Re Estate of Ho Chi Yin
上訴法庭
民事上訴案件2016年第17號
上訴法庭法官袁家寧 上訴法庭法官關淑馨 原訟法庭法官林雲浩
2017年3月1日

遺囑 — 有效性 — 是否在條件實現時生效 — 遺囑沒有明訂條件 — 是否一如附條件遺囑般具有效力 — 簽立之時是否已有所需要有的遺願致使遺產會直接按照遺囑處置

被告人是死者與妻子(「被告人母親」)的獨生女。死者1990年與被告人母親離婚之後,獲判被告人的管養權。死者在2007年過身。被告人在1996年18歲時離開家庭,自此再沒有與死者聯絡。死者2003年6月15日自立遺囑(「該遺囑」),把一個住宅單位遺贈給父親,另一個單位遺贈給原告人,原告人是他妹妹;該遺囑當時未有按照《遺囑條例》(第30章)第5(1)(c)或(d)條所述規定訂立。原告人申請遺產管理書的授予,並提出遺囑認證訴訟。她作供稱,她在死者前往南非開始退休前長假當天,親眼見到死者寫該遺囑,並在該遺囑上簽名;死者告訴原告人,他訂立該遺囑是因為不想被告人母親利用被告人繼承他的兩個單位,他將不會留給母女二人任何東西,如果他「出咗事」,她得將該遺囑帶給她好友和那名好友的弟弟(「該二人」)簽名。死者結束旅程返港之後,原告人向死者建議交回該遺囑給他,但他叫原告人好好保存該遺囑。被告人辯稱,死者想到自己有可能在渡假時意外死亡,為保周全,才訂立遺囑,死者的意思是,只有在他意外死去時,該遺囑才生效。暫委法官接納原告人的證供,拒絕接納被告人的抗辯理由。他裁定該遺囑「用語清晰、毫不含糊」;該遺囑沒有明訂的條件,不是附條件遺囑;根據《遺囑條例》第5(2)條,它是一份已經妥為簽立的遺囑。他因此宣告該遺囑是以嚴謹的形式訂立。被告人上訴。

裁決 –駁回上訴:

  • 上訴焦點應該是,從判決是否看得出法官有正確理解並且應用相關的法例,他所作的事實裁決可有證據支持。在這宗案件,暫委法官正確地述明《遺囑條例》第5(2)條規定「法庭在無合理疑問的情況下信納該文件是體現立遺囑人的遺願」。此外,原告人證供的相關部分前後一致,具有說服力,暫委法官有權完全接納原告人的證供。
  • 待條件實現後才完成訂明的正式手續的文件,即使被稱為遺囑,會由於立遺囑人在訂立遺囑時沒有列明遺願(animus testandi)是其遺產直接按該份遺囑處置,而不像遺囑般具有效力;然而,已經無條件完成訂明的正式手續的遺囑,如按照其條文是有條件或待確定執行的(附條件遺囑),是一份有效的遺囑,只不過是在遺囑的明訂條件實現時才生效。在這宗案件,死者早已清楚講定如何處置他的資產,按照他的指示,資產是「在我死後」(when I died)才作處置,而他並沒有在指示中提到他的假期。遺囑的用語沒有令暫委法官有必要考慮該次外遊是否:(a)立遺囑的唯一理由;或(b)限制遺囑的執行。只有在遺囑有這樣的用語並意義含糊的情況下,暫委法官才有需要考慮外在的證據。因此,只要被告人指稱的是該遺囑是附條件遺囑,其效力取決於死者旅行期間有否死亡,該遺囑不含有這樣的條件就會是上訴論據在法律上的致命點。
  • 暫委法官裁斷死者簽立該遺囑之時,已有立遺囑所需有的遺願,他的遺產會直接按照該遺囑處置;這項裁斷不因被告人提出的疑問而被削弱。說到死者關於他「出咗事」的時候由該二人簽署該遺囑的指示,除了別的以外,有關證據並不證明死者所指的是「在這次旅行期間」或「在非洲」遭遇不測;而且,他回家之後繼續視該遺囑為重要文件,可見他知道該遺囑不受限制或未有喪失時效。此外,當死者簽立該遺囑的時候,他是想該遺囑立即生效,只是在該二人簽署後才完成訂立的正式手續;他從來沒有改變這個打算。此外,與Corbett v Newey案插入日期的本意不一樣,死者的本意不是藉以給自己保留遺囑生效時間的控制權。
  • 判決不會只因為在審訊後延遲宣告而被作廢。然而,法庭已經「高度謹慎地」考慮辯方的質疑。被告人需要做的,依然是找出遺漏、錯誤等,使暫委法官的裁斷失效,致令判決不穩妥並導致出現對她不公平的情況。被告人未能找到遺漏、錯誤等。
Jurisdictions: 

Thomson Reuters – Sweet & Maxwell are the publishers of the Authorised Hong Kong Law Reports & Digest ("HKLRD") and the Authorised Hong Kong Court of Final Appeal Reports ("HKCFAR"), and providers of Westlaw HK (www.sweetandmaxwell.com.hk / www.westlaw.com.hk).

Re Estate of Ho Chi Yin
Court of Appeal
Civil Appeal No. 17 of 2016
Yuen, Kwan JJA and Godfrey Lam J
1 March 2017

Will – validity – whether will to take effect on satisfaction of condition – no express condition in will – whether valid as conditional will – whether requisite testamentary intent for will to have immediate dispositive effect on execution

D was the daughter and only child of the deceased (“X”), who died in 2007, and M. In 1990, X and M divorced and X was given custody of D. When D turned 18 in 1996, she left home and never contacted X again. On 15 June 2003, X made a homemade will (the “Will”), which had not been executed in accordance with s. 5(1)(c) or (d) of the Wills Ordinance (Cap. 30), bequeathing one flat to his father and another to P, his younger sister. P applied for a grant of letters of administration and brought a probate action. She gave evidence that on the day X began a long pre-retirement holiday to South Africa, she witnessed him write and sign the Will; X told her he was making the Will as he did not want M to use D to inherit his two flats; he was not leaving them anything; if he encountered a mishap, P was to take the Will to her close friend and her brother (“Ks”) to sign. After X returned from the trip, P offered to return the Will to him but he told her to keep it safe. D argued that the Will was made to cater for the contingency that X might die unexpectedly on holiday and was intended to take effect only if and when that happened. The Deputy Judge accepted P’s evidence and rejected D’s defence. He held that the Will was “written in clear and unambiguous terms”; it contained no express condition and was not a conditional will; and it was duly executed under s. 5(2) of the Ordinance. He therefore pronounced for the Will in solemn form. D appealed.

Held, dismissing the appeal, that:

  • The focal point on appeal should be whether the judgment showed that the judge had correctly understood and applied the relevant law and whether there was evidence to support his findings of fact. Here, the Deputy Judge correctly stated that s. 5(2) of the Ordinance required “the court’s satisfaction that there can be no reasonable doubt that the document embodies the testamentary intentions of the deceased”. Further, P’s evidence was in material parts consistent and convincing and the Deputy Judge was entitled to accept it in full.
  • A conditionally executed document, even though entitled a will, was not valid as a will, due to a lack of testamentary intent (animus testandi) that it have immediate dispositive effect on execution, whereas an unconditionally executed will which, by its terms was conditional or contingent in its operation (a conditional will), was valid but only took effect on the satisfaction of the condition as expressed therein. Here, X had clearly stipulated his instructions for the disposition of his assets “when I died” without mentioning his holiday. There was no language which required the Deputy Judge to consider if that trip was: (a) only the reason for making the will; or (b) to limit the operation of the will. Only if there had been such language and it had been ambiguous, would the Deputy Judge have needed to consider extrinsic evidence. Accordingly, insofar as D alleged the Will was a conditional will contingent on X’s death during his trip, the absence of such condition in the Will was as a matter of law fatal to the argument.
  • The Deputy Judge’s finding that X had the requisite testamentary intention when he executed the Will to make it immediately dispositive was not undermined by any of the doubts raised by D. Inter alia, as for X’s instructions about Ks signing the Will as witnesses if he had a mishap, the evidence was not that X referred to a mishap “during this trip” or “in Africa”; and he continued to treat the Will as important after he returned home, which showed that he knew it was not limited or spent. Further, when X executed the Will, he intended it to operate immediately and be formalised when Ks signed it; and he never later reversed his intention. Further, unlike the insertion of a date as in Corbett v Newey, X was not purporting to reserve to himself a means of controlling the operative time of the Will.
  • The judgment would not be set aside only because of a delay in its delivery after trial. However, the Court had considered the challenge with a “higher degree of scrutiny”. It remained for D to identify omissions, errors etc which invalidated the Deputy Judge’s findings, rendered the judgment unsafe and led to injustice to her. D had failed to do so.
Jurisdictions: 

Thomson Reuters – Sweet & Maxwell are the publishers of the Authorised Hong Kong Law Reports & Digest ("HKLRD") and the Authorised Hong Kong Court of Final Appeal Reports ("HKCFAR"), and providers of Westlaw HK (www.sweetandmaxwell.com.hk / www.westlaw.com.hk).