Lau Hak Shing v Chan Kwok Hung
區域法院
民事訴訟案件2015年第3758號
區域法院法官徐韻華內庭聆訊
2018年1月26日、10月24日、11月26日

民事訴訟程序 — 剔除 — 為了將土地財產的轉讓作廢而根據《物業轉易及財產條例》(第219章)第60條提出的訴訟 — 申索應否被剔除 — 作訴可夠充足 — 原告人是否因為法定時限屆滿而不可提出訴訟

第一和第二被告人曾經是夫妻,二人聯名擁有婚姻居所(「該物業」)。第一被告人在1997年開展離婚法律程序,他根據家事法庭一份日期為1998年7月15日的命令(「該命令」),在無產權負擔的情況下將他在該物業的權益,即該物業的一半權益,轉讓給第二被告人(「該轉讓」)。轉讓書日期為1999年8月27日。由於第一被告人拖欠原告人一筆債項(「該債項」),原告人在2003年8月18日取得判第一被告人敗訴的最終判決,第一被告人須支付大約$366,000連利息(「裁決款項」),但第一被告人一直沒有支付裁決款項。原告人聲稱自己不久發現第一被告人當時正將他的資產轉讓或耗散,以阻撓原告人提出任何追討訴訟。2015年8月15日,即該物業被轉讓16年多之後,是次訟訟的原告人針對第一及第二被告人發出令狀,要求法庭宣告該轉讓違反《物業轉易及財產條例》(第219章)第60條的產權處置,因此無效;此外,原告人要求或交替地要求法庭命令將該轉讓作廢;以及要求命令用第一被告人在該物業的權益作抵押及將該權益賣掉。原告人指稱第一被告人和第二被告人離婚是騙人的,第一被告人主動提出離婚時是知道自己拖欠原告人一筆巨債的;該物業是第一被告人最值錢的資產,而第一被告人執行該轉讓是使自己無法償還判定債項,企圖詐騙債權人。第二被告人根據《區域法院規則》(第336H章,附屬法例)第18號命令第19條規則,申請(其中包括)剔除原告人的申索陳述書;他辯稱(其中包括):(a)在申索陳述書要求的只是將該轉讓作廢,不是將該命令作廢,該命令依然有效,因此法庭無權將該轉讓作廢(「理由一」);(b)原告人沒有作訴指第二被告人與第一被告人串謀使原告人得不到裁決款額,因此他最多只可就該物業的「明知接收」,向第二被告人提出申索,但由於《時效條例》(第347章)第20(2)條規定的六年期限,第二被告人可以上作出十足的抗辯(「理由二」);(c)原告人沒有充分作訴指出,第一被告人懷有所需意圖以詐騙債權人或不誠實(「理由三」);及(d)基於該轉讓是在1999年執行,而第二被告人是在2016年,即超過16年之後,才收到令狀,原告人的申索已是陳年舊事(「理由五」)。首先處理的爭議是,根據《物業轉易及財產條例》第60條,區域法院可有司法官轄權聆訊申索及就申索作出裁定。

裁決 –駁回要求剔除申索陳述書的申請:

司法管轄權

1)由於土地權益的所有權受到質疑及土地價值在當前訂明旳金額限制範圍內,《區域法院條例》(第336章)第36條賦予區域法院聆訊這宗訴訟的司法管轄權(應用Ng Cho Chu v Chan Wing Hung [2017] 4 HKLRD 396)。(見第16–17段)

剔除

2)理由一不被接納。從邏輯上說,如果要根據第60條宣布該轉讓無效,該命令必定需要被撤銷。原告人申請撤銷該命令所會依據的事實已在關於該轉讓的作訴提出過。因此不會有新的訴因,而即使他申請修改申索陳述書的許可,也不會有法定時限屆滿的問題。原告人沒有迫切需要在他的狀辭中明確要求撤銷該命令。(見第45、48–51段)

3)理由二亦不成立。原告人當時援引《物業轉易及財產條例》第60條所指他作為債權人可以行使的權利,以確使自己取得裁決款額。由於申索的標的事項,即該物業的一半權益,已轉讓給第二被告人,因此加入第二被告人成為必要的一方。原告人不是堅稱在該物業的一半權益有任何所有權益或實益權益。只要相關債項存在下去,債權人就可以根據第60條申請將物業的處置作廢。根據第60條提出的申請不另設法定時限。在這宗案,令狀發出之時,裁定款額仍然存在,而訴訟是在時限提出的(應用Re Maddever (1884) 27 Ch D 523)。(見第53–56段)

4)理由三在法律上站不住腳。作訴的事實構成兩項可辯證成立的理據,一是第一被告人在該命令作出之時無力償債,一是轉讓不涉及代價,因而原告人可以Freeman v Pope案訂立的規則為依據,辯證第一被告人懷有詐騙他人所需要的意圖。這些問題有待審訊解決(應用Freeman v Pope (1869-70) LR 5 Ch App 538、Tradepower (Holdings) Ltd v Tradepower (HK) Ltd (2009) 12 HKCFAR 417)。(見第67–74、93段)

5)在任何情況下,即使根據第60條提出的申索不在Freeman v Pope案所訂規則範圍之內,有關第60條所需意圖的作訴是充足的。這種情況有需要按「更廣泛的定義」理解何謂所需意圖,從證據推斷出財產處置人確實有詐騙意圖。以債務人和債權人的關係作為背景,要得出這個推斷,財產處置人必須是有意圖不誠實的,有否確實欺騙他人並不重要。動機是不相關的,法庭關注的是處置產權的客觀後果,以及對債權人的影響。案中第二被告人錯在將焦點放在第一被告人的動機之上。原告人已經明確地作訴指出處置該物業對債權人產生的客觀影響,以及第一被告人是知道處置該物業會阻礙或拖延原告人動用第一被告人的資產清償該債項的(應用Lloyds Bank Ltd v Marcan [1973] 1 WLR 339、Skink Ltd v Comtowell Ltd [1994] 2 HKC 286、Tradepower (Holdings) Ltd v Tradepower (HK) Ltd (2009) 12 HKCFAR 417、Regal Castings Ltd v Lightbody [2009] 2 NZLR 433、New China Hong Kong Group Ltd v Ng Kwai Kai Kenneth (HCA 519/2010,[2011] HKEC 210))。(見第75–95段)

6)理由五同樣不被接納。由於該命令和該轉讓應該在同一時間作廢,爭議點是應否引用《時效條例》第4(4)條,從而規定該命令只有在12年時效期之內才可作廢。不過現階段無需要就這爭議點作出裁決。即使與原告人的陳詞相反,第4(4)條的確禁止原告人申請將該命令作廢,但因為他作供指自己在2013年8月尾才發現第一被告人的欺詐行為,所以有可辯證成立的理據,要求法庭根據第26(1)條將時限延長。如果真是這樣,時限只會由發現欺詐行為之時開始計算,因而在2015年8月15日令狀發出的時候還未屆滿。關鍵問題是,如果原告人盡了合理的努力,他能否在1998年7月(該命令作出之時)到2003年8月期間發現該命令。這需要仔細查訊理清案情,而在這個非正審階段,問題只可以在審訊時解決,單靠誓詞證據是不可能的。(見第102–113段)

申請剔除申索陳述書

這是一宗申請剔除申索陳述書的案件。第二被告人根據《區域法院規則》(第336H章,附屬法例)第18號命令第19條規則,申請剔除原告人的申索陳述書。案情已在判決書詳細列出。

Jurisdictions: 

Thomson Reuters – Sweet & Maxwell are the publishers of the Authorised Hong Kong Law Reports & Digest ("HKLRD") and the Authorised Hong Kong Court of Final Appeal Reports ("HKCFAR"), and providers of Westlaw HK (www.sweetandmaxwell.com.hk / www.westlaw.com.hk).

Lau Hak Shing v Chan Kwok Hung
District Court
Civil Action No 3758 of 2015
Judge Winnie Tsui in Chambers
26 January, 24 October, 26 November 2018

Civil procedure — striking-out — action pursuant to Conveyancing and Property Ordinance (Cap. 219) s. 60 for order setting aside assignment of real property — whether claim should be struck out — whether adequately pleaded — whether plaintiff time-barred from bringing action

D1–2 were formerly husband and wife and joint owners of the matrimonial home (the “Property”). D1 commenced divorce proceedings in 1997 and, pursuant to an order of the Family Court dated 15 July 1998, transferred his half interest in the Property to D2 free from encumbrance (the “Order”) by an assignment dated 27 August 1999 (the “Assignment”). On 18 August 2003, P obtained final judgment for approximately $366,000 with interest against D1 based on a debt (“Debt”) (the “Judgment Sum”) which remained unpaid. P claimed that shortly afterwards, he discovered that D1 had been transferring or dissipating his assets to frustrate any recovery action. Over 16 years after the Assignment, on 15 August 2015, P issued a writ in the present action against D1–2 seeking a declaration that the Assignment was void as a disposition contrary to s. 60 of the Conveyancing and Property Ordinance (Cap. 219) (“CPO”); further or alternatively, an order that the Assignment be set aside; and an order charging D1’s interest in the Property and that such interest be sold. P alleged that D1–2’s divorce was a sham, initiated by D1 knowing that he was substantially indebted to P; the Property was D1’s most significant asset and the Assignment was executed by D1 with intent to defraud creditors by making himself judgment-proof. D2 applied, inter alia, to strike out P’s statement of claim (the “S/C”) under O. 18 r. 19 of Rules of the District Court (Cap. 336H, Sub.Leg.) arguing inter alia that: (a) the S/C only sought to set aside the Assignment but not the Order which remained valid so that the Court had no power to set it aside (“Ground One”); (b) P had not pleaded that D2 had conspired with D1 to deprive P of the Judgment Sum, so that P could at most only claim against D2 for “knowing receipt” of the Property, to which D2 had a complete defence by virtue of the six-year limitation period under s. 20(2) of the Limitation Ordinance (Cap. 347) (the “LO”) (“Ground Two”); (c) P had not sufficiently pleaded the requisite intent to defraud creditors or dishonesty on D1’s part (“Ground Three”); and (d) P’s claim was stale given that the Assignment was executed in 1999 and D2 received the writ over 16 years later in 2016 (“Ground Five”). First, at issue, was whether the District Court had jurisdiction to hear and determine a claim under s. 60 of the CPO.

Held, dismissing the striking-out application, that:

Jurisdiction

1) Section 36 of the District Court Ordinance (Cap. 336) conferred jurisdiction on the District Court to hear this action, as the title to an interest in land was in question and the value of the land was within the current prescribed monetary limit (Ng Cho Chu v Chan Wing Hung [2017] 4 HKLRD 396 applied). (See paras. 16–17.)

Striking-out

2) Ground One was rejected. As a matter of logic, the Order would necessarily have to be set aside if the Assignment was to be declared void under s. 60. The facts P would rely on to set aside the Order had already been pleaded in respect of the Assignment. Thus, there would be no new cause of action and no time bar issue even if he sought leave to amend the S/C. There was no compelling need for P to expressly seek to set aside the Order in his pleadings. (See paras. 45, 48–51.)

3) Ground Two also failed. P was invoking his rights exercisable as a creditor under s. 60 of the CPO to enforce the Judgment Sum. D2 was joined as a necessary party, since the subject matter of the claim, ie the half interest in the Property, was transferred to her. P was not asserting any proprietary or beneficial interest in the Property as such. A creditor could apply under s. 60 to set aside a disposal of property so long as the underlying debt subsisted and was not itself time-barred. There was no separate time bar for the s. 60 application. Here, when the writ was issued, the Judgment Sum remained subsisting and the action was within time (Re Maddever (1884) 27 Ch D 523 applied). (See paras. 53–56.)

4) Ground Three was legally unsustainable. The facts as pleaded gave rise to an arguable case of insolvency when the Order was made and also an arguable case that there was no consideration for the transfer such that P had an arguable case of inferring the requisite intent to defraud by relying on the rule in Freeman v Pope. These were matters to be resolved at trial (Freeman v Pope (1869-70) LR 5 Ch App 538, Tradepower (Holdings) Ltd v Tradepower (HK) Ltd (2009) 12 HKCFAR 417 applied). (See paras. 67–74, 93.)

5) In any event, the requisite intent under s. 60 was sufficiently pleaded even if the claim under s. 60 fell outside the rule in Freeman v Pope. In such case, it was necessary to infer from the evidence an actual intent to defraud on the disponor’s part in a “broader sense”. This required a dishonest intention on the disponor’s part in the context of the relationship of debtor and creditor, with actual deceit not being essential. Motive was irrelevant and the court was concerned with the objective consequence of the disposal and its effect on creditors. Here, D2’s focus on D1’s motive was flawed. P had expressly pleaded the objective effect of the disposal of the Property on creditors and D1’s knowledge that it would hinder or delay P in his recourse to his assets to satisfy the Debt (Lloyds Bank Ltd v Marcan [1973] 1 WLR 339, Skink Ltd v Comtowell Ltd [1994] 2 HKC 286, Tradepower (Holdings) Ltd v Tradepower (HK) Ltd (2009) 12 HKCFAR 417, Regal Castings Ltd v Lightbody [2009] 2 NZLR 433, New China Hong Kong Group Ltd v Ng Kwai Kai Kenneth (HCA 519/2010, [2011] HKEC 210) applied). (See paras. 75–95.)

6) Ground Five was also rejected. As the Order and the Assignment should be set aside at the same time, at issue was whether s. 4(4) of the LO applied so as to impose a 12-year limitation period on the setting aside of the Order. However, it was not necessary to make a ruling on this issue at this stage. Even if, contrary to P’s submission, s. 4(4) did bar him from setting aside the Order, there was an arguable case that the limitation period should be extended under s. 26(1), because P’s evidence was that he only discovered D1’s fraud in late August 2003. If true, time would only have begun to run from then and had not yet expired when the writ was issued on 15 August 2015. The material question was whether between July 1998 (when the Order was made) and August 2003, P could with reasonable diligence have found out about the Order. This involved a fact-sensitive inquiry and could only be resolved at trial not on affirmation evidence alone at this interlocutory stage. (See paras. 102–113.)

Application

This was an application by the second defendant to strike out the plaintiff’s statement of claim under O. 18 r. 19 of Rules of the District Court (Cap. 336H, Sub.Leg.). The facts are set out in the judgment.

Jurisdictions: 

Thomson Reuters – Sweet & Maxwell are the publishers of the Authorised Hong Kong Law Reports & Digest ("HKLRD") and the Authorised Hong Kong Court of Final Appeal Reports ("HKCFAR"), and providers of Westlaw HK (www.sweetandmaxwell.com.hk / www.westlaw.com.hk).