West Coast International Trading Ltd v Chelesa Art Co Ltd
原訟法庭
高院民事訴訟案2010年第1636號
原訟法庭法官高浩文內庭聆訊
2020年1月20日、22日

民事訴訟程序—訟費—附帶條款和解提議或付款—原告人接受被告人的附帶條款付款—特殊情況支持徧離第22號命令第20(1)條規則的一般規定,即支持徧離原告人有權獲付他截至接受付款的日期的訟費規定—根據第22號命令第20(1)條規則的「另有命令」作出的合適訟費令—《高等法院規則》(第4A章,附屬法例)第22號命令第20(1)條規則

原告人和被告人是藝術品經銷商。T是原告人的前員工,她偷走了原告人數幅油畫。其中四幅賣了給被告人,被告人不知道偷畫一事,真誠地賣掉了油畫。除了其中一幅油畫之外,被告人能夠在2010年原告人針對被告人展開這些換算油畫價值的法律程序之前,歸還其餘所有油畫給原告人。起初以為爭議點是未歸還的那幅油畫(第二幅油畫)的估值。但是在2013年,被告人呈示油畫《水鄉》(1994年油畫)的影像,以便進行法律程序的時候,真正的爭議點才出現,那就是1994年油畫是不是被偷的第二幅油畫,至此為止,第二幅油畫只一直被形容為「一幅陳逸飛油畫,名為《水鄉》」,這是買賣常用的通用名稱,意指那位畫家某一系列的風景畫。原告人到2017年才披露第二幅油畫的影像,那影像明顯與1994年油畫不一樣。許多步驟在還未有第二幅油畫的任何影像之前進行了。就油畫真假的爭議、狀書的修改、估值的更新,以及專家證據而展開的非正審法律程序的訟費己被保留。2017年第二幅油畫的影像被披露之後,原告人的專家對第二幅油畫的估值,由港幣420萬元減至人民幣280萬元(大約港幣320萬元)。被告人其後提出Calderbank提議的建議,在法庭不就訟費作出命令的情況下付款港幣320萬元(2017年和解建議)。原告人反建議人民幣450萬元另加它的訟費(反建議)。2019年6月18日,原告人意識到它那時會面對根據《高等法院規則》(第4A章,附屬法例)第22號命令第20(1)條規則的「除非法庭另有命令」(但書)提出的訟費令申請之後,接受被告人在2019年5月23日提出的港幣320萬元的附帶條件付款。被告人現以但書為依據,要求法庭命令它支付原告人截至2019年6月18日止在相關法律程序的訟費(包括任何保留訟費)的25%。

裁決—命令被告人支付原告人的訟費(包括保留訟費)的70%:

         適用的原則

  1. 《高等法院規則》第22號命令第20(1)條規則的表面規定是,原告人有權獲付他截至送達接受通知書的日期的法律程序的訟費;法庭應當引用這條規則,唯兩種情況例外:(a)被告人履行舉證責任,證明有支持偏離規定的特殊情況;及(b)他已經預先警告原告人他(指被告人)會引用第22號命令第20(1)條規則關於接受附帶條款和解提議或附帶條款付款的但書(引用Etratech Asia-Pacific Ltd v Leader Printed Circuit Boards Ltd [2013] 2 HKLRD 1184)。(見第7–9段)
  2. 「特殊情況」的構成是由法庭依法行使酌情權決定的。例子包括最終和解的條款與先前提出的建議一樣。在一般情況下,根據但書提出的申請不應被理解為重新檢視特定訴訟的程序歷史或理據的機會,也不應被理解為有機會在第22條規則的範圍之外,運用在合適情況下可以較寬鬆地行使的訟費酌情權(見第10、14段)
  3. 保留訟費屬於根據第22號命令第22(5)(b)條規則處理的事宜,而不是根據第20(1)條規則處理的事宜(引用Golden Tonn Industrial Ltd v Hong Kong Cyberport (Ancillary Development) Ltd [2015] 3 HKC 226)。(見第15段)

    現今這個申請

  4. 這是觸發但書的罕有案件之一。第二幅油畫的影像由始至終都在原告人手上,沒有在更早時間找到並披露該影像是因為原告人沒有好好尋找。這對估值有重大影響,是雙方爭議的1994年油畫是不是第二幅油畫的核心。這製造了准許偏離表面規定的特殊情況。然而,法庭亦(根據證據)考慮到被告人也許一直以來至少能夠取得一張1994年油畫的影像,而那影像也就可以稍早於2013年4月呈示。(見第44、49段)

  5. 至於原告人拒絕2017年和解建議,反建議不是一個合理的回應。申索金額差不多是原告人自己專家的估值的兩倍,但原告人的作訴沒有理據。原告人最終接受的金額數字是被告人18個月前提議過的,並且是意識到它那時會面對是項根據但書提出的申請才接受。這些事情亦觸發但書的應用。(見第47段)

  6. 至於原告人為了質疑1994年油畫的真實性而採取的步驟,這個爭議在很大程度上無關緊要,弄清楚這個爭議就更不必要(見第32、45段)

  7.  1994年油畫是不是原告人被偷走的那幅似乎不是申索的爭議點,根據被告人有關申索細節的投訴,原本的狀書大概已夠具體。雖然第二幅油畫的資料越詳細越好,但這不構成觸發應用但書所必要的特殊情況。被告人以兩點為依據,即原告人的處理方法挑起事端及很遲才撤回無理的申索;可是單憑這兩點不足以觸發但書的應用,不過可被放在整體背景中去考慮(見第43、46段)

    結果

  8. 處理「另有」命令的準則比較粗略籠統。該準則亦會兼顧目前為止已保留的訟費,不過會有需要考慮保留訟費所依據的特定應用。法官行使酌情權作出公平合適的命令,被告人按命令須支付原告人的訟費(包括保留訟費)的70%。訟費令妥善地考慮上述多項事宜之外,亦考慮到第22號命令第20(1)條規則的表面規定所依據的原則。它亦考慮了原告人最終收回它所說的第二幅油畫的價值,不過是在法律程序完結束之時才收回;法律程序根本沒有正確的目的或目的正確但完全微不足道,審訊時間因而加長了,複雜性也增加了(見第51–52段)

申請

被告人根據《高等法院規則》(第4A章,附屬法例)第22號命令第20(1)條規則的但書,申請訟費令。案情已在判決書詳細列出。

 

Jurisdictions:

West Coast International Trading Ltd v Chelesa Art Co Ltd
Court of First Instance
High Court Action No 1636 of 2010
Coleman J in Chambers
20, 22 January 2020

Civil procedure — costs — sanctioned offer or payment — plaintiff accepted defendant’s sanctioned payment — exceptional circumstances justifying departure from general rule under O. 22 r. 20(1) that plaintiff entitled to costs up to date of acceptance of payment — appropriate costs order under “otherwise proviso” to O. 22 r. 20(1) — Rules of the High Court (Cap.4A, Sub.Leg.)

P and D were art dealers. T, an ex-employee of P, stole various paintings from P. Four were sold to D, who sold them on without notice of the theft in good faith. D was able to return all but one of them to P, before P commenced these conversion proceedings against D in 2010. It was initially thought that the issue was valuation of the unreturned painting (2nd Painting). However, in 2013, when D presented an image of a “Water Village” painting (1994 Painting) to P for the purpose of the proceedings, it transpired that the real issue was the identity of the 2nd Painting, which had hitherto only been described as “An oil painting by Chen Yifei by the name of ‘Water Village’”, a generic name commonly used in the trade to refer to a particular series of the artist’s landscape paintings. P only disclosed an image of the 2nd Painting in 2017, which was clearly different from the 1994 Painting. Many steps were taken in the context of absence of any such image. Costs were reserved in interlocutory proceedings concerning issues of authenticity, amendments to pleadings, updating of valuations, and expert evidence. After sight of the image of the 2nd Painting in 2017, P’s expert valuation of the 2nd Painting was reduced from HKD4.2 million to RMB2.8 million (approximately HKD3.2 million). D then made a Calderbank offer of HKD3.2 million with no order as to costs (the 2017 Settlement Proposal). P counter-proposed RMB4.5 million plus its costs (Counter-proposal). On 18 June 2019, P accepted D’s sanctioned payment of HKD3.2 million made on 23 May 2019, acknowledging that it would then face an application for a costs order under the “Otherwise Proviso” to O. 22 r. 20(1) of the Rules of the High Court (Cap. 4A, Sub.Leg.) (RHC). D now sought an order under the Otherwise Proviso that it pay 25% of P’s costs of these proceedings, including any costs reserved, up to 18 June 2019.

Held, ordering D to pay 70% of P’s costs, including the costs reserved, that:

        Applicable principles

  1. The prima facie rule in O. 22 r. 20(1) of the RHC, that the plaintiff was entitled to costs of his proceedings up to the date of serving notice of acceptance, should apply unless: (a) the defendant discharged the burden of showing exceptional circumstances that justified a departure; and (b) he had given a prior warning to the plaintiff that he would apply to invoke the Otherwise Proviso on acceptance of the sanctioned payment or sanctioned offer (Etratech Asia-Pacific Ltd v Leader Printed Circuit Boards Ltd [2013] 2 HKLRD 1184 applied). (See paras. 7–9.)
  2. What constituted “exceptional circumstances” was a matter in the court’s discretion to be exercised judicially. Examples included where the terms of the ultimate settlement were the same as an offer made previously. Applications under the Otherwise Proviso were not to be taken as an opportunity generally to revisit the procedural history or merits of the particular piece of litigation, and to apply the broader exercise of discretion on costs as might in appropriate circumstances be applicable outside the context of O. 22. (See paras. 10, 14.)
  3. Reserved costs fell to be dealt with under O.22 r.22(5)(b), instead of r.20(1) (Golden Tonn Industrial Ltd v Hong Kong Cyberport (Ancillary Development) Ltd [2015] 3 HKC 226 applied). (See para. 15.)

    The present application

  4. This was one of those rare cases where the Otherwise Proviso was triggered. The image of the 2nd Painting was at all times held by P and the failure to find and disclose the image much earlier was the result of the failure properly to look for it. That failure had a significant impact on valuation and was central to the issue of identity. This created exceptional circumstances permitting departure from the prima facie rule. Nevertheless, the Court also took into account that (on the evidence) D might have been able to obtain and present at least an image of the 1994 Painting somewhat earlier than April 2013. (See paras. 44, 49.)

  5. As for P’s rejection of the 2017 Settlement Proposal, the Counter-proposal was not a reasonable response. There was no basis on the pleadings for claiming almost twice P’s own expert’s valuation. P ultimately accepted a monetary figure which it had been offered 18 months earlier and in the knowledge that it would then face this application under the Otherwise Proviso. These matters also triggered the Otherwise Proviso. (See para. 47.)

  6. Regarding the steps taken by P to contest the authenticity of the 1994 Painting, this issue was a largely irrelevant and unnecessary side excursion. (See paras. 32, 45.)

  7. On D’s complaint concerning particulars in the claim, where the identity of the painting did not appear to be at issue, the original pleading was probably sufficiently particularised. While it might be better if more detailed particulars of the 2nd Painting had been given, this matter did not constitute the necessary exceptional circumstances for triggering the Otherwise Proviso. As for D’s reliance on P’s combative approach and late withdrawal of unreasonable claims, these points alone would not suffice to trigger the Otherwise Proviso but might however be considered in the overall context. (See para. 43, 46.)

    Result

  8. The “otherwise” order was to be approached on a relatively broad-brush basis. That basis would also include taking into account those costs which had been so far reserved, though it would be necessary to look at the specific applications on which they had been reserved. The fair and appropriate costs order to make in the exercise of the Judge’s discretion was to order D to pay 70% of P’s costs, including those costs reserved. This properly took into account the principle which underlay the prima facie rule in O. 22 r. 20(1), as well as the various matters above. It also took into account the fact that P had ultimately recovered what it said was the value of the lost 2nd Painting, but at the end of the proceedings which had been increased in length and complexity for ultimately no good, or little good, purpose. (See paras. 51–52.)

Application

This was an application by the defendant for a costs order under the “otherwise proviso” to O. 22 r. 20(1) of the Rules of the High Court (Cap. 4A, Sub.Leg.). The facts are set out in the judgment.

Jurisdictions: