文瀚, 上訴法庭法官鮑晏明
2019 年 8 月 14 - 15 日、 2020 年 2 月 14 日

行政法—行政署長—規定使用政府總部東翼前地舉行公眾集會及遊行須事前提出申請的機制—平日及星期六不開放前地作此用途—依法規定的機制—署長訂立許可機制是以政府是土地擁有人為基礎,這在法律上沒有錯,政府可訂立條件限制公眾人士進入政府總部及前地—機制沒有限制發表自由及集會自由,因此不屬違憲—人權—發表自由及集會自由的權利—機制下的限制通過相稱性分析—《基本法》第六條、第二十九條、第一百零五條—《香港人權法案條例》(第383章)第8條第十六條、第十七條

行政署長(「署長」)負責管理政府總部(「政總」)東翼前地(「前地」);署長推行一套機制,根據該機制,不論參與人數多少,公眾人士可向署長申請許可在星期日或公眾假期上午10時至下午6時30分的某段時間,在前地舉行公眾集會或遊行(「該許可機制」)。X申請許可在星期五上午9時到下午7時使用前地舉行公眾集會;署長拒絕其申請,唯一的理據是擬舉行公眾集會的日期是平日(「該決定」)。X質疑該許可機制及該決定是否合憲合法,就此申請司法覆核獲批。原審法官裁定,該許可機制所設的限制牴觸《人權法案》第十六和十七條可享有的發表自由及集會自由的權利,屬違法違憲。署長提出上訴。

裁決—判上訴得直,將判決作廢:

該許可機制是否依法規定

1.   該許可機制是依法規定的。首先,有關限制是依據法律權限施加的,因為署長推行該許可機制是基於政府作為政總的土地擁有人而行使政府的普通法權利和責任。第二,該許可機制是公眾易於查閱的,這點沒有爭議。第三,有關限制是以充分明確的方式制定,讓市民可據之規管自己的行為。根據《指引》,署長不受限制,除了維持公共秩序及公共安全,以及政總的運作效能之外,他可以基於其他理由拒絕批准申請。這樣的準則是可以接受的,也可以客觀地評定的。(見第47−57段)

該許可機制有否違法

2.   該許可機制不屬違法。X因為署長是以政府作為土地擁有人為基礎,所以認為他(指署長)犯了事實錯誤,可是X的說法沒有證據支持;署長基於政府作為土地擁有人可就准許公眾人士進入政總及前地制定條件,他在法律上沒有錯。署長代表政府作為政總的管理人,明顯有責任確保在前地進行的活動不會妨礙政總事務的運作,也不會影響該處訪客或職員的安全和保安事宜(引用HKSAR v Fong Kwok Shan Christine (2017) 20 HKCFAR 425)。(見第61−64、66段)

相稱性分析

3.   這不是一宗涉及對立權利的案件。《基本法》第六條及第一百零五條保障的財產權及《基本法》第二十九條保障房產不受侵犯的權利,確實沒有牴觸《人權法案》第十六及十七條保障的示威者的權利。雖然《基本法》第二十九條所保障的權利可適用於任何人的私人辦事處,但私人辦事處與政總前地有區別(引用HKSAR v Chan Kau Tai [2006] 1 HKLRD 400;依循HKSAR v Fong Kwok Shan Christine (2017) 20HKCFAR 425)。(見第84−86、90−93段)

4.   進行相稱性分析時所用的審查準則應該是「不超出為達致合法目的所必要的限度」,而不是「明顯地沒有合理基礎」。雖然署長評定此等事宜的經驗會比法庭的更為豐富,但署長有責任向法庭提供這方面的相關資料,協助法庭進行必要的評估(依循Leung Kwok Hung v HKSAR (2005) 8 HKCFAR 229、HKSAR v Fong Kwok Shan Christine (2017) 20 HKCFAR 425;考慮Tabernacle v The Secretary of State forDefence [2009] EWCA Civ 23)。(見第97−101段)

5.   在確定合法目的的時候,認為政府的財產權無關緊要之說被駁回。署長所確定的目的是合法的,屬《人權法案》第十六及十七條訂明的特定目的範圍之內。前地位於政府土地之上,設計成可以安全並有效地推進政總的運作,同時用作為工作人員和訪客的通道,政府作為土地擁有人,有權使用該土地。前地不是用來示威或遊行的地方,署長有責任預先防範,好使前地的指定用途不被損害;政府有公法責任便利民意向政府官員表達,署長在試圖平衡政府這個責任的時候,有權顧及到那些在政總工作的人的需要。再者,公民廣場是前地的誤稱,以前地作為專門給群眾聚集抗議的地方,賦予它象徵意義是不對的(考慮HKSAR vFong Kwok Shan Christine (2017) 20 HKCFAR 425)。(見第103、109−111段)

6.   該許可機制與合法目的有合理關聯。基於性質使然,集會和遊行會吸引公眾人士注意,也吸引記者及對同一公眾問題或課題感興趣或反對的其他人士。這樣的活動如果伸延到車輛通道,可以對前地作為通道的正常並和平的用途造成干擾,甚至對那些身處通道的人造成危險。因此明顯需要在批准在前地舉行集會及遊行一事上有相當的控制權(見
第115段)

7.   該許可機制所訂的限制不超出為達致合法目的所必要的限度。原審法官犯了法律錯誤,因為他沒有考慮到在政總及其鄰近範圍行使發表自由及示威自由之外,還有其他可選的途徑。雖然必須考慮到發表及示威的形式和規模,但評定該許可機制之時,不應不顧及政府採取的其他適用於在政總或其鄰近範圍接收公眾意見的措施。指定的公眾活動區除了添馬公園之外,還有貼近政總外圍的地區,那裡與前地比較,用作為示威地點的效用不減。再者,署長有權採用明確的方法制定前地的管理政策。不可能由於沒有提述一種用來照顧真正特殊的情況的剩餘酌情權,就把進入公眾建築物或政府建築物的限制說成無效(引用Appleby vUnited Kingdom (2003) 37 EHRR 38、Hysan Development Co Ltd v Town Planning Board (2016) 19 HKCFAR 372、Kudrevicius v Lithuania (2016) 62 EHRR 34、HKSAR v Fong Kwok Shan Christine (2017) 20 HKCFAR 425;提述HKSAR v Au Kwok Kuen [2010] 3 HKLRD 371、Lai Man Lok v Director of Home Affairs [2017] 3 HKLRD 338、MTRC v Chow Nok Hang [2018] 2 HKLRD 1378)。(見第119−130、136−138段)

8.   鑑於在政總或其鄰近範圍還有其他可用的有效途徑,在一般情況下,該許可機制在發表自由及示威自由方面所引起的干擾程度是有限的。在沒有特殊情況造成X受壓迫和不公平對待,也沒有特殊情況令署長必須偏離在該許可機制所制定政策的情況下,在侵佔措施的社會利益與損害保障權利之間已達致合理平衡(引用Hysan Development Co Ltd v Town Planning Board (2016) 19 HKCFAR 372)。(見第139−141段)

9.  (附帶意見)在實際執行該許可機制及強制執行限制時,署長必須顧及每宗個案的個別情況。這樣的強制執行本身不可能成為一個目的,並且必須符合相稱性的要求(引用Kudrevicius v Lithuania (2016) 62EHRR 34)。(見第142段)

上訴

這是一宗上訴案。行政署長推行一套許可機制,開放政府總部東翼前地供公眾舉行公眾集會;署長根據機制拒絕申請人的申請(見[2018] 5 HKLRD 740)。申請人質疑機制的合憲性、合法性以及署長的決定,申請司法覆核獲原訟法庭法官區慶祥批准。署長針對區法官的判決,提出上訴。案情已在判決書詳細列出。

Jurisdictions:

Cheung Tak Wing v Director of Administration
Court of Appeal
Civil Appeal No 577 of 2018
Poon CJHC, Lam V-P and Barma JA
14–15 August 2019, 14 February 2020

Administrative law — Director of Administration — scheme requiring applications for use of East Wing Forecourt of Central Government Offices (CGO) for public meetings and processions — forecourt not open for such use on weekdays and Saturdays — scheme prescribed by law — not error of law for Director to start from premise that as landowner, Government could set conditions for admittance into CGO and forecourt — scheme not unconstitutional restriction of expression and assembly — Human rights — rights to freedom of expression and assembly —restrictions under scheme satisfied proportionality analysis — Basic Law arts. 6, 29, 105 — Hong Kong Bill of Rights Ordinance (Cap. 383) s. 8 arts. 16, 17

The Director of Administration (the “Director”), who was responsible for managing the East Wing Forecourt (the “Forecourt”) of the Central Government Offices (the “CGO”), implemented a scheme under which members of the public could apply to the Director for permission to hold public meetings or processions in the Forecourt on Sundays or public holidays between 10am and 6:30pm (the “Permission Scheme”), regardless of the number of participants. X’s application for permission to use the Forecourt for a public meeting from 9am to 7pm on a Friday was refused on the sole basis that the intended public meeting was to take place on a weekday (the “Decision”). X successfully applied for judicial review to challenge the Permission Scheme and the Decision. The Judge held that the restriction under the Permission Scheme was unlawful and unconstitutional for being inconsistent with the rights to freedom of expression and assembly under arts. 16 and 17 of the Hong Kong Bill of Rights (HKBOR). The Director appealed. 

Held, allowing the appeal and setting aside the judgment, that: 

Whether Permission Scheme prescribed by law 

1.   The Permission Scheme was prescribed by law. First, the restriction was imposed with legal authority as the Permission Scheme was implemented by the Director in the exercise of the Government’s common law right and duty as landowner of the CGO. Second, it was not disputed that the Permission Scheme was accessible to the public. Third, the restriction was formulated with sufficient precision to enable a citizen to regulate his conduct. Under the Guidance Notes, there was no scope for the Director to disallow an application on grounds other than public order and public safety and the orderly and effective operation of the CGO. Such criteria were acceptable and objectively assessable. (See paras. 47–57.)

Whether Permission Scheme unlawful 

2.   The Permission Scheme was not unlawful. There was no evidential basis for X to suggest that the Director had erred in fact in terms of the Government’s ownership of the land, nor was it an error of law for the Director to start from the premise that as landowner the Government could set conditions for permitting members of the public to enter into the CGO and the Forecourt. As manager of the CGO on behalf of the Government, the Director obviously had a duty to ensure activities in the Forecourt would not hamper the ordinary business operations of the CGO and the safety and security of those visiting or working there (HKSAR v Fong Kwok Shan Christine (2017) 20 HKCFAR 425 applied). (See paras. 61–64, 66.)

Proportionality analysis 

3.   The present case was not one in which competing rights were engaged. Neither property rights under arts. 6 and 105 of the Basic Law nor privacy rights under art. 29 of the Basic Law (“BL29”) were truly engaged in competition with the rights of a demonstrator under arts. 16 and 17 of the HKBOR. Although BL29 could be engaged in relation to one’s private offices, a private office was distinguished from the Forecourt of the CGO (HKSAR v Chan Kau Tai [2006] 1 HKLRD 400 applied; HKSAR v Fong Kwok Shan Christine (2017) 20 HKCFAR 425 followed). (See paras.84–86, 90–93.)

4.   The standard of scrutiny in conducting the proportionality analysis should be “no more than necessary” rather than “manifestly without reasonable foundation”. Whilst the Director would have more experience than the courts in assessing these matters, it was also the duty of the Director to provide the court with the relevant information on such matters in assisting it to conduct the necessary assessment (Leung Kwok Hung v HKSAR (2005) 8 HKCFAR 229, HKSAR v Fong Kwok Shan Christine (2017) 20 HKCFAR 425 followed; Tabernacle v The Secretary of State for Defence [2009] EWCA Civ 23 considered). (See paras. 97–101.)

5.   In identifying the legitimate aims, the contention that the Government’s property rights had no relevance was rejected. The aims identified by the Director were legitimate aims within the specified purposes provided for in arts. 16 and 17 of the HKBOR. The Government, as owner of the CGO, had the right to use the land where the Forecourt was situated and designed for its safe and effective use in furtherance of the operation of the CGO and as a passageway for its workers and visitors. The function of the Forecourt not being a place for demonstration or protest, the Director had a duty to take precautions so that the designated functions of the Forecourt were not compromised and was entitled to take account of the needs of those working at the CGO when attempting to strike a balance with the Government’s public law duty to facilitate expression of public opinion to Government officials. Further, it was a misnomer to call the Forecourt the Civic Square and therefore wrong to attribute symbolic significance to it as a special place for mass public protest (HKSAR v Fong Kwok Shan Christine (2017) 20 HKCFAR 425 considered). (See paras. 103, 109–111.)

6.   The Permission Scheme was rationally connected with the legitimate aims. Given the nature of meetings and processions, they would attract public attention, reporters and other people interested in or opposed to the same public issue or topic. Such activities could cause disruptions to the ordinary and peaceful use of the Forecourt as a passageway and even danger to those present in the passageway if they spilled over to the vehicular access. Thus, there was an obvious need to have some controls on the meetings and processions to be allowed at the Forecourt. (See paras. 115.)

7.   The restriction under the Permission Scheme was no more than necessary to achieve the legitimate aims. The Judge erred in law in disregarding the availability of alternative means of exercise of freedom of expression and demonstration at and in the immediate vicinity of the CGO. Whilst the significance of the manner and form of expression and demonstration had to be taken into account, the Permission Scheme should not be assessed in isolation from other measures adopted by the Government for receiving views from members of the public in or at the vicinity of the CGO. The designated public activity area (“DPAA”) situated just outside the CGO, as well as the Tamar Park, were no less effective as a demonstration locality compared with the Forecourt. Further, the Director was entitled to adopt a bright-line approach in formulating the policy of managing the Forecourt. Restrictions on the admittance to public or government buildings could not be said to be invalid due to the lack of reference to a residual discretion to cater for really exceptional circumstances (Appleby v United Kingdom (2003) 37 EHRR 38, Hysan Development Co Ltd v Town Planning Board (2016) 19 HKCFAR 372, Kudrevicius v Lithuania (2016) 62 EHRR 34, HKSAR v Fong Kwok Shan Christine (2017) 20 HKCFAR 425 applied; HKSAR v Au Kwok Kuen [2010] 3 HKLRD 371, Lai Man Lok v Director of Home Affairs [2017] 3 HKLRD 338, MTRC v Chow Nok Hang [2018] 2 HKLRD 1378 referred to). (See paras. 119–130, 136–138.)

In light of the other effective means available at or in the vicinity of the CGO, the extent of the incursion occasioned by the Permission Scheme on the right of freedom of expression and demonstration in general was limited. In the absence of exceptional circumstances causing oppressive unfairness to X and requiring the Director to depart from the policy set out in the Permission Scheme, a fair balance had been struck between the societal benefits of the encroaching measure and the inroads made into the guaranteed right (Hysan Development Co Ltd v Town Planning Board (2016) 19 HKCFAR 372 applied). (See paras. 139–141.)

9.   (Obiter) The Director must have regard to the individual circumstances of each case in the actual administration of the Permission Scheme and the enforcement of the restriction. Such enforcement could not become an end in itself and was subject to the proportionality requirement (Kudrevicius v Lithuania (2016) 62 EHRR 34 applied). (See para. 142.)

Appeal

This was an appeal by the Director of Administration against the judgment of Thomas Au J granting an application for judicial review challenging a permission scheme implemented by the Director for use of the East Wing Forecourt of the Central Government Offices for public meetings and the Director’s decision refusing an application under the scheme (see [2018] 5 HKLRD 740). The facts are set out in the judgment.

Jurisdictions: