WW v LLN (No 2)
上訴法庭
民事上訴案件 2019 年第 524 號
上訴法庭副庭長林文瀚, 原訟法庭法官歐陽桂如
2020 年 1 月 14 日、3 月 25 日

家事法—離婚—附屬濟助—訴訟資金—針對要求支付每月資金但沒有設定時限並且追溯每月付款的命令提出上訴—訟費額在證據方面的要求—訴訟資金的形式和期限—上訴部份得直

在一場附屬濟助訴訟中,家事法庭法官裁定丈夫須支付妻子訴訟的資金及追溯的金額;丈夫獲批上訴許可(見[2019] 5 HKLRD 694)。他的上訴理由是原審法官犯了兩次錯:(a)命令支付訴訟資金每月$50,000,不設定範圍或限制(時間的或與訴訟階段有關的);及(b)准予追溯每月款項以抵償由2019年2月1日至2019年7月1日的訴訟資金,即妻子的訟案待決期間提供贍養費的申請發出後緊接的月份至訴訟資金開始支付的月份的訴訟資金,合共$300,000。丈夫反對,認為追溯金額$300,000超出妻子實際花掉的法律費用。

裁決—判上訴部份得直,維持原審法官的裁決,訴訟資金由丈夫支付,不過指定期限直到但包括排解財務糾紛的聆訊或再作命令當日為止,而追溯的訴訟資金減至$155,000:

證據方面的要求

1) 訴訟資金申請的訟費款額應當有靈活的證據要求,取決於申索金額的多寡。凡申索金額不多並且階段尚早,要求鉅細無遺的列明將來訟費的資料會得到反效果。這有悖於程序的簡易性質和法院應當採用的「大概的處理方法」(broad-brush approach)。只要憑藉表格H可使法官信納持續訟費是合理的,要求的金額和合乎比例的訴訟規模相稱,裁決仍可作出。另一方面,「巨款案件」應得到更詳細的資料。即便在那些案件,在要求以簡易方式評定訟費的訟費陳述書所常見的明細和詳情應已足夠。只有在要求的金額高得離譜又或者有其他理由加緊審查申請人提出的數字的情況下,法庭才會要求更多詳細資料(考慮KGL v CKY [2003] 2 HKLRD 301、KWTM v NSH (FCMC 14639/2007,[2008] HKEC 1728)、K v K (CACV 80/2010,[2010] HKEC 1372)、HJFG v KCY [2012] 1 HKLRD 95)。(見第45–46段)

2) 在這宗案件,表格H是原審法官就訴訟資助(包括追溯金額)作出裁決之前唯一關於妻子訟費的資料。妻子沒有提出誓章證據解釋她的法律費用的明細,也沒有提供任何她據之以要求每月$50,000的理據。原審法官自2018年7月開始主持婚姻訴訟的所有聆訊,對案情很熟悉。要求的金額不是高得離譜,就這個規模的訴訟來說,相當適中。顯然這不是一宗巨款案。根據已披露的家庭資產,表格H的估算合乎比例。在類似情況之中,家事法庭法官有權運用他或她在家事案件的司法經驗,得出一個粗略但管用的數字(引用KGL v CKY [2003] 2 HKLRD 301)。(見第47、54–55、57段)

訴訟資金的形式和期限

3) 訴訟資金應該採用每月付款的形式,這一點沒有爭議。妻子的訴訟資金申請是在訴訟早期階段提出的。「解決財務糾紛」遙遙無期。儘管妻子對於在排解財務糾紛時成功把糾紛解決掉的機會不感樂觀,但這個不是不依循案例指引的理據,資金的確可能只批到解決財務糾紛為止,雙方沒有達成和解的話,就得再次提出申請,再次申請可能獲批也可能不獲批資金。排解財務糾紛是「分水嶺,應當備妥一切合理的誘因,讓雙方在當中按照非正式的法院指示積極磋商」(引用Currey v Currey [2006] EWCA Civ 1338、HJFG v KCY [2012] 1 HKLRD 95)。(見第62–64段)

4) 雖然訴訟資金命令的期限最終是酌情決定的問題,但是要求的金額不多並不是偏離不依循指引的理由。設定這樣的期限是有政策考慮的,基於政策考慮及法庭對於排解財務糾紛及調解在家事糾紛中的重視程度,偏離指引需要非常有力的理由。預計各方真誠實意參與家事調解和排解財務糾紛的時候,尤其如此。至於訴訟資金命令的期限,法庭酌情權的行使不可受到某一方對排解財務糾紛的態度或觀點所影響。(見第65–67段)

追溯的金額

5) 原審法官錯在認為以追溯方式判給訴訟資金不只是為了償還妻子已經支付的法律費用。因着這個錯誤,他判給妻子$300,000(訴訟資金$50,000 x 6)而不是妻子在表格H證明的金額。這樣的處理方法不可接受。按其本質,追溯的金額只應用作抵償已經招致的訟費(包括已招致但尚未支付的)。其餘的會是估計數字,涵蓋於將來的每月訴訟資金之中。(見第69–70段)

上訴

這是一宗呈請人(丈夫)提出上訴的案件。家事法庭法官陳振國在2019年7月23日頒令由呈請人支付答辯人(妻子)的訴訟資金。呈請人針對一部份命令提出上訴。案情已在判決書詳細列出。

Jurisdictions:

WW v LLN (No 2)
Court of Appeal
Civil Appeal No 524 of 2019
Lam V-P and Queeny Au-Yeung J
14 January, 25 March 2020

Family law — divorce — ancillary relief — litigation funding — appeal against order requiring payment of funding per month without temporal limit and backdating of monthly payments — evidential requirement on quantum of costs — form and duration of litigation funding — appeal allowed in part

The husband (H) was granted leave to appeal the Family Court Judge’s decision in ancillary relief proceedings requiring H to pay the wife (W) litigation funding together with a backdated sum (see [2019] 5 HKLRD 694). H’s grounds of appeal were that the Judge erred in: (a) ordering litigation funding of $50,000 per month to be paid without scope or limit (temporal or in relation to the stage of the proceedings); and (b) allowing the backdating of monthly payments to cover litigation funding in the sum of $300,000 from 1 February 2019 to 1 July 2019, that is from the month immediately following the issue of W’s maintenance pending suit (MPS) application to the month when litigation funding was to begin. H objected that the backdated sum of $300,000 was in excess of what W had actually spent on legal fees. 

Held, allowing the appeal in part by upholding the Judge’s decision that H pay litigation funding but specifying the duration to be up to and including the Financial Dispute Resolution (FDR) hearing or further order and the backdated amount of litigation funding be reduced to $155,000, that:

Evidential requirement

1) There should be flexibility in the evidential requirement on quantum of costs in a litigation funding application depending on the size of the claim. Where the claim was for a modest amount and in a relatively early stage, it would be counter-productive to require detailed breakdown of future costs. This would go against the summary nature of the exercise and the broad-brush approach that the court should adopt. Provided that a judge could be satisfied on the strength of a Form H that the ongoing costs were reasonable and sums asked for were commensurate with the proportionate scale of the litigation, an award could still be made. On the other hand, a “big money case” would merit greater details being given. Even in those cases, breakdowns and details commonly found in a statement of costs for summary assessment should be sufficient. The court would only demand greater details in cases where the amount sought was exorbitant or where there were other reasons for a closer examination of the figures put forward by the applicant (KGL v CKY [2003] 2 HKLRD 301, KWTM v NSH (FCMC 14639/2007, [2008] HKEC 1728), K v K (CACV 80/2010, [2010] HKEC 1372), HJFG v KCY [2012] 1 HKLRD 95 considered). (See paras.45–46)

2) In the present case, Form H was the only information on W’s costs before the Judge made his decision on litigation funding including the backdated award. There was no affidavit evidence from W to explain her breakdown of legal costs or provide any basis upon which she sought the monthly sum of $50,000. The Judge was familiar with the case, having presided over all the hearings in the matrimonial proceedings since July 2018. The amounts sought were not exorbitant and were relatively modest for a piece of litigation of this scale. This was clearly not a big money case. Based on the family assets disclosed, the estimates in Form H were proportionate. A Family Court Judge was entitled to use his or her judicial experience on family cases to arrive at a rough and ready figure in similar circumstances (KGL v CKY [2003] 2 HKLRD 301 applied). (See paras.47, 54–55, 57.)

Form and duration of litigation funding

3) It was not in dispute that litigation funding should take the form of monthly payments. W’s application for litigation funding was made at an early stage of the proceedings. FDR was nowhere in sight. Notwithstanding that W was not optimistic on the prospect of resolving the dispute at FDR, that was not a justification for not following the guidance in the authorities that such funding might well only be granted up to the FDR and absent a settlement a further application would have to made, which might or might not be granted. The FDR was “a watershed and all reasonable inducements to both parties there to negotiate positively in the light of informal judicial indications should be in place” (Currey v Currey [2006] EWCA Civ 1338, HJFG v KCY [2012] 1 HKLRD 95 applied). (See paras.62–64.) 

4) Although the duration of the litigation funding order was ultimately a matter of discretion, the modest amount sought was not justification for departing from and not adhering to the guidance. Given the policy considerations behind the setting of such duration limit and the importance attached by the courts to FDR and mediation in family disputes, it would take very cogent grounds to depart from the guidance. This was particularly so when parties were expected to participate in family mediation and FDR in good faith and sincerity. The court’s exercise of discretion as to the duration of a litigation funding order could not be influenced by a party’s attitude or outlook towards FDR. (See paras. 65–67.) 

Backdated amount

5) The Judge erred in considering that the litigation funding award by way of backdating was not simply for the reimbursement of legal costs already paid by W. Thus the sum of $300,000 (based on litigation funding of $50,000 x 6) was awarded instead of the sum evidenced by W’s Form H. Such an approach was not acceptable. By its very nature, a backdated sum should only cover costs already incurred (including those incurred but not yet paid). The rest would be estimates that would be covered by the future monthly litigation funding. (See paras.69–70.)

Appeal 

This was the petitioner-husband’s appeal against the portion of the order by Judge CK Chan in the Family Court on 23 July 2019 for him to pay litigation funding to the respondent-wife. The facts are set out in the judgment. 

Jurisdictions: