The Sir TL Yang Society High Table Dinner 2019

On 17 May 2019, the Sir TL Yang Society of CUHK Law held its annual High Table Dinner at the Hong Kong Jockey Club in Happy Valley Racecourse.  Around 180 students, academic staff, guests and Distinguished Professional Mentors (DPMs) attended to celebrate the LLB students’ completion of their first year of study and bid farewell to the graduating class.  During the dinner, Year One students were also introduced to their DPMs.

The dinner began with a welcome address by the Faculty Dean, followed by presentations of scholarships and Dean’s List awards, and an inspiring address by the Guest of Honour, Ms Lilian Chiang, Senior Partner of Deacons. In her speech, Ms Chiang shared her views on “The benefit of hindsight” and what makes for a successful lawyer.  The full speech is available at

On behalf of the students and the Society, the student emcees Ms Chie Tong and Mr Li Ching Pang thanked Sir TL Yang, all DPMs (especially those who are retiring from the DPM programme this year), the Faculty Dean (who was attending the dinner for the eighth and the last time during his tenure), all distinguished guests and teachers for their continuous support and guidance.Ms Lilian Chiang, Guest of Honour, gave an inspiring address at the dinner.CUHK Law Dean Professor Christopher Gane with recipients of scholarships and Dean’s List awards.From left: DPM Mr Henry Fok, DPM Mr Foster Yim, Dean Gane, DPM Mr Stanley Chan, Mr Richard MorrisDPM Mr George Tse (middle) with the students.From left: DPM Mr Vishal Melwani, Mr Michael Beckett, DPM Mr Chan Bing Woon, SBS, JPDPM Mr Ian Grenville Cross, SBS, QC, SC (right)DPM Mr Kumar Ramanathan, SC (middle)Retiring DPM Mr Chan Bing Woon, SBS, JP (right), received a souvenir from Dean Gane.Retiring DPM Dr George Mok (right) received a souvenir from Dean Gane.