The University of Law - Jul 20

2020年5月28日,一邦國際網上仲調中心 (eBRAM)(有關商業的仲裁及調解)副營運總監蔡偉平先生於英國法律大學香港校友網絡(ULaw HKAN)成立的其中一個活動中,以「新冠病毒對網上糾紛調解產生了什麼變化」為主題向一眾學生和專業人士發表演說。是次演說是ULaw HKAN講者系列的其中一個節目,歡迎公眾人士登記參與,從中希望與香港的法律從業人員分享一些熱門資訊。

外務校長兼香港校園創辦院長Peter Crisp教授為當日活動揭開序幕後,隨即向在座每位參加者分享了英國法律大學(The University of Law,簡稱ULaw)為應對新冠病毒所推行的各項措施。教授表示疫情期間香港學生在接受了網上教學安排後,現已重返校園上課。至於英國方面,ULaw期望能在2020年7月為有意親身返校的學生重新開放校園。隨著香港的校園在去年啟用後,Crisp教授表示「很開心能有機會與校友們接觸,並且對ULawHKAN能順利成立感到相當高興」。

ULaw HKAN主席Jessie Leung女士在歡迎在座每位參加者後,指出新冠病毒對法律行業的運作產生了很大變化,包括令法院關閉、聆訊暫停,甚至接連不斷的休庭措施;另外她為客戶而進行的法律程序工作亦大受影響。

另一方面,蔡先生簡介了香港網上糾紛調解(ODR)的最新發展,當中主要包括eBRAM的概念;以及eBRAM的服務如何能促進公眾運用司法程序,並且有效地以節省成本的方式解決因新冠病毒而引起的糾紛。此外,他亦談到在香港ODR的新環境下,執業仲裁員、調解員和律師將會面對怎樣的影響和機遇。

自2002年起,香港出現過不少與域名爭議有關的網上處理案件,其中的電子備案程序能快速地解決糾紛,過程中當事人更無需親身出席聆訊。

演講期間,蔡先生分享了一些域名個案和當中需要解決的糾紛例子。同時亦提到中國內地自2007年起便有三間互聯網法院投入運作,其中的申請更百分之百以網上方式提交。

此外,蔡先生雀躍地分享了如何在短期內推出eBRAM的資訊。他表示希望藉著提供培訓,能夠令網上糾紛調解程序變得更簡單快捷。

蔡先生亦談到eBRAM的概念,以及期望能在六月底推出相關的網上平台。

這類型計劃是全球首創,目標是解決香港境內及境外與新冠病毒相關或因此產生的糾紛,最高索償金額將達$500,000港元。牽涉糾紛的其中一方或雙方必須是香港居民或香港註冊公司。計劃亦提供了一個快捷程序,令糾紛可於3天至最長2個月內得到解決。由於計劃的登記費用只需$200港元,因此具有相當理想的成本效益。

蔡先生的結論是

  1. ODR能有效地解決與互聯網有關的糾紛。
  2. 病毒大流行將會令有關無法履行合約義務的爭議大幅增加。
  3. 互聯網平台和中小企採用ODR計劃的趨勢正於全球日益增長,隨著ODR繼續發展,這個趨勢將會遍及全世界。

未來ULaw HKAN將會安排更多講者活動。

作為英國法律大學(The University of Law,簡稱ULaw)講座系列的其中一個節目,姚定國律師獲邀於2020年5月4日以「裝備自己成為下一代律師」為題發表演說。

演講開始時,姚律師先向大家分享了自己的背景、對近年社會轉變的一些感受,以及他在法律學院(現為英國法律大學)接受法律培訓時的經歷。在他憶述的各個導師中,其中一位不僅仍然保持著聯絡,更啟發了他的事業路向。在學習期間,姚律師發現自己深深愛上了法律。於是在完成最初的法律課程後,便遠赴新加坡接受更多法律培訓,從而令自己合資格成為一名律師。

姚律師敦促同學們尋找自己喜歡學習的法律領域,以令學習能夠事半功倍。此外,他談到法律時時刻刻都在變遷,而香港的情況更是日新月異,因此律師以至其他專業人士近年都面對著大大小小的轉變,尤其在新冠病毒的爆發下更加顯然易見。他發現在這種非常時期之下,法律行業會因勢發展。當各方面都有所進步和轉變時,便能突顯出法律的奇妙之處。

姚律師建議同學們在學習法律時應該保持靈活敏捷,以及了解法律不斷轉變的特質。今天法律界出現了很多全新的領域,例如網絡法、競爭法和調解程序等等。在日新月異的法律環境下,這些都是應時而生的
產物。

姚律師的演說內容十分正面,令同學們深受啟發。此外他亦在講座中分享了一些成功秘訣,以及準備踏進專業法律工作領域時的心得,包括:

  • 確保能與自己遇到的每一個人維持長遠的關係
  • 虛心學習新事物,例如網絡講座
  • 時刻為更崇高的目標而工作
  • 在你喜愛的領域上培養出興趣

ULaw講座系列,將於2020年6月繼續帶來下一位講者Eric Ng(HKIAC總法律顧問)。

 

 

Jurisdictions:

The University of Law - Jul 20

On the 28th May 2020 as part of the launch of the ULaw Hong Kong Alumni Network (ULaw HKAN) Mr. Dennis Cai, the Deputy Chief Operating Officer of eBRAM (Business related arbitration and mediation), International Online Dispute Resolution Centre, spoke to students and professionals on “How Covid-19 Changes the Landscape of Online Dispute Resolution”. This is part of a Speaker Series organised by ULaw HKAN. Registration was open to the public with an aim to share topical information with practitioners in Hong Kong.

The event was opened by Professor Peter Crisp, Pro Vice Chancellor External and the Founding Dean of Hong Kong Campus. Professor Crisp started by updating everyone on the measures The University of Law (ULaw) had put in place for dealing with Covid-19. He went onto say that the students in Hong Kong received their teaching online but were now returning back to the classroom. In England, ULaw hopes to reopen their campus’ in July 2020 for students who want physical access to our buildings. The Hong Kong campus was launched last year and Professor Crisp said it was ‘amazing to engage with alumni, and thrilled that ULaw HKAN has been set up so successfully.’

Jessie Leung, Chairperson of ULaw HKAN welcomed everyone to the event, she observed that Covid-19 had changed the landscape of legal practise, with courts closing and gaps in hearings and many adjournments. She noted it was also affecting procedural work for her clients. 

Mr. Cai introduced the recent developments of Online Dispute Resolution (ODR) in Hong Kong, focusing on the concept of eBRAM and how eBRAM ‘s services facilitate access to justice and resolve Covid-19 related disputes efficiently and cost-effectively. He also spoke about the implications and opportunities for practicing arbitrators, mediators, and lawyers in the new landscape of ODR in Hong Kong.

In Hong Kong there has been an online presence of cases since 2002 in relation to domain name disputes. This includes electronic filing which is the fast track dispute resolution procedure which deals with issues without the need for in person hearings. 

Mr. Cai shared some examples of domain names and the disputes that are dealt with under the process. He also mentioned three internet courts in Mainland China which have been in use since 2017. These all had 100% of their applications filed online. 

Mr. Cai talked enthusiastically about eBRAM and how this will be launched shortly. Training will be provided and their aim is to make dispute resolution online easier and quicker.

Mr. Cai also talked about the concept of eBRAM and its online platform which aims to be to be rolled out at the end of June. 

The objectives of the scheme, which is the first of its kind in the world, is to resolve disputes from or relating to Covid-19 in and out of Hong Kong. The claimed amount will be capped at HK$500,000. Either one or both of the parties must be a Hong Kong resident or a Hong Kong registered company. There is also a fast track procedure which can be resolved in anything between 3 days to a maximum of 2 months, this is naturally very cost effective as the registration fee is only HK$200.

His concluding remarks were that 

  1. ODR is effective for resolving internet related disputes.
  2. The pandemic will cause a significant increase in disputes related to unfulfilled contractual obligations.
  3. Adoption of ODR schemes by internet platforms and MSMEs is a growing global trend and will become more popular around the world as it develops.

More speaker events will be scheduled in the future.

As part of the Speaker Series at The University of Law, our alumnus, Mr. Iu Ting Kwok (TK) was invited to talk on ‘Preparing to be a lawyer of the next generation’ on 4th May 2020. 

TK started off by explaining his background and how he felt things had changed over the years. He started off by talking about his legal training with the College of Law (now The University of Law) and talked about the tutors, one of whom he is still in touch with and how this shaped his career. He found over the course of his studies that the law was fascinating to him and after his initial studies he moved to Singapore to train more and qualify as a lawyer. 

He urged students to seek out an area of law which they enjoyed studying as this would ensure the most success. He went on to talk about how the law is always evolving, and how in Hong Kong especially, lawyers amongst other professions have seen many changes recently, especially in light of Covid-19. He observed that with the natural evolution of the profession under these extraordinary circumstances there are many advances and the evolution as such can highlight the beauty of the law.

TK told students that they should be flexible and agile when studying law, they should understand the changing nature of law. Many new areas of law are developing, such as Cyber law, competition law and mediation to name a few, many of these have come about naturally through the changing legal landscape. 

TK’s talk was upbeat and very inspiring for the students. He set out some of his secrets to success and gave tips for preparing to enter the profession, such as;

  • Ensure to develop an ongoing relationship with each person that you encounter
  • Be ready to learn new things such as Webinar talks
  • Always work for a higher goal
  • Develop an interest in an area that you have passion for

The Speaker Series at The University of Law continues with the next speaker Eric Ng (The Managing Counsel of Hong Kong International Arbitration Centre (HKIAC)) in June 2020.

 

Jurisdictions: