Wang Pengying (王鵬英) v Ng Wing Fai

上訴庭副庭長關淑馨、上訴庭法官張澤祐及袁家寧
2020年9月9日、2021年1月28日

P是Convoy Global Holdings Ltd (CG)的股東,他提起了兩宗在普通法下的衍生訴訟。 在HCA 1479/2018一案中提出的申索,涉及於2016年2月至10月期間,CG的一間全資附屬公司Forthwise International Ltd (FI)向一間名為Forthwise Ltd的公司提供總額達9000萬港元的貸款。在HCA 1619/2018一案中提出的申索,涉及在2016年1月期間,CG的另一間全資附屬公司Convoy Finance Ltd (CF)同意向另一間公司購入Maxthree Ltd的全部股權(Maxthree股份交易)。N在2015年獲委任為CG的董事。在證券及期貨事務監察委員會及廉政公署的一項聯合行動中,CG的若干其他董事於2017年被拘捕,而包括Y在內的若干名新董事,獲委任於2017年12月起重組董事會。P指N違反了其對該兩間附屬公司應履行的董事受信責任,導致它們訂立了兩單備受質疑、並不真正符合公司最佳利益的交易,而Y在Maxthree股份交易中,乃一名知情的收受人或不誠實的協助人。原審法官剔除了有關申索,並撤銷了該兩宗訴訟,原因是P未能符合確立表面證據的訴訟規定,理由以下:(i)N及Y控制了CG董事會,或是在股東層面擁有控制權(受行為不當者控制之規定);或(ii)他們曾經欺詐FI和CF(欺詐小股東之規定)。就後者而言,原審法官跟隨英國上訴法院在 Harris v Microfusion 2003-2 LLP [2017] 1 BCLC 305一案(Microfusion案)所確認的一系列英國權威案例,並裁定假如只屬於疏忽、甚或嚴重疏忽,而該行為不當者並無作出任何欺詐或得到任何個人利益,則並無任何充分理據可對其作出指控;而案中並不存在任何可提出欺詐、不誠實或個人利益指控的理據。P提出上訴稱(其中包括):(i)就對董事會的控制而言,原審法官並沒有考慮該董事會重組的董事委任情況,而董事亦並沒有解釋其如何就該等備受質疑的交易作出獨立的判斷。(ii)就對股東層面的控制而言,原審法官不應將控股股東投票使N免於面對訴訟作為一項額外要求,但不管如何,這項要求已獲得符合;及(iii)就欺詐小股東而言,Microfusion案中的裁決是錯誤的,但不管如何,P能夠提出蓄意及不誠實地違責的表面證據。

裁決:駁回P的上訴,理由如下:

(上訴庭副庭長關淑馨、上訴庭法官張澤祐及袁家寧同意受行為不當者控制之規定)

舉證責任及門檻要求

1) P須證明該等衍生訴訟中所提出的申索,是在Foss v Harbottle規則的例外範圍之內,而案中是指“欺詐小股東”的例外情況。要證明存在訴訟理據,P必須確立以下的表面證據:(i)該公司具有合理訴訟因由或衡平法上的申索;(ii)假如訴訟因由獲得適當確立,便可證明小股東受到欺詐;及(iii) 該公司受到該等行為不當者的控制,使他們可以阻擋任何建議對他們採取的行動(Waddington Ltd v Chan Chun Hoo (2008) 11 HKCFAR 370 一案適用;Foss v Harbottle (1843) 2 Hare 461一案被提述)(參見第32–34段)

受行為不當者控制之規定

2) 與受行為不當者控制之規定有關的主要爭議點是,CG是否曾被不當地阻止提起法律程序,原因是被“一個適當獨立機構”所阻止,並不構成不當地阻止。P必須證明該等行為不當者“實際上對CG業務的法律監管作出了反對”。P並沒有作出如此證明,法庭因此駁回其上訴(Ronald Li-kai Chu v Deacon Te-ken Chiu [1986] HKLR 1011、Smith v Croft (No 2) [1988] Ch 114 等案件適用)。(參見第40, 50段)  
3) 就董事會被控制而言,本案並無理據干預原審法官對證據所作的評估。P就新董事的委任情況而提出的法務觀點並沒有在先前提出,且亦不獲證據的支持。此外,原審法官看來已考慮了該等情況,而P並沒有提出證據反駁N的證供—即已經委任獨立董事重組董事會,作為CG加強其管理及與監管部門並肩進行調查之努力的一部分。(參見第43–47段)  
4) 就在股東層面作出控制而言,本案同樣並無理據干預原審法官的裁斷。案中並無指稱N已經控制了控股股東,又或是他們乃串謀或從N被指的該等違責中得益。至於N被指其身份乃控股股東的聯繫人或代名人,案中並無充分理據可作出如此指稱。(參見第48–49段)

欺詐小股東之規定
5)(附帶意見)雖然並非必須對欺詐小股東之規定作出嚴格審視,但香港對該項規定的正確測試,是袁家寧法官在其於本案的判決中所述的。該測試的核心內容是,持異議的小股東不能提起衍生訴訟,從而違抗一項由公司機構作出的有效和具約束力的決定。至於什麼構成有效和具約束力的公司決定,須考慮以下三個問題:(i)該公司是否有能力作出該決定;(ii)相關公司機構(通常是股東大會)是否有權作出該決定;及(iii) 該項權力是否被適當行使,而相關爭議點是要求真誠地及為正當目的行使酌情權的一種衡平法限制方式(Daniels v Daniels [1978] Ch 406 一案被考慮;Abouraya v Sigmund [2014] EWHC 277 (Ch)、Harris v Microfusion 2003-2 LLP [2017] 1 BCLC 305等案不被遵循)(參見第50–66段)
6) P未能提出替代性指稱—即是有表面證據證明存在蓄意及不誠實地違責的情況。本案適用在不誠實方面的主觀測試,原因是根據現行證據,不能稱N並沒有就該等備受質疑的交易是否符合公司利益,作出了任何實際考慮。此外,本案也不可以無法抗拒地推論存在欺詐或不誠實情況,至多它只可能存在疏忽的表面證(Extrasure Travel Insurances Ltd v Scattergood [2003] 1 BCLC 598、Re ‍HLC ‍Environmental Projects Ltd (in liq) [2014] BCC 337、Kwok Hiu Kwan v Convoy Global Holdings Ltd  (HCMP 900/2018, [2018] HKEC 2068) 等案件適用)。(參見第67–74段)

(上訴庭法官袁家寧、上訴庭副庭長關淑馨同意與欺詐小股東規定有關的附帶意見評論)

欺詐小股東規定
7)(附帶意見) 假如原告人並無指稱存在實際欺詐,而是存在其他一些違責情況,那麼正確的測試為:欺詐小股東之規定是否獲得符合,須視乎是否存在(或是否可能存在)濫用大股東投票權力的情況,從而使董事免於承擔其違責後果(為正確目的而投票之測試)。原告人必須提出表面證據證明,該等股東所作的投票,乃並非或並不會真誠地行使其投票權。因此可合理地假設,違責的董事在以股東身份進行投票時,會藉此使其自身免除承擔違責後果,因此其並不會為正當目的真誠地行使其投票權。至於是否可以說其他構成大多數但其自身並無違責的股東也會作出如此行為,這須按照實際情況來考慮,包括是否有證據證明他們曾經或將會僅僅根據該等董事的指示來投票(Allen v Gold Reefs of West Africa Ltd [1900] 1 Ch 656、Anglo-Eastern (1985) Ltd v Karl Knutz [1988] 1 HKLR 322 等案件適用)(參見第84–85, 87.2–88段)
8) (附帶意見)為正確目的而投票之測試(其中包括)保留了一間公司有權作出自身決定之原則,前提是它的決策機構乃按照公司法的規定合法地行事。相反, Microfusion案中的“行為不當者個人利益”規定不應被採納,原因是其並未能達致使一間公司糾正某項錯誤之目的(在其應該有權根據公司法之規定選擇如此實行時),並且在原則及於實際運作上面對太多限制。相反,個人利益是得知為正確目的而投票之測試的一項重要因素(Pavlides v Jensen [1956] Ch 565、Estmanco (Kilner House) Ltd v Greater London Council [1982] 1 WLR 2 等案件被考慮;Harris v Microfusion 2003-2 LLP [2017] 1 BCLC 305一案不被遵循)。(參見第85–87.1, 89.1–90段)

上訴

此乃原告人就原訟法庭法官高浩文頒令,剔除其於各宗訴訟的申索陳述書並撤銷該兩宗訴訟,其遂根據普通法衍生訴訟提起的兩宗上訴(參見 [2019] HKEC 4107)。

Jurisdictions

Wang Pengying (王鵬英) v Ng Wing Fai
Kwan V-P, Cheung and Yuen JJA
9 September 2020, 28 January 2021

P, a shareholder of Convoy Global Holdings Ltd (CG), commenced two common law derivative actions. The claim in HCA 1479/2018 related to the fact that between February and October 2016, Forthwise International Ltd (FI), a wholly owned subsidiary of CG, advanced an aggregate loan of HK$90 million to one Forthwise Ltd. The claim in HCA 1619/2018 related to the fact that in January 2016, Convoy Finance Ltd (CF), another wholly owned subsidiary of CG, agreed to purchase the entire shareholding of Maxthree Ltd from another company (the Maxthree Share Transaction). N had been appointed as a director of CG in 2015. Following a joint operation by the Securities and Futures Commission and the Independent Commission Against Corruption, certain other directors of CG were arrested in 2017 and some new directors including Y were appointed to reconstitute the Board of Directors from December 2017. P alleged that N had breached his director’s fiduciary duties to the two subsidiaries by causing them to enter into the two impugned transactions which were not bona fide in the best interests of the companies, and that Y was a knowing recipient or dishonest assistor in the Maxthree Share Transaction. The Judge struck out the claims and dismissed both actions on the basis that P had failed to meet the locus standi requirements of establishing a prima facie case that: (i) N and Y were in control of the Board of Directors of CG or had control at the shareholder level (the Wrongdoer in Control Requirement); or (ii) there had been a fraud practised by them against FI and CF (the Fraud on the Minority Requirement). In respect of the latter, the Judge followed the line of English authorities affirmed by its Court of Appeal in Harris v Microfusion 2003-2 LLP [2017] 1 BCLC 305 (Microfusion) and held that mere negligence or even gross negligence without fraud or personal benefit to the alleged wrongdoer was not sufficient; and that there was no basis for suggesting any fraud, dishonesty or personal benefit. P appealed, arguing inter alia that: (i) in relation to control on the board level, the Judge had failed to consider the circumstances in which the directors of the reconstituted Board were appointed, and the directors had not explained how they had reached their independent judgment regarding the impugned transactions; (ii) in relation to control on the shareholder level, the Judge should not make it an additional requirement that the controlling shareholders would vote to insulate N from legal action, but in any case this was satisfied; and (iii) in relation to fraud on the minority, Microfusion was wrongly decided, but in any case P was able to show a prima facie case of deliberate and dishonest breach of duty.

Held, dismissing P’s appeals, that:

(Per Kwan V-P, Cheung and Yuen JJA agreeing on the Wrongdoer in Control Requirement)

Burden and threshold requirements

1) It was incumbent on P to show that the proposed claims in the derivative actions fell within an exception to the rule in Foss v Harbottle, here the “fraud on the minority” exception. To show locus standi, P had to establish a prima facie case that: (i) there was a viable cause of action or equitable claim vested in the company; (ii) the cause of action if made good would establish a fraud on the minority; and (iii) the wrongdoers were in control of the company such as to enable them to stifle any proposed action against themselves (Waddington Ltd v Chan Chun Hoo (2008) 11 HKCFAR 370 applied; Foss v Harbottle (1843) 2 Hare 461 referred to). (See paras.32–34.)

Wrongdoer in Control Requirement

2) The key issue concerning the Wrongdoer in Control requirement was whether CG was being improperly prevented from bringing proceedings, as prevention by “an appropriate independent organ” would not amount to improper prevention. P had to show that the wrongdoers were in “effective as opposed to legal control” of CG’s activities. P had failed to do so and accordingly her appeals would be dismissed (Ronald Li-kai Chu v Deacon Te-ken Chiu [1986] HKLR 1011, Smith v Croft (No 2) [1988] Ch 114 applied). (See paras.40, 50.)

3) In relation to control on the board level, there was no basis to interfere with the Judge’s assessment of the evidence. P’s forensic points about the circumstances of appointment of the new directors had not been raised previously and were unsupported by evidence. Further, the Judge appeared to have taken these circumstances into account and P had not adduced evidence to contradict N’s evidence that independent directors had been appointed to reconstitute the Board as part of CG’s efforts to strengthen its management and conduct investigations alongside the regulatory authorities. (See paras.43–47.)

4) As for control on the shareholder level, there was similarly no basis to interfere with the Judge’s findings. It had not been alleged that N controlled the controlling shareholders, or that they were complicit in or had benefitted from N’s alleged breaches of duty. The purported status of N as an associate or nominee of the controlling shareholders was not sufficient. (See paras.48–49.)

Fraud on the Minority Requirement

5) (Obiter) While it was not strictly necessary to consider the Fraud on the Minority Requirement, the true test in Hong Kong for that requirement is that set out by Yuen JA in her judgment in this case. The essence of that test is that a dissenting minority of shareholders cannot pursue a derivative action in defiance of an effective and binding decision by a corporate organ. As to what constitutes an effective and binding corporate decision, three issues have to be considered: (i) whether the company has the capacity to make the decision; (ii) whether the relevant corporate organ (often the general meeting) has the authority to make the decision; and (iii) whether that authority has been properly exercised, which issue is a form of equitable restriction requiring discretionary powers to be exercised bona fide and for proper purposes (Daniels v Daniels [1978] Ch 406 considered; Abouraya v Sigmund [2014] EWHC 277 (Ch), Harris v Microfusion 2003-2 LLP [2017] 1 BCLC 305 not followed). (See paras.50–66.)

6) P’s alternative position that there was a prima facie case of deliberate and dishonest breach of duty was not made out. The subjective test of dishonesty was applicable as on the available evidence, it could not be said that N had failed to give any actual consideration to whether the impugned transactions were in the interests of the companies. Nor could it be irresistibly inferred that there was fraud or dishonesty. At most, there may be a prima facie case for negligence (Extrasure Travel Insurances Ltd v Scattergood [2003] 1 BCLC 598, Re ‍HLC ‍Environmental Projects Ltd (in liq) [2014] BCC 337, Kwok Hiu Kwan v Convoy Global Holdings Ltd (HCMP 900/2018, [2018] HKEC 2068) applied). (See paras.67–74.)

(Per Yuen JA, Kwan V-P agreeing on the obiter comments regarding the Fraud on the Minority Requirement)

Fraud on the Minority Requirement

7) (Obiter) Where a plaintiff does not allege actual fraud, but some other breach of duty, the true test for whether the Fraud on the Minority Requirement is met is whether there has been (or would likely be) a misuse of the majority’s voting power to release the directors from their breach (the Voting for Proper Purpose Test). A plaintiff has to establish a prima facie case that the shareholders’ vote was not or would not be a bona fide exercise of their voting power. It may reasonably be assumed that a director in breach would, when voting as a shareholder, vote to exonerate himself, and hence his power to vote would not be exercised bona fide for the proper purpose. Whether that could be ascribed to other shareholders forming the majority who are not themselves in breach of duty would depend on the facts, including whether there is evidence that they had voted or would vote simply as the directors directed (Allen v Gold Reefs of West Africa Ltd [1900] 1 Ch 656, Anglo-Eastern (1985) Ltd v Karl Knutz [1988] 1 HKLR 322 applied). (See paras.84–85, 87.2–88.)

8) (Obiter) The Voting for Proper Purpose Test, inter alia, preserves the principle that a company is entitled to make its own decisions, so long as its decision-making organ is acting lawfully under company law. By contrast, the “personal benefit to wrongdoers” requirement in Microfusion should not be adopted as it does not achieve the purpose of enabling a company to redress a wrong when it should be entitled under company law to choose to do so and is too restrictive in principle and in practice. Personal benefit was instead an important factor which informed the Voting for Proper Purpose Test (Pavlides v Jensen [1956] Ch 565, Estmanco (Kilner House) Ltd v Greater London Council [1982] 1 WLR 2 considered; Harris v Microfusion 2003-2 LLP [2017] 1 BCLC 305 not followed). (See paras.85–87.1, 89.1–90.)

Appeals

These were two appeals by the plaintiff in common law derivative actions against the orders of Coleman J in the Court of First Instance, striking out the plaintiff’s statement of claim in each action and dismissing the two actions (see [2019] HKEC 4107).

Jurisdictions: