Neway Music Limited V Hong Kong Karaoke Licensing Alliance Limited
版權審裁處
CT 2/2010
王桂壎先生(主席), 朱慶華女士(普通成員), 黃永恩先生(普通成員)
Intellectual Property
2019年12月23日

版權審裁處(「審裁處」)成立於1997年,最近頒布其歷來第一次
裁決。

原訴人(「Neway」)負責取得讓Neway集團可在電腦伺服器(「K-Server」)複製及存儲卡拉OK音樂視頻(「KMVs」)的版權特許;Neway集團是本地卡拉OK連鎖集團。答辯人(「HKKLA」)管理並根據K-Server特許計劃(「HKKLA計劃」)批出代表三大唱片公司(即Sony、華納、環球) 的這些特許。

Neway起初提出了幾個申訴,不過到了最後,只有一個問題需要審裁處裁決,那就是「在HKKLA計劃之下,有關KMVs舊曲庫1全部歌曲的特許費價目表是否合理」。

將特許計劃轉介至審裁處

根據《版權條例》第156(3)條及第167條,審裁處可考慮公眾利益及其他事宜(例如有沒有相類計劃可供選擇及相類計劃的條款、有關作品的性質、各方相對的議價能力、特許持有人或準特許持有人有沒有獲提供關乎標的特許計劃條款的相關資料),按其裁定屬合理的情況下,確認或更改任何給轉介到審裁處的特許計劃。審裁處必須確保在同一計劃之下,或在同一人營辦的不同計劃之下,特許持有人或準特許持有人之間不存在不合理的歧視;審裁處亦有一般責任去考慮所有相關因素,尤其是「行使其權力會否與作品的正常利用造成衝突或會不合理地損害版權擁有人的合法
權益」。

估值方法

NewayHKKLA計劃轉介至審裁處以評定計劃的合理性。審裁處提到三個估值方法。

  1. 經濟利益法建議「將特許持有人預期從特許賺取的利潤的一部份,認作為合理的特許費。」Neway主張這個方法不可靠,因為Neway的利潤有很多驅動因素,而KMVs舊曲庫只是其中一個。審裁處認為Neway所採取的態度「欠妥」,但由於Neway拒絕披露相關的財務資料,審裁處無法根據這個方法去考慮HKKLA計劃是否合理。
  2. 替代成本法建議特許費應該「參照取得可供替代的知識產權的成本而釐定」。雙方認同這個方法不適用,因為即使Neway要製作本身的KMVs,原唱歌手亦不會參與該等KMVs,因此該等KMVs不會是KMVs舊曲庫的合適「替代品」。
  3. 可比擬法拿其他特許計劃作比較,是《版權條例》及案例所認可的方法。審裁處考慮了以下三項事宜作比擬之用。
  1. PPSEAL K-Server特許計劃:儘管雙方認同PPSEAL的起始費合理,但HKKLA認為該計劃的架構不合理,因為它不是隨卡拉OK房間的數目線性遞增,並歧視規模較小的營辦人。審裁處認同PPSEAL有兩種做法並不合理:(i)向設有4個卡拉OK房間的營辦人和設有50個房間的營辦人徵收一樣的特許費,或(ii)相比設有50個卡拉OK房間的營辦人,向設有120個房間的營辦人每個房間收取明顯較低收費(41.53%折扣)。以上(i)和(ii)項不合理地歧視規模較小的營辦人。因此,在評定HKKLA計劃的架構是否合理的時候,PPSEAL的計劃「不應被採納或用作為合適的可比擬費用」。
  2. K-Net K-Server特許計劃∕Music Link特許計劃:審裁處裁定,這兩項特許計劃只有起始費(適用於設有13個卡拉OK房間的地點)適用。這兩項計劃的架構和其他收費不適用,原因是其他收費的設計是適用於只有三數間卡拉OK房間的小酒吧,而不適用於房間數目大很多的卡拉OK連鎖店。
  3. 20086月協議∕200812月要約:審裁處拒絕以NewayK-Net早前的商業往來做比較,因為那些往來牽涉一筆過付款,而並非「分級羅列收費的價目表」。

HKKLA的特許計劃的合理性

審裁處接納HKKLA所指其K-Server特許計劃價目表是合理的,由於HKKLA的特許計劃(1)因應規模較大的營辦人房間較多,其KMVs的用量隨之也較多,因此被收取的費用理應更多;(2)PPSEAL向規模較大的營辦人收取的「每間房間的特許費是低得不合比例」,歧視規模較小的營辦人,但HKKLAK-Server特許計劃沒有像PPSEAL一樣的做法。在這方面,HKKLA計劃採用按比例調整的收費表,視乎房間數目而向大用量的營辦人提供折扣優惠,介乎5.6%至23.9%不等。

HKKLA亦指出,在考慮HKKLA計劃是否合理的同時,可參考Neway就發行6個月或以上的KMVs(「舊KMVs」)向其他唱片公司需支付的特許費,而確定HKKLA計劃是合理的。審裁處接納,Neway 2013年應支付英皇娛樂、東亞唱片和金牌大風的特許費總額(HK$15,400,000)可用作為考慮HKKLA計劃合理與否的參考款額,但不接納將該總額用作為HKKLA計劃的調整基準。這是因為沒有證據證明這三間唱片公司向Neway提供的KMVs數目(而HKKLA提供「不少於8,000首歌曲」的KMVs舊曲庫),此外,審裁處亦拒絕接納由Neway準備的關於該等KMVs在卡拉OK播放了多少次的點擊數據的準確性和可靠性(因此不可能比較這些KMVsHKKLAKMVs的相對使
用量)。

根據其他特許安排,Neway必須就流行歌手周杰倫的每首舊KMVsSony BMG每年付費HK$20,000,就其他歌手的每首舊KMVsSony Music每年付費HK$5,000。審裁處留意到這些款額比HKKLA收取的費用高得多(根據HKKLA計劃,HKKLA就舊曲庫內每首KMV收取約HK$2,000)。

結論

審裁處的結論是,HKKLA計劃的KMVs舊曲庫的架構和費用是合理的,不需要任何更改。

156(4)條賦予版權審裁處的權力

審裁處確認,如果有唱片公司在2015630日(即HKKLA計劃停止運作的日期)之後就其已納入HKKLA計劃內之版權作品被使用而對Neway提出侵權申索,審裁處無權作出命令保護Neway免責。《版權條例》第156(4)條述明,審裁處所作出用以確認或更改特許計劃的命令,可規定該命令「無限期有效」,不過這並不意味審裁處可以在某計劃營辦人「不能夠或不想無限期延續計劃的時候」,規定該營辦人無限期延續計劃。第156(4)條賦權審裁處「決定命令的期限,而不是計劃的壽命」,因此,就沒有特許計劃運作的期間而言,審裁處無權根據第156(3)條作出任何命令。

馬兆威律師

Thomson Reuters – Sweet & Maxwell are the publishers of the Authorised Hong Kong Law Reports & Digest ("HKLRD") and the Authorised Hong Kong Court of Final Appeal Reports ("HKCFAR"), and providers of Westlaw HK (www.sweetandmaxwell.com.hk / www.westlaw.com.hk).

Neway Music Limited V Hong Kong Karaoke Licensing Alliance Limited
Copyright Tribunal
CT 2/2010
Mr Huen Wong (Chairman), Ms Grace Chu (Member), Mr Kenneth Wong (Member)
Intellectual Property
23 December 2019

The Copyright Tribunal (“Tribunal”) was established in 1997 and has recently issued its first ever Decision.

The originator (“Neway”) was responsible for obtaining copyright licences for the reproduction of karaoke music videos (“KMVs”) on the computer servers (“K-Server”) of the Neway Group, a local karaoke chain. The respondent (“HKKLA”) administered and granted these licenses under a K-Server licensing scheme (“HKKLA Scheme”) on behalf of three major record labels, namely Sony, Warner, and Universal.

Neway initially raised a few complaints, but in the end the only issue that the Tribunal needed to decide on was “whether the tariff of licence fees under the HKKLA Scheme in respect of the repertoire of back catalogue KMVs1 was unreasonable”.

Reference of Licensing Scheme to the Tribunal

Under ss156(3) and 167 of the Copyright Ordinance, the Tribunal may confirm or vary a licensing scheme referred to it as it may determine to be reasonable in the circumstances by considering public interest and matters such as the availability and the terms of comparable schemes, the nature of work concerned, the relative bargaining power of the parties, and the availability to the licensees or prospective licensees of relevant information relating to the terms of the subject licensing scheme. The Tribunal shall ensure that there is no unreasonable discrimination between licensees or prospective licensees under the same scheme or different schemes operated by the same person and has a general obligation to consider all relevant factors, in particular to “whether the exercise of its power will result in a conflict with a normal exploitation of the work or will unreasonably prejudice the legitimate interests of the copyright owner”.

Valuation Approaches

Neway referred the HKKLA Scheme to the Tribunal to assess its reasonableness. Three valuation approaches were mentioned in the Decision.

  1. The economic benefits approach suggests that “a part of the profits which the licensee is expected to make out of the licence is to be identified as the reasonable licence fee.” Neway maintained that this approach was not reliable as there were many drivers to Neway’s profits, and the back catalogue KMVs were only one such driver. The Tribunal found that the position taken by Neway was “not satisfactory”, but was unable to consider the reasonableness of the HKKLA Scheme under this approach, as Neway refused to disclose the relevant financial information.
  2. The cost of substitution approach suggests that the licence fee should be “determined by reference to the cost of obtaining alternative intellectual property rights”. The parties agreed that this approach was not relevant. This was because even if Neway were to produce its own KMVs, the KMVs would not have featured the original artists and hence would not be a proper “substitution” to the back catalogue KMVs.
  3. The comparables approach compares other licensing schemes and is recognised by case laws as well as the Copyright Ordinance. The Tribunal considered the below as comparables.
  1. PPSEAL’s K-Server Licensing Scheme: Although the parties agreed that the starting rate of PPSEAL’s scheme was reasonable, HKKLA was of the view that the structure of the scheme was unreasonable as it did not provide for a linear increase in fees with the increase in the number of karaoke rooms and discriminated against smaller operators. The Tribunal agreed that it was unreasonable for PPSEAL to (i) charge the same licence fee for a 4-room karaoke operator as a 50-room operator or (ii) charge a substantially smaller fee per room (at a 41.53% discount) for a 120-room operator compared to 50-room operator, which amounted to unreasonable discrimination against smaller operators. Accordingly, the scheme “should not be adopted or used as an appropriate comparable in assessing the reasonableness of the structure” of the HKKLA Scheme.
  2. K-Net K-Server Licensing Scheme / Music Link Licensing Scheme: For these two licensing schemes, the Tribunal found that only the starting rates (for venues with 1 to 3 rooms) were relevant. The structures and the other rates of these schemes were not relevant, as they were designed for small karaoke bars with a few rooms and not for karaoke chains with many more rooms.
  3. June 2008 Agreement / December 2008 Offer: The Tribunal rejected the prior dealings between Neway and K-Net as comparables, as these were lump sum payments and each was not “a tariff with a scale of charges”.

Reasonableness of the HKKLA’s Licensing Scheme

The Tribunal accepted HKKLA’s submission that its K-Server Licensing Scheme tariff was reasonable as (1) it took into account that a larger operator with more rooms would have more usage of the KMVs and thus should be charged more, but (2) did not discriminate against smaller operators by charging larger operators “disproportionately smaller amount of licence fees per room” as PPSEAL did. In this regard, the HKKLA Scheme adopted a gradual sliding scale and applied a bulk discount from 5.6% to 23.9% depending on the number of rooms.

HKKLA also submitted that its scheme was reasonable when considered against what Neway needed to pay to other record labels for KMVs that have been released for 6 months or more (“Old KMVs”). The Tribunal accepted that the aggregate of the licence fees which should have been payable by Neway to EEG, East Asia and Gold Typhoon in 2013 (HK$15.4 million) could be used as a reference point on reasonableness of HKKLA’s scheme but did not accept the figure as a basis for adjustment for the HKKLA Scheme. This was because there was no evidence on the number of KMVs provided by these three record labels to Neway (to compare against the “not less than 8,000” HKKLA back catalogue KMVs) and also that the Tribunal rejected the accuracy and reliability of the hit rate data prepared by Neway as to how many times the relevant KMVs were played in the karaoke (therefore it was not possible to compare the usage of these KMVs against the HKKLA KMVs).

Under other licensing arrangements, Neway had to pay Sony BMG HK$20,000 per annum for each Old KMV of a popular artist Jay Chou and pay Sony Music HK$5,000 per annum for each Old KMV of other artists. The Tribunal noted that these figures were much higher than what HKKLA was charging, which was around HK$2,000 per back catalogue KMV under the HKKLA Scheme.

Conclusion

The Tribunal concluded that the structure and rates of the HKKLA Scheme for the back catalogue KMVs were reasonable and did not require any variation.

The Copyright Tribunal’s Powers under s156(4)

The Tribunal confirmed that it has no power to make an order to protect Neway against any claim for infringement of copyright brought by any of the record companies whose repertoire was included under the HKKLA Scheme in respect of use of the copyright works of such record companies beyond 30 June 2015, the date the HKKLA Scheme ceased operation. While s156(4) of the Copyright Ordinance states that the Tribunal’s order to confirm or vary a licensing scheme may be made so as to be “in force indefinitely”, it did not mean that the Tribunal can mandate a scheme operator to “continue a scheme indefinitely if the operator cannot or does not want to do so”. Section 156(4) empowers the Tribunal to “determine the duration of the order and not the longevity of the scheme”, thus the Tribunal does not have the power to make any order under s156(3) in relation to a time period for which no licensing scheme was in operation.