LLC v LMWA
上訴法庭
上訴法庭雜項案件2018年第143 號
高等法院署理首席法官林文瀚, 高等法院原訟法庭法官朱珮瑩
2019年2月27日、3月22日

民事訴訟程序 — 訟費 — 婚姻法律程序 — 處置初步爭議點的審訊涉及第三方利益 — 申請針對訟費決定上訴的許可 — 拒絕

家事法 — 離婚 — 附屬濟助— 訟費 — 涉及第三方權益的實益擁有權糾紛 — 各方及第三方有責任參與和解談判,達成有建設性的解決方法,例如調解 — 實務指示15.10

家事訴訟程序 — 就法律費用不成比例的問題表達意見 — 執業人員急需要更加積極主動地透過有效和相稱的方法,解決糾紛 — 法庭需要採用積極主動的個案管理

法庭就有關婚姻財產實益權益的初步爭議點進行審訊,原審法官判妻子(「W」)敗訴,裁定丈夫(「H」)和他父親(「F」)是涉案財產的實益擁有人,F是涉案停車場唯一的實益擁有人。原審法官沒有就W和H之間的訟費作出訟費令,但命令W支付F的訟費的80%。H和F申請針對訟費決定提出上訴的許可,但原審法官拒絕二人的申請。H和F分別重新向上訴法庭提交申請,但申請同樣被駁回。在決定是否批准H的申請的聆訊上,上訴法庭拒絕接納H一方陳詞所指,處置初步爭議點的審訊不是婚姻法律程序一部分的講法。上訴法庭亦就個案管理的問題表達了意見,方便婚姻出現糾紛的雙方進行替代解決程序,包括把排解財務糾紛的程序擴濶,使之涵蓋涉及利害關係方的實益擁有權的糾紛。

裁決 – 拒絕批給H針對訟費決定提出上訴的許可,駁回他的訟費申請:

處置初步爭議點的審訊程序

1) 配偶與第三方之間的擁有權問題,只要是有需要裁定的,就必須依據關於財產的一般法律做決定,有很多情況應該還需要有正式的狀書,指出需要裁定的是甚麼問題。然而,對於把處置初步爭議點的審訊訂明為唯一出路,在第三方實益擁有權的問題一旦被提出時進行,上訴法庭法官是有保留的。對於訂明排解財務糾紛的程序必須押後,直到處置初步爭議點的審訊結束為止,同樣亦有保留(考慮TL v ML [2006] 1 FLR 1263、A v A[2007] 2 FLR 467、Leung Wing Yi Asther v Kwok Yu Wah (2015) 18 HKCFAR 605)。(見第21段)

2) 有些情況是,第三方在法律上是受爭議財產的擁有人或擁有人之一,有些情況則是,配偶聲稱第三方在某財產享有實益權益,而在法律上,該財產是以那名配偶的名義持有的。兩種情況是有分別的。在前一種情況,如果法庭發出所有權命令去解決擁有權的問題,第三方應當加入訴訟成為其中一方,因為受爭議財產的法定所有權會被轉讓或受到產權負擔的規限。在後一種情況,第三方應獲通知有申索提出,他或她如果決定質疑擁有權的問題,就應當申請加入訴訟成為其中一方。第三方如果不申請加入訴訟,會受到判決約束。不論爭辯擁有權問題的第三方是甚麼角色,由於附屬濟助的申請是這種爭辯的基本元素,事件的主角通常是配偶雙方。H陳詞指處置初步爭議點的審訊不是婚姻法律程序的一部分,上訴法庭法官拒絕接納他這個說法(引用Goldstone v Goldstone [2011] 1 FLR 1926)。(見第23、25–28段)

各方有責任參與和解談判,達成有建設性的解決方法

3) 婚姻或家事訴訟程序耗時太長是常有之事,訟費與家庭財富不成比例的情況也不罕見。訴訟各方及各方的顧問有積極責任參與和解談判,達成有建設性的解決方法,以及真誠地參與解決糾紛的替代程序,例如調解、排解財務糾紛及排解子女糾紛的程序。執業人員急需要懷抱更為積極主動的心態,透過有效和相稱的方法解決家庭糾紛,法庭也需要採用積極主動的方法,透過個案管理減少訴訟中多餘的部份。甚麼程序最適合用來解決糾紛,會視乎案件的情況而定(考慮KSO v MJO and MJO (PSO intervening) [2009] 1 FLR 1036)。(見第29、31、44段)

4) 為了審訊初步爭議點而採用的程序,可以是非常昂貴和耗用時間的。這宗案就是這種情況。上訴法庭不是不認同初步審訊的適用指引,但即使有這樣的指示作出,訴訟各方及第三方都應該利用更為相稱的方法,主動積極地解決擁有權糾紛。家事調解實務指示15.10有適用於法律程序中其他答辯人/介入人的規定,第2.5點是與考慮使用調解有關的。實務指示15.10第1.1–1.5段是一般指引,同樣適用於這些訴訟方(見第38、41段)

5) 訴訟一方採取不合作態度,根據《高等法院規則》(第4A章,附屬法例)第62號命令第5(2)條規則,這樣的行為舉措可以是,甚至很多時候會是被考慮的事宜。第三方有義務按照法庭的指示,真誠地參與特別為方便婚姻或家事糾紛達成和解而進行的程序。儘管他或她不是婚姻的一方,但上訴法庭法官沒有任何理據去支持免除這種義務。處置初步爭議點的審訊對家庭資產構成財政負擔,這個負擔不比附屬濟助申請的其他爭議點所構成的輕省。與配偶雙方比較,第三方可能不那麼關心家庭資產,但很多時候,他或她是近親。這宗案就是這種。不管情況如何,由於處置初步爭議點的審訊產生巨額訟費並耗用漫長時間,影響嚴重,上訴法庭法官找不到任何理由去反對要求第三方真誠地參與這個程序,發掘可有達成完全或部份和解的可能。根據第62號命令第5(2)條規則,不去這樣做也應該是須予考慮的事宜。(見第53–54段)

6) 整體而言,H擬提出的上訴沒有合理的勝訴機會,上訴法庭法官也沒有任何其他符合公義的理由,是可以成為批給許可的理由的(見第55–66段)

申請

這是一宗申請上訴許可的案件。2018年6月29日,區域法院法官陳玉芬作出不就處置初步爭議點的審訊作出訟費令的命令,第一答辯人(丈夫)不服,針對該命令申請上訴許可。在處置初步爭議點的審訊中,第一答辯人(丈夫)獲判勝訴,呈請人(妻子)敗訴。案情已在判決書詳細列出。

Jurisdictions: 

Thomson Reuters – Sweet & Maxwell are the publishers of the Authorised Hong Kong Law Reports & Digest ("HKLRD") and the Authorised Hong Kong Court of Final Appeal Reports ("HKCFAR"), and providers of Westlaw HK (www.sweetandmaxwell.com.hk / www.westlaw.com.hk).

LLC v LMWA
Court of Appeal
Miscellaneous Proceedings No 143 of 2018
Lam ACJHC and Bebe Chu J
27 February, 22 March 2019

Civil procedure — costs — matrimonial proceedings — preliminary issue trial involving third party interest — application for leave to appeal against decision on costs — refused

Family law — divorce — ancillary relief — costs — dispute on beneficial ownership involving third party interest — duty of parties and third party to engage in constructive settlement negotiations, such as mediation — Practice Direction 15.10

Family proceedings — observations on problem of disproportionate legal costs — urgent need for practitioners to be more proactive in resolving disputes through effective and proportionate means — need for courts to adopt proactive case management

At a preliminary issue trial concerning the beneficial interest in matrimonial property, the Trial Judge found against the wife (“W”) and held that the husband (“H”) and his father (“F”) were the beneficial owners of the property and F was the sole beneficial owner of the car park. The Judge made no order as to costs between W and H, and ordered that W pay 80 percent of F’s costs. H and F’s application for leave to appeal against the costs decision was rejected by the Judge. H and F renewed their respective applications to the Court of Appeal which dismissed F’s application. At the rolled-up hearing in respect of H’s application, the Court rejected the submission that the trial of preliminary issue was not part of the matrimonial proceedings. The Court also made observations on case management issues to facilitate parties in matrimonial disputes to undergo alternative resolution processes, including extending FDR procedures to cover disputes on beneficial ownership involving interested parties.

Held, refusing to grant leave to H to appeal against the costs decision and dismissing his application for costs, that:

Preliminary issue trial procedure

1) Issues on ownership between a spouse and a third party, insofar as it was necessary to determine the same, had to be decided by reference to the general law of property and in many cases formal pleadings should be required in order to identify the issues for such determination. However, there were reservations as to prescribing that a trial of preliminary issue was the only way forward once an issue on third party beneficial ownership was raised. There were also reservations on prescribing that a FDR hearing must be postponed until after the trial of the preliminary issue (TL v ML [2006] 1 FLR 1263, A v A [2007] 2 FLR 467, Leung Wing Yi Asther v Kwok Yu Wah (2015) 18 HKCFAR 605 considered). (See para. 21.)

2) There was a difference between cases where the third party was the legal owner or one of the legal owners of the disputed property and cases where a spouse claimed that the third party had a beneficial interest in a property legally held under the name of that spouse. In the former situation, the third party should be joined as a party since the legal title of the disputed property would have to be transferred or subject to encumbrance if the ownership issue was resolved by the making of a proprietary order. In the latter case, the third party should be notified of the claim and if he or she decided to contest the ownership issue, he or she should apply to be joined as a party to the proceedings. If the third party did not apply to be joined, he or she would be bound by the judgment. Irrespective of the role of the third party contesting the ownership issue, given that the ancillary relief application was the substratum for such contest, the primary protagonists were often the spouses. H’s submission that the trial on preliminary issue was not part of the matrimonial proceedings was rejected (Goldstone v Goldstone [2011] 1 FLR 1926 applied). (See paras. 23, 25–28.)

Parties’ duty to engage in constructive settlement negotiation

3) It was not uncommon for matrimonial or family proceedings to last too long and for the costs to be disproportionate to the family wealth. The parties and their advisers had a positive duty to engage in constructive settlement negotiations and to participate in alternative dispute resolution processes like meditation, FDR and CDR in good faith. There was an urgent need for practitioners to embrace a more proactive mindset to resolve family disputes through effective and proportionate means and a need for the courts to adopt proactive case management to curtail excesses in litigation. The best procedure for resolving the dispute would depend on the circumstances of the case (KSO v MJO and MJO (PSO intervening) [2009] 1 FLR 1036 considered). (See paras. 29, 31, 44.)

4) The adoption of the procedure for a preliminary issue trial could be very expensive and time-consuming, as in this case. While this Court did not disagree with the directions for a preliminary trial, even where such direction was made, the parties and the third party should engage positively to resolve the ownership dispute by more proportionate means. There were provisions in Pt.2.5 of Practice Direction 15.10 on Family Mediation for other respondents/intervening parties to the proceedings to consider the use of mediation. The general guidance at paras 1.1–1.5 of Practice Direction 15.10 was equally applicable to these parties. (See paras. 38, 41.)

5) The conduct of a party in adopting an uncooperative stance could, and very often would be taken into account under O. 62 r. 5(2) of the Rules of the High Court (Cap. 4A, Sub.Leg.). There was no justification for exonerating a third party from the obligation to participate in good faith in a process designed to facilitate settlement of a matrimonial or family dispute as directed by the court though he or she was not a party to the marriage. The financial burden on the family pot occasioned by a trial of a preliminary issue was no less than that occasioned by other issues in the ancillary relief application. Even though the family pot might not be of as much concern to the third party as the spouses, the third party was very often closely related to the family, as here. In any event, in view of the serious costs and time implications arising from a trial of a preliminary issue, there was nothing objectionable in requiring the third party to participate in such a process in good faith in order to explore if overall or partial settlement could be achieved. Failure to do so should be taken into account under O. 62 r. 5(2). (See paras. 53–54.)

6) On the whole, there were no reasonable prospects of success in H’s intended appeal nor any other reasons in the interest of justice to warrant leave being granted. (See paras. 55–66.)

Application

This was the first respondent-husband’s application for leave to appeal against an order for no order as to costs made by Judge Grace Chan on 29 June 2018 in respect of a preliminary issue trial in which the first respondent-husband was successful as against the petitioner-wife. The facts are set out in the judgment.

 

Jurisdictions: 

Thomson Reuters – Sweet & Maxwell are the publishers of the Authorised Hong Kong Law Reports & Digest ("HKLRD") and the Authorised Hong Kong Court of Final Appeal Reports ("HKCFAR"), and providers of Westlaw HK (www.sweetandmaxwell.com.hk / www.westlaw.com.hk).