Yeung Chu Wing v Secretary for Justice
原訟法庭
高院憲法及行政訴訟2017年753號
高等法院原訟法庭法官區慶祥
2018年9月27日、2019年5月30日

仲人權—法律面前人人平等—涉及男同性戀者行為的性罪行—《刑事罪行條例》(第200章)第118G、118H、118J(1)及118K條歧視男同性戀者,因為違憲而被廢除—《刑事罪行條例》第118C、118I及141(c)條的補救性詮釋被採納,使得條文符合憲法—《基本法》第二十五條—《香港人權法案條例》(第383章)第8條第二十二條

X提起司法覆核法律程序,要求法庭宣告七條條文,即《刑事罪行條例》(第200章)第118C、118G、118H、118I、118J(1) 、118K及141(c)條,違反憲法。X認為七條條文歧視男性戀者,牴觸《基本法》第二十五條訂明的法律面前人人平等的規定(「第二十五條」),以及《香港人權法案條例》第二十二條賦予的受到法律平等保護的權利(「第二十二條」)。律政司司長(「司長」)承認第118G條(促致他人作出同性肛交)、第118H條(由16歲以下男子作出或與16歲以下男子作出嚴重猥褻作為)、第118J(1)條(男子與男子非私下作出的嚴重猥褻作為)及第118K條(促致男子與男子作出嚴重猥褻作為)(「無爭議的條文」),牴觸第二十五條和第二十二條。司長指出,縱然表面看來,第118C條(由16歲以下男子作出或與16歲以下男子作出同性肛交)、第118I條(男子與男性精神上無行為能力的人作出嚴重猥褻作為)及第141(c)條(准許一名年齡在21歲以下的男童經常前往該處所或船隻或置身於該處所或船隻,目的在於與男子作出嚴重猥褻作為)有牴觸第二十五條和第二十二條,但法庭可以運用具追溯效力的補救性詮釋,使該三條條文符合憲法。

裁決–批准與無爭議的條文相關的申請;採用受爭議條文的補救性詮釋,以使條文與第二十五條和第二十二條保持一致,駁回X對受爭議條文的質疑:

無爭議的條文

1) 無爭議的條文全都只以男同性戀者與男同性戀者作出的非法性行為為目標,等同於男同性戀者和異性戀者或女同性戀者得到不一樣的待遇。關於第118G條和第118K條,沒有可比較的適用於異性戀者或女同性戀者的罪行,至於第118J(1)條,沒有可比較的適用於異性戀者的罪行。第118H條對待16歲以下同性戀男孩亦較差,因為16歲以下參與者是不會被判須就異性戀者之間的相同或類近行為負上刑事責任的,因此,這條文的規定構成直接歧視。第118J(1)條對照第118F(1)條,第118F(1)條已被終審法院廢除,該條文所訂情況可由普通法下令公眾覺得不雅罪涵蓋或由第148條處理。基於欠缺理據支持,無爭議的條文不符合第二十五條和第二十二條所賦予人人受到平等對待的權利,因此是一種歧視,應被廢除(引用Secretary for Justice v Yau Yuk Lung (2007) 10 HKCFAR 335)。(見第8、14、16–17段)

受爭議條文

2) 法庭接納司長有關受爭議條文的爭論點。法庭只可按照既定原則,行使採用補救性詮釋的權力,不應越過由這些原則設定的限制(不在實際上創設新的罪行)。在這宗案,受爭議條文的詮釋建議全不是這樣做的,它們局限於補救性詮釋的限制之內。此外,補救性詮釋這些條文是法庭在可行範圍內當履行的司法責任,目的是使條文符合憲法而不是被廢除(引用HKSAR v Lam Kwong Wai (2006) 9 HKCFAR 574、Keen Lloyd Holdings Ltd v Commissioner of Customs and Excise [2016] 2 HKLRD 1372)。(見第21、28、30、33、37–38、40、43、48–50、52、56、60–61、66–67、69條)

3) 第118C針對同性肛交,旨在保護的是16歲以下的男子。用補救性詮釋,第118C條會被解讀為只有與年齡在16歲以下的男子作出肛交的男子,才會有罪,與16歲以上男子作出肛交的16歲以下男子,沒有犯罪;如果是與16歲以下13歲以上的男孩作出肛交,刑期由最高的終身監禁減至五年監禁,與第124條的非法與16歲以下的女童性交的刑期看齊。這種做法雖然會降低最高刑期,但依然符合第118C條的原則,因此應被採用。立法機關的原意本來是要法例有效實施(即使效力有所減弱)而非完全無法實施,條件是該有效實施與所制訂的法例並無基本分別。(見第32–38段)

4) 引入修訂之時,第118I條把《條例》當時用來保護婦女和女孩,使她們免遭性虐待及剝削的現行條文,盡量擴展到男子和男孩身上,目的是保護男性精神上無行為能力的人。廢除第118I條有可能令容易受傷害的男性精神上無行為能力的人失去保護,但是嚴重猥褻作為卻又不構成第122條所指的猥褻侵犯。不過,把「男子」解讀為泛指「人」並在「他」之後插入「或她」二字,女性和男性精神上無行為能力的人就會同樣受到保護,條文就不再是只以男同性戀者為目標,因為第118I條會涵蓋女同性戀者和異性戀者。這種補救性詮釋符合立法計劃最根本的特點和基本原則,沒有改變立法機構所選擇的方式,同樣保護精神上無行為能力的人免成為嚴重猥褻作為的受害者,即是說,條文既指明任何人這樣做即屬犯法,也有訂明法定的辯解(考慮In Fairclough v Whipp (1951) 35 Cr App R 138、R v Burrows (1951) 35 Cr App R 180)。(見第39–43、46–50段)

5) 立法資料亦顯示,第141(c)條的立法計劃最根本的特點和基本原則,是將《條例》當時用來保護婦女和女孩的現行條文,盡量擴展到男子和男孩身上。廢除第141(c)條會出現法律真空,因為第146條禁止任何人(包括擁有人或佔用者)與或向16歲以下兒童作出嚴重猥褻作為,但不將那些容許或容忍在他們的處所或船隻作出某些非法作為的擁有人或佔用者列為刑事罪犯。為使第141條的字眼在整體上一致,第141(c)條會用補救性方法詮釋,將「男孩」解讀為泛指「女孩或男孩」,用「另一人」替代「男子」,這樣,男孩和女孩會同樣受到保護,保護的目標不會再定準在男同性戀者身上,因為男同性戀者和異性戀者都會被涵蓋到。此外,將年齡由21歲收窄為16歲,條文就會與第146條保持一致。(見第51、53、55–59、61–63段)

6) 儘管法律改革委員會的性罪行檢討小組委員會已向立法機關提交建議,但鑒於上述考慮,詮釋建議應被採用。在既定法律原則容許的範圍內,有必要確保容易受傷害的人(未成年人和精神上無行為能力的人)和公眾利益得到保護,一如立法機構制定條文的目的一樣。制定新條文,進一步改革現有條文,過程複雜漫長,但廢除受爭議條文,任由法律出現真空,卻是既不可取又不理想的做法(見第63–64、66–69段)

申請

這是一宗申請司法覆核的案件。申請人要求法庭宣告《刑事罪行條例》(第200章)有七條條文違憲,所持理據是它們歧視男同性戀者。案情已在判決書詳細列出。

Jurisdictions:

Yeung Chu Wing v Secretary for Justice
Court of First Instance
Constitutional and Administrative Law List No 753 of 2017
Thomas Au J
27 September 2018, 30 May 2019

Human rights — equality before the law — sexual offences involving male homosexual conduct — Crimes Ordinance (Cap. 200) ss. 118G, 118H, 118J(1) and 118K unconstitutional as discriminatory against male homosexuals and struck down — remedial interpretation of ss. 118C, 118I and 141(c) Crimes Ordinance adopted to render them constitutionally compliant — Basic Law art. 25 — Hong Kong Bill of Rights Ordinance (Cap. 383) s. 8 art. 22

X brought judicial review proceedings seeking a declaration that seven provisions, namely ss. 118C, 118G, 118H, 118I, 118J(1), 118K and 141(c) of the Crimes Ordinance (Cap. 200), were unconstitutional. X argued that the provisions were discriminatory against male homosexuals and thus were inconsistent with the right to equality before the law under art. 25 of the Basic Law (“BL25”) and the right to equal protection of law under art. 22 of the Hong Kong Bill of Rights (“BOR22”). The Secretary for Justice (SJ) accepted that s. 118G (procuring others to commit homosexual buggery), s. 118H (gross indecency with or by a man under 16), s. 118J(1) (gross indecency by a man with a man otherwise than in private) and s. 118K (procuring gross indecency by a man with a man) (the “Uncontested Provisions”) were inconsistent with BL25 and BOR22. The SJ submitted that even though s. 118C (homosexual buggery with or by a man under 16), s. 118I (gross indecency by a man with a male mentally incapacitated person (MMIP)) and s. 141(c) (permitting a boy under 21 to resort to or be on premises or vessel for committing act of gross indecency with a man) (the “Contested Provisions”) were prima facie inconsistent with BL25 and BOR22, the Court could apply a retrospective remedial interpretation to render the three provisions constitutional.

Held, granting X’s application relating to the Uncontested Provisions; but adopting a remedial interpretation of the Contested Provisions so that they were consistent with BL25 and BOR22 and dismissing X’s challenge to them, that:

Uncontested Provisions

1) The Uncontested Provisions all targeted illegal sexual activities between homosexual men only and amounted to differential treatment between male homosexuals and heterosexuals or female homosexuals. As regards ss. 118G and 118K, there were no comparable offences for heterosexuals or female homosexuals; and as to s. 118J(1), there were no comparable offences for heterosexuals. Section 118H also treated homosexual boys under 16 less favourably since an under 16 participant would not be held criminally liable for the same or similar act between heterosexuals and this constituted direct discrimination. Section 118J(1) mirrored s. 118F(1) which had been struck down by the Court of Final Appeal and the circumstances under the provision could be covered by the common law offence of outraging public decency or s.148. Given the lack of justification for any of the Uncontested Provisions, they were inconsistent with the right to equality protected by BL25 and BOR22 and so discriminatory and should be struck down (Secretary for Justice v Yau Yuk Lung (2007) 10 HKCFAR 335 applied). (See paras. 8, 14, 16–17.)

Contested Provisions

2) The Court accepted the SJ’s arguments on the Contested Provisions. The Court could only exercise the power of remedial interpretation in accordance with established principles and should not go beyond the limitations set by those principles (not effectively create a new offence). Here, none of the proposed interpretations of the Contested Provisions did so and they came within the limits of remedial interpretation. Further, it was the Court’s judicial duty to remedially interpret these sections, so far as it was possible, to render them constitutionally compliant rather than strike them down (HKSAR v Lam Kwong Wai (2006) 9 HKCFAR 574, Keen Lloyd Holdings Ltd v Commissioner of Customs and Excise [2016] 2 HKLRD 1372 applied). (See paras. 21, 28, 30, 33, 37–38, 40, 43, 48–50, 52, 56, 60–61, 66–67, 69.)

3) Section 118C was aimed at protecting a man under 16 against buggery. By way of remedial interpretation, s. 118C would be read down so that a man who commits buggery with a man under the age of 16 only would be guilty of an offence, but not a man under 16 who commits buggery with a man above 16; and to reduce the maximum life sentence for buggery to five years’ imprisonment if committed with a boy under 16 but above 13, bringing it in line with the sentence under s. 124 for unlawful sexual intercourse with a girl under 16. Although this would lower the maximum sentence, it remained consistent with the principle of s. 118C and should be adopted. The legislature would have intended its legislative provision to have a valid, even if reduced, operation than none at all and it was not fundamentally different from what was enacted. (See paras. 32–38.)

4) When the amendment was introduced, s. 118I was aimed at protecting MMIPs, by extending to men and boys most of the protection from sexual abuse and exploitation afforded to women and girls in the then existing provisions of the Ordinance. Striking down s. 118I might leave vulnerable MMIPs without protection where the act of gross indecency did not constitute indecent assault under s. 122. However, by reading “man” expansively to mean “person” and inserting the words “or she” after “he”, female and male MIPs would be equally protected, while male homosexuals would no longer be targeted, as s.188I would cover female homosexuals and heterosexuals. This remedial interpretation was consistent with the fundamental feature or essential principle of the legislative scheme and did not alter the way in which the legislature had chosen to protect MIPs against gross indecency, ie by making it an offence with the specified statutory defence (In Fairclough v Whipp (1951) 35 Cr App R 138, R v Burrows (1951) 35 Cr App R 180 considered). (See paras. 39–43, 46–50.)

5) The legislative materials also showed that the fundamental feature or essential principle of the legislative scheme of s. 141(c) was to extend to men and boys most of the then existing provisions of the Ordinance designed to offer women and girls protection. Striking down s. 141(c) would leave a legal vacuum as s. 146 which prohibits a person (including an owner or occupier) from committing an act of gross indecency with or towards a child under 16 did not criminalise owners or occupiers who allowed or condoned certain unlawful acts being committed on their premises or vessels. For consistency in the wording of s. 141 as a whole, s. 141(c) would be remedially interpreted by reading “boy” expansively as “girl or boy” and substituting “another person” for “a man”, so that boys and girls would be equally protected, while male homosexuals would no longer be targeted, since female homosexuals and heterosexuals would be covered. Further, reading down the age from 21 to 16 would bring it in line with s. 146. (See paras. 51, 53, 55–59, 61–63.)

6) Even though the Law Reform Committee’s Review of Sexual Offences Sub-Committee had submitted its recommendations to the legislature, in light of the above considerations the proposed interpretations should be adopted. Insofar as permissible under the established legal principles, it was necessary to ensure the protection of vulnerable persons (minors and MIPs) and public interests as intended by the legislature in enacting the provisions. Any further changes to existing legislation by new enactments would involve a complicated and lengthy process, and it was undesirable and unsatisfactory to leave open a legal vacuum if the Contested Provisions were struck down instead. (See paras. 63–64, 66–69.)

Application

This was an application for judicial review seeking a declaration that seven provisions in the Crimes Ordinance (Cap. 200) were unconstitutional on the basis that they were discriminatory against male homosexuals. The facts are set out in the judgment.

Jurisdictions: