McLarens Hong Kong Ltd v Poon Chi Fai Corey
原訟法庭
高院民事訴訟案 2019 年第 514 號
暫委法官王鳴峰資深大律師
2019 年 6 月 14 日

跳板禁制令

在這宗案裏,高等法院考慮McLarens Hong Kong Limited(「McLarens」)所提出的跳板禁制令申請的範圍。

關鍵事實

McLarens是服務提供者,向客戶提供保險索償管理服務、損失理算服務、風險前及損毀調查服務,香港辦事處僱用了42名全職僱員。

在2019年2月,McLarens有九名僱員(「九名僱員」)接受Charles Taylor PLC(「Charles Taylor」)聘用,Charles Taylor是McLarens的競爭對手。2019年3月3日,九名僱員正式向McLarens辭職,承諾支付代通知金,即時終止僱傭關係。

McLarens聲稱,九名僱員是預先計劃一大批人集體呈辭,並且從McLarens那裡非法取得及使用大量保密資料,包括客戶名單和檔案及∕或商業秘密,早已違反他們的受信責任和合約責任;McLarens亦聲稱Charles Taylor有份串謀損害McLarens,對於九名僱員違責,它負有轉承法律責任。

McLarens有大量資料和文件被複製和移除,涉及數據檔案200,000多個。

不受爭議的是,九名僱員不受任何限制性契諾約束。

聆訊

McLarens就這些聲稱的違責申請跳板禁制令。申請禁制令是為了在九名僱員最後受僱的日期(「終止日期」)起計,禁制他們六個月。具體而言,禁制令是禁制他們作出以下事情:

a. 在英國、中國及香港從事任何其他「相關」業務,或者在任何其他「相關」業務中有利害關係;
b. 拉攏、招攬、接洽以下人士,或與之買賣或向其出售貨品,又或者向以下人士提供服務:

i) McLarens的任何客戶,McLarens在終止日期之前的12個月內,曾在很大程度上跟他們打過交道;
ii) 任何就「相關」業務與McLarens進行磋商的人,而九名僱員在磋商時與那人打過交道;及

c. 尋求誘使他人離開McLarens,又或者拉客或干預McLarens與任何人的關係,而那人是McLarens的供應商或業務介紹人,並且九名僱員在終止日期前的12個月之內,曾在很大程度上跟他們打過交道。

聆訊時,九名僱員同意修改承諾書,把他們向McLarens作出的承諾改為維持到審訊之時或法庭進一步發出命令為止。所承諾的是不使用那些從McLarens的記錄複製並關乎McLarens業務的保密資料;Charles Taylor陳詞說,所有資料和文件已經交回McLarens或者刪除,因此是不會被使用的。

適用的法律原則

原訟法庭在汲取相關法律原則的精髓時,論到QBE Management Services (UK) Limited v Dymoke [2012] IRLR 458一案。原訟法庭指出,跳板禁制令的目的是「防止被告人利用[法官]認為肯定是其非法使用資料而建立的跳板取得不公平優勢。……跳板濟助不局限於前僱員有可能濫用受僱期間獲得的保密資料的情況。它可以用來防止前員工透過嚴重違反僱傭合約而取得不公平優勢,也就是『不公平起點』,日後或進一步引致前僱主蒙受經濟損失。

總的來說,跳板濟助應該是旨在回復各方原本享有但因被告人的失當行為而失去的競爭能力,禁制期應當是違法者事實上用非法手段達成的那件事,原本用合法手段達成所要花的時間。

裁決

原訟法庭裁定,向原訟法庭提交的經修訂承諾書是足夠的。原訟法庭認為,違反保密責任及∕或受信責任是一件事,使用那些保密資料建立跳板或獲取不公平優勢是另一件事,兩者有重大分別。

高等法院撤銷跳板禁制令,原因是McLarens不曾確立不公平競爭優勢的確實性質和期間,也不曾證明過九名僱員事實上使用過有關資料去接觸McLarens的客戶,並主動向他們提議自己的
服務。

原訟法庭亦認為,即使有任何不公平的優勢,也只可能是短期的,而且,由於缺乏有力證據,不公平優勢不可能是批予六個月禁令的充份理由。原訟法庭留意到,承保人、經紀以至於McLarens客戶的名單在公眾可接達的網站閱覽得到,因此九名僱員如果想接觸他們之前在McLarens給提供過服務的客戶,向他們提議服務,大可翻閱公眾記錄,輕易地把他們找出來。原訟法庭認為整個過程所需日子是以日計,也可能以週數計,但不會是以月計。原訟法庭繼續表示,即使定論有錯,金錢的判償會是足夠的濟助。

訟費令

原訟法庭判McLarens須支付給九名僱員聆訊訟費的80%,訟費按訴訟各方對評基準評定。如對數額有爭議,則由法庭評定。

重點

尋求跳板濟助的僱主一定要達到不公平競爭優勢的確實性質及時間證據的高標準,並且能夠迅速收集僱員作出不法行為的罪證,證明不法行為對其業務引致或可能引致嚴重影響。

務必一提,凡前僱員不是強制執行的限制性契諾所針對的人,僱主便不能夠單靠跳板濟助。僱主應當再看一遍僱傭合約,確保合約包含草擬得嚴密有力,並且適用於高級僱員或可以取覽保密∕專有資料的僱員的限制性契諾。

由於跳板禁制令不是萬應靈丹,僱員不應靠賴法庭批予這道禁制令。在前僱員願意作出合理承諾的情況下,禁制令是否仍有必要是一個務必要考慮的問題。

 

Jurisdictions: 

Lewis Silkin Hong Kong 法律總監

McLarens Hong Kong Ltd v Poon Chi Fai Corey
Court of First Instance
High Court Action No 514 of 2019
Deputy Judge William Wong SC in Chambers
14 June 2019

Springboard Injunctions

In this case, the High Court considered the scope of a springboard injunction application brought by McLarens Hong Kong Limited (“McLarens”).

Material Facts

McLarens was an insurance claims management, loss adjusting and pre-risk and damage surveying services provider and had about 42 full-time employees in its Hong Kong office.

In February 2019, nine of McLarens’ employees (“Employees”) accepted an offer of employment from Charles Taylor PLC (“Charles Taylor”), a competitor of McLarens. On 3 March 2019, the Employees formally resigned by undertaking to make a payment in lieu of notice to effect immediate termination.

McLarens claimed that the Employees had pre-planned their an masse exodus and had wrongfully obtained and used extensive confidential information from McLarens, including client list and files and/or trade secrets, which would have been a breach of their fiduciary and contractual duties; and that Charles Taylor was a party to the conspiracy to injure and was vicariously liable for the Employees’ breach.

Vast quantities of McLarens’ information and documents have been copied and removed amounting to over 200,000 data files.

It was undisputed that the Employees were not bound by any restrictive covenants.

The Hearing

McLarens sought a springboard injunction in respect of these claimed breaches. The injunction was to seek to restrain the Employees for six months from their last date of employment (“Termination Date”). Specifically, the injunction was to restrain them from;

a. being engaged or interested in any capacity in the UK, PRC and Hong Kong in any other “relevant” business;
b. canvassing, soliciting, approaching, dealing with, selling goods, or providing services to;

i) any customer of McLarens and with whom they had dealt to a material extent within 12 months prior to the Termination Date;
ii) any person who was negotiating with McLarens in connection with the “relevant” business and with whom the Employees had dealt in negotiations; and

c. seeking to entice away from the McLarens or otherwise soliciting or interfering with the relationship between McLarens and any person who was a supplier of or an introducer of business to McLarens and with whom they had dealt to a material extent within 12 months prior to the Termination Date

At the hearing, the Employees agreed to give McLarens a modified undertaking, to last until trial or further order of the court. The undertaking was not to use confidential information relating to McLarens’s business or customers which was copied from McLarens’s records; and Charles Taylor submitted that all information and documents had been returned to McLarens or deleted and would not be used.

Applicable legal principles

The Court referred to the case of QBE Management Services (UK) Limited v Dymoke [2012] IRLR 458 in distilling the relevant legal principles. The Court noted that the purpose of a springboard is “to prevent the defendants from taking unfair advantage of the springboard which [the Judge] considered they must have built up by their misuse of the information…[a] springboard relief is not confined to cases where former employees threaten to abuse confidential information acquired during the currency of their employment. It is available to prevent any future or further economic loss to a previous employer caused by former staff members taking an unfair advantage and “unfair start”, of any serious breaches of their contract of employment.

In summary, the aim of a springboard relief should be to restore the parties to the competitive position they would be in but for the defendant’s misconduct, and the length of a springboard should be the length of time it would have taken the wrongdoer to achieve lawfully what he in fact achieved unlawfully.

Ruling

The Court held that the modified undertakings to the Court were sufficient. The Court said that there was an important distinction between breach of the duties of confidentiality and/or fiduciary duties and the use of such confidential information to build a springboard or to gain an unfair advantage.

The Court dismissed the springboard injunction because McLarens had not established the precise nature and period of unfair competitive advantage, nor had they shown that the Employees had in fact used the information to contact and offer their services to McLarens’s clients.

The Court also said that even if there was any unfair advantage, it could only be short term and, given the absence of cogent evidence, could not justify a six month injunction. The Court noted that the list of insurers, brokers and McLarens’ clients are available from publicly accessible websites, and that the Employees could easily go through the public records and identify McLarens’ clients which they have previously served in order to contact and offer them services. The Court said it would take days or possibly weeks to go through this exercise, but not months. The Court went further stating that even if the findings were wrong, a monetary award would be an adequate remedy.

Costs Order

The Employees were awarded 80 percent of the costs of the hearing to be paid by McLarens, on a party to party basis, to be taxed if not agreed.

Takeaway Points

An employer seeking springboard relief must meet the high standard of demonstrating the precise nature and period of unfair competitive advantage, and to be able to swiftly gather evidence of the wrongdoing by the employee and demonstrate the detrimental impact it has caused or may cause to its business.

It is important to note that an employer cannot simply rely on a springboard relief in circumstances where the former employees were not subject to enforceable restrictive covenants. Employers should review their employees’ employment contracts to ensure it contains robust and tightly drafted restrictive covenants for their senior employees or employees who have access to confidential / proprietary information.

An employer should not rely on the courts granting a springboard injunction, as they are not suitable in all cases. Where a former employee is willing to give a reasonable undertaking, it is important to consider whether an injunction is still necessary.

Jurisdictions: 

Legal Director, Lewis Silkin Hong Kong