The Legal Professional Cup Dragon Boat Race 2018

The Legal Professional Cup Dragon Boat Race (the “LPC”) is an annual dragon boat race for the legal sector hosted by the Law Society of Hong Kong.

This year, we had 11 teams of law firms and legal professional bodies taking part in this exciting sporting event representing Appleby, Deacons, the Department of Justice, DLA Piper, the Hong Kong Bar Association, King & Wood Mallesons, Mayer Brown JSM, ONC Lawyers, Reed Smith Richards Butler, Withers and of course, the Law Society.

The unstable weather and the heavy rain before the race did not dampen the enthusiasm of the teams, and the Stanley Main Beach was packed with over 300 participants!

After three qualifying rounds, the teams competed in the final rounds of the Gold Cup and the Silver Cup divisions. The teams ran neck and neck, and I am very proud that the Law Society team clinched its first-ever champion title for the Gold Cup, with Reed Smith Richards Butler claiming the winning title for the Silver Cup!

The race concluded with the usual post-race party which provided a platform for teams to gather and network in a relaxed atmostphere.

We were grateful for the presence of Council Members Mr. Nick Chan, also Chairman of the Recreation and Sports Committee, Ms Serina Chan and Mr. Warren Ganesh who supported us at the opening and award ceremonies. My gratitude also goes to the volunteers for helping out at the event.

Last but not least, without the support of the participating teams, the LPC would not be possible. We now call out to all law firms and legal professional bodies to join us at next year’s event. The more is not only the merrier but stronger the bonds in the legal community. We look forward to seeing you next year!

Reported by : Desmond Cheung

Mr. Nick Chan with captains of all participating teams.

Ms. Serina Chan and Mr. Warren Ganesh presenting the Gold Cup Champion trophy to the winning Law Society team represented by Mr. Desmond Cheung.

The Law Society team setting out to win its first champion of the LPC