HKSAR v Lam Kai Man
上訴法庭
終審法院刑事上訴案 2019 年第 6 號
主審法官: 麥機智副庭長、麥偉德法官、薛偉成法官
2020 年 7 月 9 日

引言

這宗最近的案件訂明了被告人應怎樣做才能為提早承認的較輕微罪行或替代性控罪爭取適當的減刑。

背景

上訴人因一項强姦罪被押交高等法院審判。審判原定為13天。在押交程序之前,上訴人的律師曾三次接觸控方,提出對强姦罪的替代性控罪的承認。控方拒絕了所有的要求。所有的通信都是雙方之間的,沒有正式的法庭記錄。在原定的審判第四天,法官獲告知有可能達成控辯交易,上訴人對修訂後的起訴書表示認罪,即對「以威脅手段促使非法性行為」的替代性指控表示認罪。原審法官採用了六年半監禁的量刑起點,並因上訴人的遲認罪而只減刑20%多一點。上訴人隨後對其判決提出上訴,理由是他被錯誤地剝奪了因認罪而獲得的全部三分之一的減刑。

上訴

在上訴中,問題是:如果被告先前向控方提出對較輕或替代性指控認罪,但被控方拒絕,後來又因該較輕或替代性指控而被定罪,或控方後來接受了被告的認罪,那麽被告應如何做才能為先前提出的認罪請求獲得適當的減刑。法院指出,認罪的實用價值是符合公衆利益的。澳大利亞高等法院在 Cameron v R 一 案中的裁決被引用來解釋 :認罪「 可以為社會節省審訊的費用和減少不便 」 ,包括司法機構、控方、提供法律援助的費用、傳召證人或陪審員的費用,及其他所付費用;特別是在謀殺和性罪行中,受害人或受害人的親友在準備作證時所面對的 壓力。上訴法院繼而研究了其他司法管轄區的情況。英格蘭及威爾斯的情況並不適用於香 港 ,因為它受法定制度規管。麥機智副庭長在作出判決時,讚許地引述了蘇格蘭的Spence v HMAdvocate (2008) JC 174一案,該案指出,為了使提早認罪者獲得減刑,「犯罪者必須毫不含糊地表明對罪犯的立場」是必須的,而「在整個訴訟過程中必須堅持該意圖,並有適當的證明」。 法院還指出,澳大利亞的立場似乎更適合於正式的書面認罪提議。不過 , 法庭強調,這類提議必須清楚明確,而法庭應該信服有充分理由不把認罪意願正式記錄在法庭記錄內。被告在此後的訴訟程序中的行為也應與該提議完全一致。

應用於本案

上訴法庭應用這些原則,認為存在正式的書面認罪提議。然而,上訴人在本可以而且應該這樣做的時候,卻沒有(在法院)登錄該認罪。法院認為,在本案中,控辯交易在審判開始前才為人所知,這一事實降低了其實用價值。到那時候,控辯雙方、控方證人和法院為準備審判所付出的大量時間和努力已經浪費了。

此外,上訴人隨後指示其律師對「同意」及受害人的可信度等問題提出質疑,這與他的認罪態度不一致。因此,該建議的實用價值已大大降低,而他只可就其認罪行為獲得25%的減刑。

為香港訂定的原則

總括而言,上訴法院就被告人提早承認其提出的較輕罪行或其他替代性控罪 (而這些認罪與 陪審團的最終裁決相符或其後被控方接納)釐定了下列原則,以補充Ngo Van Nam 案的原則之不足:

  1. 被告應親自或通過其法律代表,在法庭上和記錄上清楚無誤地陳述其立場,並透過在法庭記錄上的正式登錄,對所提議的指控認罪,以表明他希望對較輕的或替代性的指控認罪。
  2. 在餘下的訴訟程序中,辯護人的行為必須堅持他所表明的立場,以便根據先前的認罪提議作出適當的量刑評估。
  3. 如果法院能信納有充分的理由不在法院記錄中正式登錄認罪,則仍可考慮那個以正式書面形式提出的明確和毫不含糊的認罪提議。尋求減刑的被告人有責任表明該項認罪提議是以清楚明確的詞語提出,並表明認罪的緣由,而且在餘下的訴訟程序中,被告人一直堅持這個立場。

減刑的程度將取決於所提議的認罪在哪一階段清楚而明確地登錄在法庭記錄中,但須符合法官的最高酌情權及Ngo Van Nam案中規定的原則。

註:上訴法庭在上訴聆訊中表示了臨時意見,認為原審法官的量刑起點完全不足,而在審訊後假想判處8年監禁才是正確的加重量刑起點。換句話說,如果上訴人被認定有權獲得三分之一的減刑,那麽由此產生的刑期將高於他目前的刑期。如果採納這一觀點,上訴人的上訴將是多餘的。面對這些司法意見,上訴人撤回了對判刑的上訴。

麥樂賢•周綽瑩•司徒悅律師行

Jurisdictions:

HKSAR v Lam Kai Man
Court of Appeal
Coram: Hon Macrae VP, McWalters JA and Zervos JA in Court
9 July 2020

Introduction

This recent case laid down the principles on what a defendant should do in order to secure an appropriate discount for early pleas to lesser offences or alternative charges.

Background

The Appellant was committed to the High Court for trial in respect of a single count of rape. The trial was originally fixed for 13 days. Before committal proceedings, there were three approaches from the Appellant’s solicitor to the prosecution offering a plea to an alternative charge to rape. The prosecution rejected all approaches. All of the correspondence was between the parties without a formal record in court. On the day originally scheduled to have been the fourth day of trial, the judge was apprised of a possible plea-bargain and the Appellant pleaded guilty to an amended indictment with the alternative charge of procurement of an unlawful sexual act by threat. The trial judge adopted a starting point of 6 1/2 years’ imprisonment and reduced it by just over 20% for the Appellant’s late plea. The Appellant then sought to appeal against his sentence on the ground that he had been wrongly deprived of the full one-third discount for his guilty plea.

The Appeal

On appeal, the issue was this: in the situation where a defendant has previously offered to the prosecution to plead guilty to a lesser or alternative charge, which was then rejected by the prosecution and was later convicted on that lesser or alternative charge, or the plea was later accepted by the prosecution, what is a defendant expected to do in order to obtain an appropriate discount for that earlier offer of a guilty plea. The Court noted that the utilitarian value of a guilty plea is in the public interest. The High Court of Australia decision of Cameron v R was cited in explaining a guilty plea “saves the community the cost and inconvenience of the trial”, including costs for the judiciary, prosecution, supply of legal aid, fees paid, any witnesses or jurors summoned, and specifically in murder and sexual offences, the pressure faced by the victim or the victim’s family and friends in preparing to give evidence. The Court of Appeal then considered the position in other jurisdictions. The position in England and Wales was not applicable to Hong Kong as it is governed by a statutory regime. In giving the judgement of the Court, Macrae VP cited with approval the Scottish case of Spence v HM Advocate (2008) JC 174, which states that in order to secure a discount for an early plea “an unequivocal indication of the position of the offender” is required, and “that intention must be adhered to throughout the proceedings and be appropriately vouched”. The Court also noted the position in Australia might seem more amenable to formal written offers to plead guilty. However it was emphasized that such offers must be clear and unequivocal, and the court should be persuaded that there was a good reason for the plea not being formally entered on the court record. The defendant’s conduct in the proceedings thereafter should also be entirely consistent with the proposed offer.

Application to the present case

Applying these principles, the Court of Appeal held that there was a formal written offer to plead guilty. However, the Appellant did not enter such plea when he could and should have done so. The Court considered that in the current case, the fact that the plea-bargaining was not known until the trial began reduced its utilitarian value. By that time, considerable time and effort by both parties, the prosecution witnesses and the Court to prepare the trial had already been wasted.

Further, the Appellant’s subsequent conduct of instructing his counsel to contest the issue of consent and the credibility of victim was inconsistent with his plea. The utilitarian value of the offer was therefore significantly reduced and he was only entitled to a 25% discount for his plea.

Principles laid down for Hong Kong

In conclusion, the Court of Appeal laid down the following principles to supplement those in Ngo Van Nam regarding early pleas of guilty to lesser offences or alternative charges offered by a defendant, which pleas either match the eventual verdict of the jury or are later accepted by the prosecution:

  1. The defendant should make a clear and unequivocal statement of his position either by himself or through his legal representative, in court and on the record of his wish to plead guilty to a lesser or alternative charge by formally entering a plea to the proposed charge on the court record.
  2. The conduct of the defence must adhere to his stated position for the remainder of the proceedings in order to be assessed for the appropriate sentencing account as a result of the earlier offer of plea.
  3. Clear and unequivocal offers of pleas in formal writing may still be considered if the court can be satisfied that there was good reason for the plea not being formally entered on the court record. The onus will be upon the defendant seeking the discount to show that the offer of plea was in clear and unequivocal terms and the basis for the plea; and such position had been adhered to for the remainder of the proceedings.

The extent of the discount will depend on the stage at which the proposed plea is clearly and unequivocally entered on the court record, subject to the overriding discretion of the judge and the principles set out in Ngo Van Nam

Note: At the appeal hearing, the Court of Appeal expressed the provisional view that the trial judge’s starting point was wholly inadequate, and that a notional sentence after trial of 8 years’ imprisonment would be the correct enhanced starting point. In other words, if the Appellant was found to be entitled to a one-third discount, the resulting sentence would have been higher than the one he was currently serving. If this view was adopted, the Appellant’s appeal would be redundant. In the face of these judicial comments, the Appellant withdrew his appeal against sentence.

Morley Chow Seto

Jurisdictions: