Mathnasium Center Licensing, LLC v Chang Chi Hung
原訟法庭
高院雜項案件2017年第1550號
高等法院原訟法庭法官陳嘉信
2018年11月20–23日、12月17 日;2019年3月18日

藐視法庭 — 民事藐視 — 在已簽署屬實申述核實的狀書作出的承認是虛假的 — 有否構成藐視罪 — 就相關目的而言,虛假承認和虛假聲言可有分別 —《高等法院規則》(第4A章,附屬法例)第41A號命令第9條規則及第52號命令第3條規則

原告人以一份地區特許經營協議為依據,針對M提起訴訟,向M申索經營教學中心而欠繳的專利權費(「該訴訟」)。原告人的申索陳述書(「該陳述書」)述明,被拖欠的專利權費款額取決於由M經營的教學中心學生人數,以及M負有終止後責任(post-termination obligations),須負責教學中心的善後事宜。該陳述書亦述明,按照原告人所盡知曉或得到的資料,M在香港開設及經營12間中心(「香港中心」)(「該陳述」)。被告人是M的唯一股東及當時的唯一董事,在該訴訟中給M提交答辯書和反申索書,以及經修訂的答辯書和反申索書。M在該等答辯書和反申索書承認該陳述(「標的承認」),而該等答辯書和反申索書已由被告人簽署屬實申述予以核實。在該訴訟中,原告人聲稱以標的承認作為和解和強制執行法律程序的依據,可是,在M上訴反對強制執行法律程序期間,才得知標的承認實屬虛假;由於不可能穩妥地強制和解,原告人蒙受損害。原告人根據《高等法院規則》(第4A章,附屬法例)(「《規則》」)第41A號命令第9條規則及第52號命令第2條規則取得許可,現以《規則》第52號命令第3條規則為依據,就被告人藐視法庭而提出申請,要求法庭針對他作出交付羈押令。原告人聲稱(除了別的以外),被告人和M多番承認或宣誓確認標的承認的真確性,但是被告人在承認或宣誓確認之時,並不是真誠地相信標的承認或他的屬實申述乃屬真實。

裁決 –裁定被告人犯了藐視法庭罪:

《規則》第41A號命令第9條規則所指的構成藐視法庭的元素

1) 根據《規則》第41A號命令第9條規則,原告人要證明被告人犯了藐視法庭罪,就得在毫無合理疑點的標準下證明有關陳述是虛假的,並且有關陳述已經或會在某些重要方面防礙司法公正,以及作出有關陳述之時,被告人不是真誠地相信有關陳述乃屬真實,也知道它是有可能防礙司法公正的(引用Numeric City Ltd v Lau Chi Wing [2016] 4 HKLRD 812)。(見第3段)

虛假的陳述

2) 即使根據被告人本身的說法,也正如他在該訴訟宣誓所述,標的承認是虛假的,在現有法律程序中被要求援引的M的證供也確認它是虛假的。被告人指稱該陳述書內容不符或不夠明確之說,不是一個爭議點。簽署屬實申述之前,被告人要明白該陳述可不是困難之事。根據他本身的說法,標的承認包含一個意思:香港中心是由M經營的地區特許經營商中心。他清楚知悉由M經營的地區特許經營商中心,與由下屬加盟商營運的加盟商中心是有分別的,這個分別是重要的,致使他聲稱已經明確指示律師,香港中心只是加盟商中心。(見第13–22段)

3) 被告人爭論,虛假聲言可以產生藐視罪,但虛假承認卻不可能。他的爭論點沒有法律依據,悍然不顧《規則》第27號命令第1條規則。訴訟一方不論是作出承認還是聲言,都是正面地確認所承認或聲言的事情乃屬真實。此外,根據案例典據,法庭在考慮是否准許撤回承認時,把屬實申述視作為重要因素,相關的實務指引更要求承認或聲言都必須以屬實申述核實。有說申辯人有責任確保在狀書聲言的事實乃屬真實,但在同一狀書承認的事實,他卻無責任確保乃屬真實。這種說法在原則上有錯,與政策相悖,也有違常理。(引用Bayerische Landesbank Anstalt Des Offentlichen Rechts v Constantin Medien AG [2017] EWHC 131 (Comm);考慮The Governing Body of Charterhouse School v Hannaford Upright [2007] EWHC 2718 (TCC)、Avrahami v Biran [2013] EWHC 330 (Ch)、Co-Operative Group Ltd v Carillion JM Ltd(前稱John Mowlem & Co Ltd)v Pennine Vibropiling Ltd [2014] EWHC 837 (TCC))。(見第23–31段)

妨礙司法公正

4) 沒有規定司法公正必須是確實被防礙了,也沒有必要去證明法庭或另一方確實被虛假的陳述誤導了,或確實以虛假陳述為依據。證明得到虛假陳述的運用很有可能引致其中一種情況就足夠了(引用Neil v Henderson [2018] EWHC 90 (Ch))。(見第32–33段)

5) 因此,被告人爭論說原告人沒有確實以標的承認為依據,或原告人以標的承認為依據並不合理。他忽略了一點。標的承認相當可能誤導法庭或原告人,又或者引致法庭和原告人以之為依據,因為在訴訟中,由M經營的中心數目是重要的資料,而地區特許經營商中心和加盟商中心的分別是有法律含義的。在任何情況之下,原告人確實是以標的承認為依據,並在這個基礎上繼續下去,而原告人以標的承認為依據是合理的。(見第34–44段)

被告人的思想狀態

6) 被告人沒有就作出標的承認的時間提出爭議,他知道M沒有開設及經營香港中心。他的說法是,他給自己的律師正確的指示,但律師弄錯指示,草擬了標的承認。此說令人難以置信。他又說,在簽署屬實申述之前,他已通知律師,香港中心全部是加盟商中心,不是地區特許經營商中心,而在落筆簽署屬實申述之前,他沒有細閱抗辯書的最終版本。被告人所說的與他自己的證供和其後的行為存在矛盾。(見第45–62段)

7) 被告人知道標的承認很可能會妨礙司法工作的執行。他知道,地區特許經營商中心和加盟商中心是有分別的,而這個分別具有法律含義,因此相當重要。另外,他也一定知道,標的承認會使原告人以M為起訴對象,而不是香港中心那名創造收入的營運者;M已經停止運作,並且無力償還債務,而香港中心是由那名營運者控制和部份擁有的。(見第63段)

8) 被告人爭論說,作出標的承認不符合他的利益,他沒有動機干犯藐視罪。這點爭論不被接納。動機不是構成藐視罪的元素,法庭在這問題上作推測是不切實際和不必要的。無論如何,作出標的承認符合被告人的利益,因為此舉能夠阻止、打消或至少阻延原告人針對香港中心那名創造收入的營運者採取行動。(見第64–65段)

申請

這是一宗申請把被告人交付羈押的案件。原告人就一筆未獲清償的專利權費提起訴訟,該訴訟的被告人藐視法庭,原告人就此提出申請,要求法庭針對被告人作出交付羈押令。案情已在判決書詳細列出。

Jurisdictions: 

Thomson Reuters – Sweet & Maxwell are the publishers of the Authorised Hong Kong Law Reports & Digest ("HKLRD") and the Authorised Hong Kong Court of Final Appeal Reports ("HKCFAR"), and providers of Westlaw HK (www.sweetandmaxwell.com.hk / www.westlaw.com.hk).

Mathnasium Center Licensing, LLC v Chang Chi Hung
Court of First Instance
Miscellaneous Proceedings No 1550 of 2017
Wilson Chan J
20–23 November, 17 December 2018, 18 March 2019

Contempt of court — civil contempt — false admission in pleadings verified by signed statements of truth — whether constituted contempt — whether distinction between false admission and false averment for such purpose — Rules of the High Court (Cap. 4A, Sub.Leg.) O. 41A r. 9, O. 52 r. 3

P brought an action (the “Action”) against M for outstanding royalty payments relating to the operation of learning centres pursuant to a Regional Franchise Agreement. P’s statement of claim (“SOC”) stated that the amount of royalty payments owed depended on the number of students attending the learning centres operated by M, and that M owed post-termination obligations in respect of these centres. The SOC also stated that to the best of P’s knowledge or information, M opened and operated 12 centres (“HK Centres”) in Hong Kong (“SOC Statement”). D, the sole shareholder and then sole director of M, caused a defence and counterclaim and an amended defence and counterclaim to be filed in the Action which admitted the SOC Statement (“Subject Admission”) and were verified by Statements of Truth signed by D. P claimed that it relied on the Subject Admission in settlement and enforcement proceedings in the Action, but that it transpired during M’s appeal in the enforcement proceedings that the Subject Admission was false and P was prejudiced as the settlement could not be satisfactorily enforced. P now sought to commit D for contempt of court pursuant to O. 52 r. 3 (Cap. 4A, Sub.Leg.) Rules of the High Court (“RHC”) after obtaining leave under O. 41A r. 9 and O. 52 r. 2. P claimed inter alia that D and M had repeatedly accepted or affirmed the truth of the Subject Admission when D had no honest belief in the same or his Statements of Truth.

Held, finding D guilty of contempt of court, that:

Elements of contempt of court under O. 41A r. 9 RHC

1) For P to establish that D was guilty of contempt of court under O. 41A r. 9 of the RHC, it had to prove beyond reasonable doubt the falsity of the statement in question; the statement had or would have interfered with the course of justice in some material respects; and at the time it was made the defendant had no honest belief in the truth of the statement and knew of its likelihood of interference with the course of justice (Numeric City Ltd v Lau Chi Wing [2016] 4 HKLRD 812 applied). (See para. 3.)

Falsity of the statements

2) Even on D’s own case, as set out in his affirmations in the Action, the Subject Admission was false, which was also confirmed by M’s evidence sought to be adduced in the current proceedings. D’s allegation that the SOC was inconsistent or lacked clarity was a non-issue. D had no difficulty understanding the SOC Statement before he signed the Statements of Truth. On his own case, the Subject Admission carried the implication that the HK Centres were Regional Franchisor Centres operated by M (“RFCs”). He was acutely aware of the distinction between RFCs operated by M and Franchisees Centres (“FCs”) run by sub-franchisees, so much so that he claimed to have given instructions to his lawyers that the HK Centres were merely FCs. (See paras. 13–22.)

3) There was no legal basis to D’s argument that a false admission, as opposed to a false averment, could not give rise to contempt. This argument flew in the face of O. 27 r. 1 of the RHC. In both cases, the party making the admission or averment was positively affirming that the fact being admitted or averred was true. Further, on the authorities, the courts regarded the Statement of Truth as important when considering whether to allow an admission to be withdrawn, and the relevant Practice Direction required both an admission and an averment to be verified by a Statement of Truth. It would be wrong in principle and contrary to policy and common sense to say that while a pleader was obliged to ensure the truthfulness of averments of facts in pleadings, he was not obliged to do the same when it came to admissions of fact in the same pleadings (Bayerische Landesbank Anstalt Des Offentlichen Rechts v Constantin Medien AG [2017] EWHC 131 (Comm) applied; The Governing Body of Charterhouse School v Hannaford Upright [2007] EWHC 2718 (TCC), Avrahami v Biran [2013] EWHC 330 (Ch), Co-Operative Group Ltd v Carillion JM Ltd (Formerly John Mowlem & Co Ltd) v Pennine Vibropiling Ltd [2014] EWHC 837 (TCC) considered). (See paras. 23–31.)

Interference with the course of justice

4) Actual interference with the course of justice was not required. Nor was it necessary to show that the court or another party was actually misled by, or relied on, the false statement. It was sufficient to show that the deployment of the false statement was likely to have one of these effects (Neil v Henderson [2018] EWHC 90 (Ch) applied). (See paras. 32–33.)

5) Thus, D’s arguments that P did not actually rely on the Subject Admission, or that it was unreasonable for P to do so, missed the point. The Subject Admission was likely to have the effect of misleading the Court or P or causing them to rely on it because the number of centres operated by M was an important piece of information in the litigation and the distinction between RFCs and FCs had legal implications. In any event, P had actually relied on the Subject Admission and proceeded on such basis and it was reasonable for P to do so. (See paras. 34–44.)

D’s state of mind

6) D did not dispute that when the Subject Admission was made, he knew that M did not open and operate the HK Centres. His case that he gave correct instructions to his lawyers who then drafted the Subject Admission by mistake was unbelievable. His version of events, that before he had signed the Statement of Truth he had informed his lawyers that the HK Centres were all FCs rather than RFCs, and that he had not read the finalised version of the defence before signing the Statement of Truth, was contradicted by his own evidence and subsequent conduct. (See paras. 45–62.)

7) D knew of the likelihood that the Subject Admission would interfere with the administration of justice. He knew that the distinction between RFCs and FCs was an important one with legal implications. He must also have known that the Subject Admission would cause P to focus on suing M, which had ceased operation and was insolvent, rather than the revenue-generating operators of the HK Centres which were controlled and partially owned by him. (See para. 63.)

8) D’s argument that he lacked a motive to commit the contempt because it was not in his interest to make the Subject Admission was rejected. Motive was not an element of contempt and it was impracticable and unnecessary for the Court to speculate on these matters. In any case, it was in fact in D’s interest to make the Subject Admission because it could prevent, discourage or at least delay P from taking action against the revenue-generating operators of the HK Centres. (See paras. 64–65.)

Application

This was an application for an order for committal for contempt of court by the plaintiff against the defendant arising from an action for outstanding royalty payments. The facts are set out in the judgment.

Jurisdictions: 

Thomson Reuters – Sweet & Maxwell are the publishers of the Authorised Hong Kong Law Reports & Digest ("HKLRD") and the Authorised Hong Kong Court of Final Appeal Reports ("HKCFAR"), and providers of Westlaw HK (www.sweetandmaxwell.com.hk / www.westlaw.com.hk).