HKSAR v Lai Chee Ying (黎智英)

終審法院首席法官張舉能;常任法官李義、霍兆剛;非常任法官陳兆愷、司徒敬
終院刑事上訴2021年第1號
2021年2月1日、9日

案情

2020年6月30日,全國人民代表大會常務委員會(全國人大常委會)根據《基本法》第18(2)及(3)條(《基本法》第18條)的規定,將《中華人民共和國香港特別行政區維護國家安全法》(《國安法》)加入《基本法》附件三的法律清單,並透過由香港特別行政區(香港特區)頒佈而於本地實施。香港特區行政長官於同一日正式頒佈《國安法》。

《國安法》是全國人民代表大會(全國人大)及全國人大常委會於作出連串解釋及決定後產生,當中關注到香港特區於2019年出現長時間社會動亂,以及對中央人民政府及香港特區的管治權威作出挑戰,而香港特區並未能根據《基本法》第23條立法。有鑑於此,乃在全國性層面提出採取“維護國家安全”的步驟,並列舉若干實行該等提議的原則。

2020年12月12日,X被控一項“勾結外國或者境外勢力危害國家安全”罪,違反《國安法》第29(4)條。X被裁判法院拒絕保釋,但在覆核過程中獲批准在符合若干條件及保證的情況下予以保釋。

控方獲批予許可就《國安法》第42(2)條的正確解釋向終審法院提出上訴,該條規定“對犯罪嫌疑人、被告人,除非法官有充足理由相信其不會繼續實施危害國家安全行為的,不得准予保釋”。

裁決:一致裁定控方上訴得直,撤銷給予X保釋的決定,理由如下:

1) 鑒於《國安法》作為根據《基本法》第18條實施的全國性法律所享有的特殊地位,以及《國安法》第1條對該程序的明確提述,在考慮其情況及目的時,在全國人大及全國人大常委會的程序中就《國安法》的頒佈所作的解釋及決定乃屬相關(Director of Immigration v Chong Fung Yuen (2001) 4 HKCFAR 211一案被考慮)。(參看第11段)

2) 在審視上述外部資料後,《國安法》的頒佈(它是經由全國人大決定而產生,經由全國人大常委會制定,並列入《基本法》第三附件中)是依據《基本法》第18條進行,它的根據是國家安全不屬香港特區的自治範圍,是屬於中央的權限,中央人民政府對於與香港特區有關的國家安全事務負有根本責任。香港法院並無司法管轄權以任何與憲法不符的聲稱作為理由,覆核全國人大及及全國人大常委會促致《國安法》頒佈的立法行為,亦因此,法院並沒有權力以不符《基本法》或《香港人權法案》作為理由,裁定《國安法》的任何條文違憲或無效 (Ng Ka Ling v Director of Immigration (No 2) (1999) 2 HKCFAR 141一案適用)。(參看第32, 37, 42, 70(a)段)

3) 然而,這並非說人權、自由及法治等價值不適用。相反,《國安法》第4及第5條(反映向全國人大及全國人大常委會所作的陳述)強調在維護國家安全的同時,亦保障及尊重人權和遵守法治等價值,而它對於《國安法》的解釋至關重要。《國安法》第42(2)條是旨在與憲法權利、自由及其他適用法律規範等一起實施(包括保釋規定),以作為一個連貫整體的一部分,並受《國安法》第42(2)條所產生的任何特定變更所規限(Comilang Milagros Tecson v Director of Immigration (2019) 22 HKCFAR 59一案適用)。(參看第40–42, 45–47, 51, 70(c)段)

4) 《國安法》第42(2)條(在相關範圍內引用現行保釋機制之規定和原則)引發了與保釋制度不同的特殊例外情況,並訂立了新的及更為嚴格的保釋門檻要求,規定“除非法官有充足理由相信被告人不會繼續實施危害國家安全的行為”,否則不得准予保釋(Tong Ying Kit v HKSAR [2020] 4 HKLRD 382;HKSAR v Tong Ying Kit [2020] 4 HKLRD 416 等案被推翻):(參看第53–54, 70(b), 70(e), 74–75段)

    (i) “繼續”不得被解讀為隱含被告人有罪。(參看第53(c)(i)段)

    (ii) “危害國家安全行為”指性質屬於可以構成在《國安法》或香港特區的維護國家安全法例下構成罪行的行為。(參看第53(c)(ii), 70(d)(ii)段)

    (iii) 控方不須承擔與“充足理由”要求有關的舉證責任;該問題(有如在保釋方面)有賴法院作出評估和判斷(R (McCann) v Crown Court at Manchester [2003] 1 AC 787;R v Lichniak [2003] 1 AC 903;R (O) v Crown Court at Harrow [2007] 1 AC 249 等案適用)。(參看第67–68, 70(d)(iii)段)

    (iv) 在回答“充足理由”的問題時,基於一般保釋機制對《國安法》的適用性,原審法官應考慮與被告人在等待審訊期間的可能行為有關的事宜,例如訂立確保被告人在獲得批准保釋時不會實施危害國家安全行為的可能保釋條件,以及所提控的國家安全罪行之性質和嚴重性。(參看第57–63, 70(d)(i)段)

5) 在考慮所有相關資料後(包括可能施加的保釋條件),原審法官若有充足理由相信被告人不會繼續干犯危害國家安全的罪行,接下來便應運用有利於批准保釋的推定,考慮所有其他與批准或拒絕保釋有關的事宜。(參看第70(f)段)

6) 原審法官在批准給予X保釋時,略去了《國安法》第42(2)條中與《刑事訴訟程序條例》(第221章)第9G條下的酌情考慮因素有關的問題。這是錯誤理解《國安法》第42(2)條所訂立的門檻要求之性質和作用。(參看第71, 78–80段)

編者按:另見 [2021] HKCFI 448、[2021] HKEC 554等案,關於答辯人向原訟法庭申請覆核總裁判官拒絕批准保釋的其後裁決理由。]

Jurisdictions

HKSAR v Lai Chee Ying (黎智英)

Cheung CJ, Ribeiro and Fok PJJ, Chan and Stock NPJJ
Final Appeal No 1 of 2021 (Criminal)
1, 9 February 2021

Facts

On 30 June 2020, the National People’s Congress Standing Committee (the NPCSC) added the “Law of the People’s Republic of China on Safeguarding National Security in the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region” (the NSL) to the list of laws in Annex III of the Basic Law (the BL) to be applied locally by way of promulgation by the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (the HKSAR) pursuant to art.18(2) and (3) of the BL (BL 18). The NSL was duly promulgated by the Chief Executive of the HKSAR on the same date.

The NSL was the product of a series of Explanations and Decisions given in or made by the National People’s Congress (the NPC) and the NPCSC, which variously noted concerns with respect to prolonged public order disturbances and challenges to the authority of the Central People’s Government and the HKSAR in 2019, and that the HKSAR had failed to enact legislation in accordance with art.23 of the BL, and in consideration thereof proposed steps to be taken at the national level to inter alia “safeguard national security”, identifying certain principles said to underlie those proposals.

On 12 December 2020, X was charged with one count of “collusion with a foreign country or with external elements to endanger national security”, contrary to art.29(4) of the NSL. X was refused bail in the Magistrates’ Court, but granted bail on review, subject to a number of conditions and undertakings.

The prosecution was granted leave to appeal to the Court of Final Appeal on the question of the correct interpretation of art.42(2) of the NSL (NSL 42(2)), which provides that “[n]o bail shall be granted to a criminal suspect or defendant unless the judge has sufficient grounds for believing that the criminal suspect or defendant will not continue to commit acts endangering national security”.

Held, unanimously allowing the prosecution’s appeal, setting aside the decision to grant bail to X, that:

1) Given the special status of the NSL as a national law applied under BL 18, as well as the express reference in art.1 of the NSL to that process, Explanations and Decisions made in proceedings of the NPC and NPCSC regarding the promulgation of the NSL were relevant to the consideration of its context and purpose (Director of Immigration v Chong Fung Yuen (2001) 4 HKCFAR 211 considered). (See para.11.)

2) Having regard to the foregoing extrinsic materials, promulgation of the NSL, being the product of a Decision of the NPC, and the NPCSC’s formulation and listing of the NSL in Annex III of the BL, was done in accordance with BL 18 on the basis that national security was outside the limits of the HKSAR’s autonomy and within the purview of the Central Authorities, the Central People’s Government having an overarching responsibility for national security affairs relating to the HKSAR. There was no jurisdiction in the courts of Hong Kong to review the legislative acts of the NPC and NPCSC leading to the promulgation of the NSL on the basis of any alleged constitutional incompatibility and, accordingly, the court had no power to hold any provision of the NSL unconstitutional or invalid as incompatible with the BL or the Hong Kong Bill of Rights (Ng Ka Ling v Director of Immigration (No 2) (1999) 2 HKCFAR 141 applied). (See paras.32, 37, 42, 70(a).)

3) However, that was not to say that human rights, freedoms and rule of law values were inapplicable. On the contrary, arts.4 and 5 of the NSL, reflecting presentations to the NPC and NPCSC, which emphasise protection and respect for human rights and adherence to rule of law values while safeguarding national security, are centrally important to the interpretation of the NSL. NSL 42(2) was intended to operate in tandem with constitutional rights, freedoms and other applicable statutory norms, including the rules governing bail in general, as part of a coherent whole, subject to any specific changes effected by NSL 42(2) (Comilang Milagros Tecson v Director of Immigration (2019) 22 HKCFAR 59 applied). (See paras.40–42, 45–47, 51, 70(c).)

4) NSL 42(2), drawing on the rules and principles of the existing bail regime insofar as they may be relevant, carves out a specific exception from the bail regime and introduces a new and more stringent threshold requirement for the grant of bail, that no bail shall be granted “unless the judge has sufficient grounds for believing that the accused will not continue to commit acts endangering national security” (Tong Ying Kit v HKSAR [2020] 4 HKLRD 382, HKSAR v Tong Ying Kit [2020] 4 HKLRD 416 overruled): (See paras.53–54, 70(b), 70(e), 74–75.)

    (i) “continue” was not to be read as implying the guilt of the accused. (See para.53(c)(i).)

    (ii) “acts endangering national security” referred to acts of that nature capable of constituting an offence under the NSL or the laws of the HKSAR safeguarding national security. (See paras.53(c)(ii), 70(d)(ii).)

    (iii) there was no burden of proof on the prosecution in relation to the “sufficient grounds” requirement; the question, as with bail generally, was a matter for the court’s evaluation and judgment (R (McCann) v Crown Court at Manchester [2003] 1 AC 787, R v Lichniak [2003] 1 AC 903, R (O) v Crown Court at Harrow [2007] 1 AC 249 applied). (See paras.67–68, 70(d)(iii).)

    (iv) when answering the “sufficient grounds” question, given the applicability of the general bail regime to the NSL, the judge should consider matters which might have a bearing on the accused’s likely conduct pending trial, such as possible bail conditions fashioned with a view to securing that the accused would not commit acts endangering national security if granted bail and the nature and seriousness of the national security offence charged. (See paras.57–63, 70(d)(i).)

5) If, having taken into account all relevant material, including the possible imposition of bail conditions, the judge had sufficient grounds to believe that the accused would not continue to commit offences endangering national security, the court should proceed to consider all other matters relevant to the grant or refusal of bail, applying the presumption in favour of bail. (See para.70(f).)

6) In granting bail to X, the Judge elided the NSL 42(2) question with discretionary considerations under s.9G of the Criminal Procedure Ordinance (Cap.221). This misapprehended the nature and effect of the threshold requirement created by NSL 42(2). (See paras.71, 78–80.)

Editorial Note: See also [2021] HKCFI 448, [2021] HKEC 554 for a subsequent Reasons for Decision concerning the respondent’s application to the Court of First Instance to review the Chief Magistrate’s refusal to grant bail.

Jurisdictions