Congratulations! CUHK LAW Takes First Place in the 2020 International Criminal Court Moot Court Competition

Congratulations to the CUHK LAW team on winning the 2020 International Criminal Court (ICC) Moot Court Competition! 

In this year’s competition, the CUHK LAW team outperformed 70 teams from around the world, including Leiden University (the Netherlands), Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne (France), National University of Singapore (Singapore), University of New South Wales (Australia) and Osgoode Hall Law School (Canada). The team won the first place and a host of awards including: 

  • Best Memorial Team Overall
  • Best Regional Memorial for Asia
  • Best Defense Counsel Memorial
  • Second Runner-up Best Memorial
  • Second Runner-up Best Prosecution Memorial

The ICC Moot is widely regarded as one of the “Grand Slam” international mooting competitions for its intellectual rigour and substantial participation of law students and leading experts. With the oral rounds of the competition succumbing to COVID-19 this year, the organisers made awards based upon the written part of the competition (being the three 10,000-word memorials that each team prepared over several months). 

Members of the CUHK LAW team this year comprised Fong Ka Kei Katie (PCLL), Jiang Zixin (PCLL), Lam Hoi Yat Emmanuel (LLB), Lee Hoi Ching Vanessa (JD), and Li Sum Chuen Sonder (LLB). The team was coached by Professor Michael Ramsden and student coach Ho Shing Lok George (PCLL). 

CUHK LAW has a strong record of success in the ICC Moot since first entering the competition in 2014. It previously finished as Runner-Up (2019); Best Oralist (2019); three-times Best Prosecution Team (2019, 2018, 2015); Best Prosecution Memorial (2018); and three times Semi-Finalists (2016, 2015, 2014). CUHK LAW students also previously won the ICC Moot (Chinese) edition in 2016. Further details and success of CUHK LAW students in other mooting competitions are available at

Faculty coach Professor Michael Ramsden (middle) with members of the CUHK LAW ICC Moot Team 2020.