HKSAR v Kilima Abubakar Abbas

HKSAR v Kilima Abubakar Abbas
[2018] 5 HKLRD 88
上訴法庭
刑事上訴案件2016年第143號
上訴法庭副庭長倫明高
上訴法庭副庭長麥機智
上訴法庭法官麥偉德
2018年9月18日

刑事罪判刑 – 危險藥物 – 販運 – 求情因素 – 傳遞危險藥物的人這身分本身是否一個支持減刑的正當理由 – 香港是否必須遵循英國及威爾斯發出的毒品罪行量刑指引 – 被告人向有關當局提供協助並參與胡頌恆神父的打擊毒品活動 – 扣減刑期的方法

刑事罪判刑 – 扣減及求情 – 協助有關當局 – 協助「實際有用」的意思

被告人是坦桑尼亞國民,他承認非法販運危險藥物,即718克可卡因入境香港。原審法官以21年監禁為量刑起點,給量刑起點多加一年以反映罪行的國際因素之後,才從已提高的量刑起點扣減三份之一,以反映被告人認罪。被告人不服被判處13年8個月監禁,針對判刑申請上訴許可。他辯稱:(a) 原審法官給他判刑時犯錯,因為原審法官是以他非法販運780克而不是718克可卡因作為判刑基礎;(b) 判刑有原則性錯誤,因為刑期應當由於他是傳遞危險藥物的人而得到縮減,而在HKSAR v Leung Kwai Ping (No 2) [2003] 2 HKC 575及其後與傳遞人角色有關的販毒案例所訂立的法則是錯的,或者交替的說,不應依循;及(c) 原審法庭應考慮被告人的個人情況及被捕後的行為,包括他試圖協助有關當局,以及參與胡頌恆神父的計劃。

裁決–批准針對判刑而提出的上訴許可申請,但以大比數(上訴法庭法官麥偉德不認同判刑)把上訴駁回:(按上訴法庭副庭長倫明高、上訴法庭副庭長麥機智、上訴法庭法官麥偉德所贊同)

毒品重量

• 原審法官明顯犯錯,因為他是以被告人販運780克而不是718克可卡因為判刑基礎。以算術方式計算的量刑起點應該是20年7個月,反映國際因素而增加的年期應該是1年5個月。儘管原審法官的已提高的量刑起點在計算上犯了錯,他將之定為22年監禁是對的。(見第55、93、143段)

角色是傳遞危險藥物的人

  • 涉及販運可卡因的Attorney General v Pedro Nel Rojas [1994] 2 HKCLR 69案採用了R v Lau Tak Ming [1990] 2 HKLR 370案的量刑標準,在HKSAR v Abdallah[2009] 2 HKLRD 437案,該量刑標準給延伸到涉及大量海洛英和可卡因的判刑。在Lau Tak Ming案設定的量刑標準是為參與程度最低的被告人,即傳遞或保管危險藥物的人而設的。要顧慮的不應是以角色――傳遞危險藥物的人或保管危險藥物的人――作為降低量刑標準的求情因素的分別。如果傳遞危險藥物的人所干犯的罪行涉及加刑因素,包括在HKSAR v Abdallah案確認的因素,法官判刑時必須應用已提高的量刑標準(依循HKSAR v Abdallah [2009] 2 HKLRD 437;引用R v Lau Tak Ming [1990] 2 HKLR 370、R v Leung Kim Wah (CACC 442/1992,1993年7月6日)、HKSAR v Manalo [2001] 1 HKLRD 557、HKSAR v Leung Kwai Ping (No 2) [2003] 2 HKC 575)。(見第46、73、144-146段)
     
  • 從本法庭歷年相繼作出的判決看來,法庭明顯預定將R v Lau Tak Ming案設定的量刑標準應用於傳遞危險藥物的人或保管危險藥物的人。按照英國及威爾斯按步就班發展而成的方法,判刑法官必須參照列表決定犯罪者的罪責及造成的損害;本司法管轄區的指引是以涉及的危險藥物的份量為基礎,並且預定應用於那些在販毒集團中參與程度最低的人,與英國及威爾斯的方法並不一樣(引用R v Lau Tak Ming [1990] 2 HKLR 370)。(見第54、73-76、147-148段)
     
  • (按上訴法庭法官麥偉德所言)(附帶意見)雖然按照法律的現況來說,量刑標準明顯適用於傳遞危險藥物的人或保管危險藥物的人,受關注的是,目前適用於販毒案的判刑制度或許不能使法庭清楚區分傳遞危險藥物的人的罪責和策劃人的罪責,正如在Abdallah案提高量刑標準的指引所顯示的一樣(考慮HKSAR v Abdallah [2009] 2 HKLRD 437)。(見第45、144-148段)
     
  • (按上訴法庭法官麥偉德所言)適用於夥同犯法罪行的判刑原則提供正確的法律理由,這個理由支持在通常情況下不因參與販毒的人各有特定角色而區分他們。然而,應當有空間給行使判刑的酌情權――限於酌情決定犯罪者是如何牽涉入罪行及他做了些甚麼助長該罪行――以在適當的情況下,對個別人士判處更高刑罰。(見第165-171段)

(按上訴法庭副庭長倫明高所言)

向有關當局提供資料及參與計劃打擊販運毒品

  • (上訴法庭法官麥偉德贊同)根據適當的機制,刑期應當反映被告人向有關當局提供了協助,因此,總刑期被扣減36.5%(包括因為認罪而扣減的)。這會將量刑基準減至13年11個月監禁。(見第63、212段)
     
  • (按上訴法庭副庭長麥機智所言)應否因為被告人向有關當局提供資料或協助而扣減刑期,取決於提供的協助是否「實際有用」(of practical use)。正如終審法庭在Z v HKSAR案所說明,「實際有用」的意思顯然包含「有可能協助或實際上協助了有關當局」的那一類資料(引用Z v HKSAR (2007) 10 HKCFAR 183第13段)。(見第77、81段)
     
  • (按上訴法庭副庭長麥機智所言)要是有關當局認為資料實際上沒有幫助或沒有可能有幫助,那麼,除非有關文件清楚提出另一種說法,否則問題通常到此告一段落。法庭不可就該決定的說服力和有效性展開查問。(見第85段)
     
  • (上訴法庭副庭長麥機智贊同)儘管被告人參與胡頌恆神父的計劃一事,較適宜由行政當局負責評估其價值,但法官可在其酌情權範圍內額外扣減少量刑期。原審法官有權給被告人扣減三個月,這是在類似情況下最多能夠給被告人扣減的刑期。結果,原本判處的13年8個月監禁是恰當的。(見第66-68、91段)

(按上訴法庭法官麥偉德所言,不認同)

評定提供的協助

  • (附帶意見)有關當局評定被告人的協助沒有實際價值但被告人對此有異議之時,也就是問題產生的時候。凡被告人因為自己提供過協助而堅持要求獲得減刑,就應該利用Sivan程序,即使事情無需要保密亦然。為了進一步降低發生爭議的風險,檢控人員應對有關當局的意見承擔責任(採用R v Sivan (1988) 10 Cr App R (S) 282)。(見第202-209段)
     
  • 考慮就被告人向胡頌恆神父的計劃提供協助而扣減刑期之前,法官應先決定自己能否肯定被告人對計劃作出的貢獻是富有意義的。如果時候尚早所以不能這麼肯定,他應將任何關於扣減刑期的事情交由行政當局在之後時間評計。就被告人提供的協助而評計扣減的刑期時所要考慮的因素包括:被告人的參與所屬性質和程度;參與一事可會令他或他在原居地的家人承受損害風險;以及香港從被告人參與的計劃所得的好處。扣減的刑期最少應為6個月,在合適的情況下,最多可達一年。被告人認罪,刑期被扣減36.5%,他努力協助有關當局,被多扣減6個月;最後,被告人被判處13年5個月監禁。(見第222-231段)

上訴

這是一宗上訴案。上訴人不服原訟法庭法官李瀚良因為他販運危險藥物而判處的刑罰,提出上訴。案情已在判決書詳細列出。

Jurisdictions: 

Thomson Reuters – Sweet & Maxwell are the publishers of the Authorised Hong Kong Law Reports & Digest ("HKLRD") and the Authorised Hong Kong Court of Final Appeal Reports ("HKCFAR"), and providers of Westlaw HK (www.sweetandmaxwell.com.hk / www.westlaw.com.hk).

HKSAR v Kilima Abubakar Abbas

HKSAR v Kilima Abubakar Abbas
[2018] 5 HKLRD 88Court of Appeal
Criminal Appeal No 143 of 2016
Lunn and Macrae V-PP and McWalters JA
18 September 2018

Criminal sentencing - dangerous drugs - trafficking - mitigating factors - whether being courier by itself warranted reduction in sentence - whether sentencing guidelines for drug offences issued in England and Wales to be followed in Hong Kong - assistance by defendant to authorities and participation in Father Wotherspoon's anti-drug campaign - approach to discount in sentence

Criminal sentencing - discount and mitigation - assistance to authorities - meaning of assistance "of practical use"

D, a Tanzanian national, pleaded guilty to unlawfully trafficking in dangerous drugs, namely 718 g of cocaine, into Hong Kong. The Judge took a starting point of 21 years' imprisonment, which he enhanced by one year's imprisonment to reflect the international element of the offence, and gave a one-third discount from the enhanced starting point to reflect the plea. D sought leave to appeal against the sentence of 13 years and 8 months' imprisonment, arguing that: (a) the Judge had erred in sentencing him on the basis that he had trafficked unlawfully in 780 g instead of 718 g of cocaine; (b) the sentence was wrong in principle because it ought to have been reduced by reason of his role as a courier, and the law as laid down in HKSAR v Leung Kwai Ping (No 2) [2003] 2 HKC 575, and subsequent cases concerning the role of couriers in drug trafficking, was wrong or ought not to be followed; and (c) the Court ought to consider D's personal circumstances and post-arrest conduct including his attempt to assist the authorities and his participation in Father Wotherspoon's campaign.

Held, granting the application for leave to appeal against sentence but dismissing the appeal by a majority (McWalters JA dissenting as to sentence), that: (Per Lunn and Macrae V-PP, McWalters JA agreeing)

Weight of drugs

  • The Judge had obviously erred in sentencing D based on his trafficking in 780 g instead of 718 g of cocaine. The arithmetically calculated starting point for sentencing ought to have been 20 years and 7 months, and the enhancement of sentence to reflect the international element ought to have been 1 year and 5 months. Notwithstanding the Judge's errors in calculating the enhanced starting point for sentence, he was correct in stipulating it to be 22 years' imprisonment. (See paras.55, 93, 143.)

Role as courier

  • The effect of the tariffs stipulated in R v Lau Tak Ming [1990] 2 HKLR 370, which had been adopted in respect of cocaine in Attorney General v Pedro Nel Rojas [1994] 2 HKCLR 69 and extended for large quantities of both heroin and cocaine in HKSAR v Abdallah[2009] 2 HKLRD 437, was that the tariffs were set for a defendant who was involved at the lowest level, namely as a courier or storekeeper. No regard was to be had to distinctions in the role of a courier or a storekeeper as a factor in mitigation reducing the tariff sentence. A courier whose commission of the offence involved factors of aggravation, including those identified in HKSAR v Abdallah, was liable to have the sentence arrived at by application of the tariff enhanced (HKSAR v Abdallah [2009] 2 HKLRD 437 followed; R v Lau Tak Ming [1990] 2 HKLR 370, R v Leung Kim Wah (CACC 442/1992, 6 July 1993), HKSAR v Manalo [2001] 1 HKLRD 557, HKSAR v Leung Kwai Ping (No 2) [2003] 2 HKC 575 applied). (See paras.46, 73, 144-146.)
     
  • By successive judgments of this Court over the years, it was plain that the Court had intended the tariffs set out in R v Lau Tak Mingto apply to a courier or storekeeper. Unlike the development of a stepped approach in England and Wales, which required the sentencing judge to determine the offender's culpability and the harm caused by reference to a series of tables, the guidelines in this jurisdiction were based on the quantity of the dangerous drug concerned, and were intended to apply to those least involved in the hierarchy of trafficking (R v Lau Tak Ming [1990] 2 HKLR 370 applied). (See paras.54, 73-76, 147-148.)
     
  • (Per McWalters JA) (Obiter ) Whilst it was clear that on the present state of the law, the tariffs were applicable to a courier or storekeeper, it was a matter of concern that the current sentencing regime for drug trafficking, as reflected by the upward revision of the guidelines in Abdallah, might not enable courts to adequately distinguish the culpability of the courier from that of the organiser (HKSAR v Abdallah [2009] 2 HKLRD 437 considered.) (See paras.45, 144-148.)
     
  • (Per McWalters JA) The sentencing principles applicable to joint enterprise crimes provided the correct legal rationale for not usually distinguishing between those involved in drug trafficking by reason of the particular role they played. However, there should be room for the exercise of sentencing discretion - limited to how the offender came to be involved in the offence and what he did in furtherance of it - to impose a more individualised sentence in appropriate circumstances. (See paras.165-171.)

(Per Lunn V-P)

Provision of information to authorities and participation in a programme to discourage drug trafficking

  • (McWalters JA agreeing) The appropriate mechanism by which D's assistance to the authorities ought to have been reflected in sentencing was by way of a total sentencing discount of 36.5% including his plea of guilty. This would reduce the starting point to 13 years and 11 months' imprisonment. (See paras.63, 212.)
     
  • (Per Macrae V-P) Whether a discount in sentence should be awarded for information or assistance given by a defendant to the authorities depended on whether the assistance was "of practical use". The term "of practical use" clearly encompassed the type of information which "could potentially assist or had actually assisted the authorities", as described by the Court of Final Appeal in Z v HKSAR (Z v HKSAR (2007) 10 HKCFAR 183 at [13] applied). (See paras.77, 81.)
     
  • (Per Macrae V-P) If the authority concerned formed the view that the information was of no actual or potential assistance, then, unless the papers clearly suggested otherwise, that should normally be the end of the matter. It was not for the courts to embark on an enquiry as to the cogency and validity of that decision. (See para.85.)
     
  • (Macrae V-P agreeing) Although the Executive was better placed to evaluate the value of a defendant's participation in Father Wotherspoon's campaign, it lay within the judge's discretion to afford a small additional sentencing discount. The Judge was entitled to give D a discount of 3 months, which was the maximum discount to be afforded to a defendant in similar circumstances. In the result, the original sentence of 13 years and 8 months' imprisonment was appropriate. (See paras.66-68, 91.)

(Per McWalters JA, dissenting)

Assessment of the assistance provided

  • (Obiter ) A problem arose when the authority concerned assessed the assistance as being of no practical value and the defendant disputed this. Where the defendant persisted in seeking a discount for his assistance then the Sivan procedure should be employed, even if there was no need for confidentiality. To further reduce the risk of disputes occurring, the prosecutor should assume responsibility for the view taken by the authority (R v Sivan (1988) 10 Cr App R (S) 282 adopted). (See paras.202-209.)
     
  • A judge considering a sentencing discount for a defendant's assistance to Father Wotherspoon's campaign should first decide whether he could confidently form the view that the defendant had contributed meaningfully to the campaign. If it was too early to form such a view he should leave any sentencing discount to be subsequently assessed by the Executive. Factors to be taken into account in assessing the discount for assistance provided included: the nature and extent of the defendant's participation; whether that participation had exposed him, or members of his family in his home country, to any risk of harm; and the benefit that had flowed to Hong Kong from that campaign. The minimum discount should be one of 6 months which, in appropriate circumstances, could be increased up to 1 year. D's sentence, discounted by 36.5% for his plea of guilty and his efforts to assist the authorities, should be further reduced by 6 months resulting in a final sentence of 13 years and 5 months' imprisonment. (See paras.222-231.)

Appeal

This was an appeal against sentence for trafficking in dangerous drugs imposed by Patrick Li J in the Court of First Instance. The facts are set out in the judgment.

Jurisdictions: 

Thomson Reuters – Sweet & Maxwell are the publishers of the Authorised Hong Kong Law Reports & Digest ("HKLRD") and the Authorised Hong Kong Court of Final Appeal Reports ("HKCFAR"), and providers of Westlaw HK (www.sweetandmaxwell.com.hk / www.westlaw.com.hk).