HKSAR v. Chan Yiu Shing
原訟法庭
裁判法院上訴案2016年第377號
高等法院原訟法庭法官黃崇厚
2017年3月17日、4月7日

刑事法及訴訟程序 — 在公眾地方管有攻擊性武器 — 辣椒噴霧 — 本質上不是攻擊性武器 — 是否因為擬供其本人或他人作傷害他人用途便成為攻擊性武器 — 是否有合法權限或合理辯解 — 裁判官可有逆轉舉證責任 — 是否錯在考慮了不被檢控行為 — 有關環境證據的做法是否有錯 — 《公安條例》(第245章)第33(1)及(2)條

刑事罪判刑 — 在公眾地方管有攻擊性武器 — 擬在示威地點作傷害他人用途的辣椒噴霧 — 相關因素 — 檢控人員是否試圖藉訟辯影響判處 — 《公安條例》(第245章)第33(1)及(2)條

D1–2被控一項在公眾地方管有攻擊性武器罪,違犯《公安條例》(第245章)第33(1)及(2)條,裁判官裁定二人罪名成立。控方案情是,D1穿著類似盔甲的保護衣服,與D2在示威地點附近出現。二人分別被發現身上帶有辣椒噴劑,D1有五樽,D2有一樽。辣椒噴劑沒有油的成份,含有辣椒素、二氫辣椒素(合稱「辣椒素物質」)和異丙醇,可引起與胡椒噴霧相若的效果(痛楚、刺激、紅腫),不過程度輕微,算不上有害。樽內辣椒噴劑可以微細霧狀形態噴出來,距離可達50厘米。審訊時,D1作供稱,他當時正前往某幾處處所外提供急救工作,所帶透明樽載著的是辣椒油,是親戚給他的,他曾吃過一些。D2作供稱,所帶那樽辣椒油是朋友給他的,他在外出用膳時使用;他不認識D1,當時帶領D1前往有關處所,途中被截停。裁判官判斷控方證人誠實可靠,拒絕接納D1和D2的免責開脫證詞,裁定:他們知道辣椒噴霧不可供食用;D1的衣著和裝備反映D1預期衝突的情況;控方已經證明D1和D2管有辣椒噴霧作非法用途,即擬供其本人或他人作傷害他人用途。二人就定罪提出上訴。D1亦就自己被判處9個月監禁提出上訴。

裁決 –駁回上訴:

D1就定罪提出上訴

  • 從她的整體分析看來,裁判官沒有將舉證責任轉移給D1。考慮相關物品是否攻擊性武器時,她必須就D1證詞的可信性作出判斷,否則,她不可能穩妥地就相關議題作出裁定。她先信納控方證人為誠實可靠,然後拒絕接納D1的證詞,判斷D1指自己管有是有合法權限或合理辯解的說法並不可信。《刑事訴訟程序條例》(第221章)第94(A)條的作用對本案影響不大。(見第26、31、35–36段)
  • D1的衣著和裝備不是「不被檢控行為」的證據,而是整體證據的一部份,和管有辣椒噴劑的目的有關。只要沒有法規訂明應被豁除,該項證據應可呈堂,而裁判官也有顧及不被檢控行為,做法恰當(引用R v. Chong Ah Choi [1994] 3 HKC 68、Chim Hon Man v. HKSAR (1999) 2 HKCFAR 145、HKSAR v. Chu Chi Wah (No 1) [2010] 4 HKLRD 675、HKSAR v. Kwok Hing Tony [2010] 3 HKLRD 761)。(見第38–39、47–48段)
  • 考慮到專家證詞所指辣椒噴霧的效果,裁判官有權裁斷D1當時知道相關液體不可食用,並因管有這些噴劑是為了食用之說毫不可信而拒絕接納。本案有足夠環境證據供裁判官考慮,然後才推論D1有相關的不法意圖;這也是唯一可以得出的合理推論。至於D1辯稱他當時穿著的只是BMX單車手會穿的那一種裝束而已,而且,他還穿了一件印有「急救」字樣的反光衣,即使他是為了其他合法目的而穿著,也不影響裁判官的裁定D1管有物品是擬供其本人或他人作傷害他人用途(引用HKSAR v. Tsang Chi Wai(未經彙報,CACC 384/2012,[2013] CHKEC 1129))。(見第50、53、57–63、67段)

D2就定罪提出上訴

  • D2的定罪不是不安全,也不是不穩妥。辣椒噴劑本質上不是攻擊性武器。即使相關液體可以服用或服用了不致有害,它也有可能因為管有者擬使用它來攻擊別人而成為攻擊性武器。裁判官有責任考慮整體相關證據,以決定是否推論D2管有那樽辣椒噴霧是為了作傷害他人的用途,並且這是唯一可以作出的合理推論。她的結論理據充份。相關專家意見在於相關液體的性質和對人的影響,在D2的辯解的可信性評估及他管有這液體的意圖這兩方面有其作用(引用R v. Chong Ah Choi [1994] 3 HKC 68)。(見第80–83、87–88、91、93、106–107段)
  • 綜觀整體情況,不存在充份理由要干預裁判官有關D2和辯方證人的誠信的裁斷。她裁定D2的說法不真實,同時亦否定了他所指出的合理辯解。法庭不用繼續進行第二階段的考慮,即不用繼續審視該辯解是否真實(引用HKSAR v. Hung Mei Ling Marine(未經彙報,CACC 200/2010,[2012] CHKEC 118)、HKSAR v. Ho Loy (2016) 19 HKCFAR 110)。(見第98–99、103段)

D1就判處提出上訴

  • 裁判官判處D1的手法無可詬病。檢控官只是提醒了她,他的結案陳詞中所附的其中一宗案例有處理判處上訴,「睇下可唔可以幫助法庭」。他完全不是試圖藉訟辯影響裁判官的判處。裁判官指出該案與本案有相近之處,也有相異之處。(見第111–114段)
  • 雖然相關液體只會產生短暫及程度輕微的不適,但D1是有預謀的,並且不會是為了自衞,此外,使用相關液體會令局面惡化。這類罪行沒有量刑指引,因為刑處取決於整體情況,包括相關武器的性質,能引致的傷害的程度,以及管有該武器的最終意圖。(見第117、119段)
  • D1曾干犯其他罪行,包括一項和炸藥有關的罪行。他管有五樽相關液體,顯示他有意持續使用,並且存在其中一部份會落入其他人手中不法地使用的風險。帶同辣椒噴劑往示威地點有可能令有意參與和平示威的市民卻步。因此,D1的判處是嚴厲的,但不致明顯過重。(見第120–121、123–125段)

上訴

這是一宗上訴案。兩名被告人被控一項在公眾地方管有攻擊性武器罪,經審訊後,裁判官劉綺雲女士裁定二人罪名成立並判處監禁。第一被告人就定罪及判處提出上訴,第二被告人就定罪提出上訴。案情已在判決書詳細列出。

Jurisdictions: 

Thomson Reuters – Sweet & Maxwell are the publishers of the Authorised Hong Kong Law Reports & Digest ("HKLRD") and the Authorised Hong Kong Court of Final Appeal Reports ("HKCFAR"), and providers of Westlaw HK (www.sweetandmaxwell.com.hk / www.westlaw.com.hk).

HKSAR v. Chan Yiu Shing
Court of First Instance
Magistracy Appeal No 377 of 2016
Albert Wong J
17 March, 7 April 2017

Criminal law and procedure — possession of offensive weapon in public place — chilli spray — not offensive weapon per se — whether offensive weapon on basis intended for purpose of causing injury to others — whether lawful authority or reasonable excuse — whether magistrate reversed burden of proof — whether erred by taking account of uncharged acts — whether erred in approach to circumstantial evidence — Public Order Ordinance (Cap. 245) s. 33(1), (2)

Criminal sentencing — possession of offensive weapon in public place — chilli spray intended for purpose of causing injury to others at protest — relevant factors — whether prosecuting counsel attempted to influence sentence by advocacy — Public Order Ordinance (Cap. 245) s. 33(1), (2)

D1–2 were convicted of possession of an offensive weapon in a public place contrary to s. 33(1) and (2) of the Public Order Ordinance (Cap. 245). The prosecution case was that D1, dressed in armour-like protective gear, was with D2 near a protest. D1–2 were found carrying respectively inter alia five bottles of chilli spray and one bottle of chilli spray. The chilli spray was oil-free and contained capsaicin and dihydrocapsaicin (collectively ‘capsaicinoids’) and isopropyl alcohol with effects similar to pepper spray (pain, stinging, irritation and swelling) but mild and not noxious. The bottles could discharge a fine spray over a range of 50 cm. At trial, D1 testified that he was on his way to provide first aid outside certain premises, the bottles contained chilli oil from relatives and he had already consumed some. D2 testified that the bottle was from a friend and he used it while eating out; and he was showing D1, a stranger, the way to the premises in question when they were intercepted. The Magistrate found the prosecution witnesses honest and reliable and rejected. She rejected Ds’ exculpatory testimony, finding that they knew the chilli sprays were inedible; given D1’s clothing and equipment, he expected clashes; and the prosecution had proved Ds possessed the chilli sprays for the unlawful purpose of causing injury to others by them or some other person. Ds appealed against conviction. D1 also appealed against his sentence of nine months’ imprisonment.

Held, dismissing the appeals, that:

Appeal against conviction by D1

  • Given her overall analysis, the Magistrate had not shifted the burden of proof onto D1. In considering whether the articles were offensive weapons, she had to make findings on the credibility of D1’s testimony; otherwise it would be impossible to safely determine the relevant issues. She had first accepted the prosecution witnesses as honest and reliable and then rejected D1’s testimony that he had lawful authority or reasonable excuse for possession as incredible. Section 94(A) of the Criminal Procedure Ordinance (Cap.221) did not have much application here. (See paras. 26, 31, 35–36.)
  • D1’s clothing and equipment were not evidence of “uncharged acts” but part of the evidence as a whole and relevant to the purpose of his possession of the chilli spray. Such evidence should be admitted if there was no statutory provision requiring its exclusion and the Magistrate properly took it into account (R v. Chong Ah Choi [1994] 3 HKC 68, Chim Hon Man v. HKSAR (1999) 2 HKCFAR 145, HKSAR v. Chu Chi Wah (No 1) [2010] 4 HKLRD 675, HKSAR v. Kwok Hing Tony [2010] 3 HKLRD 761 applied). (See paras. 38–39, 47–48.)
  • Given the expert evidence as to the effects of the chilli spray, the Magistrate was entitled to find that D1 knew the liquids were not edible and reject his assertion that they were for consumption as completely unbelievable. There was sufficient circumstantial evidence for her conclusion that D1 had the requisite unlawful intention and this was the only reasonable inference that could be drawn. As for D1’s argument that his clothes were merely the type worn by BMX riders and he had a reflective vest bearing the words “First Aid”, even if they were for other legitimate purposes, it did not affect the finding that D1 possessed items intended to be used by him or other persons to cause injury to others (HKSAR v. Tsang Chi Wai (unrep., CACC 384/2012, [2013] CHKEC 1129) applied). (See paras. 50, 53, 57–63, 67.)

Appeal against conviction by D2

  • D2’s conviction was neither unsafe nor unsatisfactory. The chilli spray was not an offensive weapon per se. Even if the liquid might be edible or harmless when consumed, it could become an offensive weapon because of the possessor’s intention to use it to attack others. The Magistrate had a duty to consider all the relevant evidence to determine whether the only reasonable inference that could be drawn was that D2’s possession of the bottle of chili spray was for the purpose of causing injury to others. Her conclusion was amply justified. The expert evidence on the nature of the liquid and its effects was relevant to assessing the credibility of D2’s defence; and his intention in possessing it (R v. Chong Ah Choi [1994] 3 HKC 68 applied). (See paras. 80–83, 87–88, 91, 93, 106–107.)
  • Given the circumstances as a whole, there was no good reason to interfere with the Magistrate’s finding as to the credibility of D2 and the defence witness. Having found that D2’s defence was untrue, she also rejected the reasonable excuse advanced by him. It was unnecessary to proceed to the second stage of consideration, namely whether the excuse was genuine (HKSAR v. Hung Mei Ling Marine (unrep., CACC 200/2010, [2012] CHKEC 118), HKSAR v. Ho Loy (2016) 19 HKCFAR 110 applied). (See paras. 98–99, 103.)

Appeal against sentence by D1

  • The way the Magistrate dealt with D1’s sentence could not be criticised. The prosecution merely reminded her that a case on appeals against sentence was annexed to his closing submission for her to “see if it can assist the Court”. There was no attempt to influence the sentence by advocacy. The Magistrate noted the similarities but also the differences between that case and the present case. (See paras. 111–114.)
  • While the liquid could produce only mild and temporary discomfort, D1’s act was premeditated and not for self-defence; and would aggravate the situation. There were no sentencing guidelines for this type of offence as the sentence depended on all the circumstances, including the nature of the weapon concerned, the degree of potential injury and the ultimate intention of possessing the weapon. (See paras. 117, 119.)
  • D had previous convictions including one relating to an explosive substance. That D1 had five bottles of the liquid in his possession suggested that he intended to use them continuously. There was also a risk that some might fall into the hands of others for illegal purposes. Bringing chilli spray to protests might also discourage members of the public from exercising their right to participate in peaceful protests. Accordingly, while D1’s sentence was severe, it was not manifestly excessive. (See paras. 120–121, 123–125.)

Appeal

This was an appeal by the first defendant against conviction and sentence for possession of an offensive weapon in a public place and by the second defendant against conviction for the same offence imposed by Ms Winnie Lau in the Magistrates’ Court. The facts are set out in the judgment.

Jurisdictions: 

Thomson Reuters – Sweet & Maxwell are the publishers of the Authorised Hong Kong Law Reports & Digest ("HKLRD") and the Authorised Hong Kong Court of Final Appeal Reports ("HKCFAR"), and providers of Westlaw HK (www.sweetandmaxwell.com.hk / www.westlaw.com.hk).